Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-05-2019, 10:34   #1
Registered User

Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 3
OpenCpn 5.0 and Xport

Hi;
I am new to this forum and I have a question.
I have an older laptop with windows 7 and have OpenCpn installed on it. I also have another navigation program called offshore navigator. I downloaded Xport to run both programs at the same time and it worked fine with OpenCpn 4.8. A couple of days ago I downloaded the latest version of OpenCpn (version 5.0) and now OpenCpn does not recognize Xport. Has anyone had this problem? Thanks for any hints or comments.
__________________

MazatlanMexico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2019, 21:11   #2
Registered User

Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 3
Re: OpenCpn 5.0 and Xport

Answering my own question. I reverted back to opencpn 4.8.8 and both Xport and GPSGate were able to run both programs with one GPS unit. I found out that the 'DataPort' combobox on opencpn 4.8.8 lists all of the ports available but opencpn 5.0 doesn't. The latter only lists the serial port where the GPS is connected to. If someone runs into the same problem, let me know and I can explain better how I made my two programs work at the same time with one GPS unit on opencpn 5.0.
__________________

MazatlanMexico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2019, 05:41   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 5,180
Re: OpenCpn 5.0 and Xport

Quote:
Originally Posted by MazatlanMexico View Post
Answering my own question. I reverted back to opencpn 4.8.8 and both Xport and GPSGate were able to run both programs with one GPS unit. I found out that the 'DataPort' combobox on opencpn 4.8.8 lists all of the ports available but opencpn 5.0 doesn't. The latter only lists the serial port where the GPS is connected to. If someone runs into the same problem, let me know and I can explain better how I made my two programs work at the same time with one GPS unit on opencpn 5.0.
You can write anything you want into that combobox, not only select from the ports that were automatically detected.
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2019, 07:57   #4
Registered User

Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 3
Re: OpenCpn 5.0 and Xport

Thats true but I thought the combobox would list the detected virtual ports like opencpn 4.8.8 does but instead only lists the one port that is physically being used. It would be nicer if the available ports are visible on the dropdown.
MazatlanMexico is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enc, opencpn

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Synchronize Routes between OpenCPN Desktop and OpenCPN Android Tablets bgs OpenCPN 2 13-03-2016 19:47
OpenCPN, Linux, Web site opencpn.org, user manual and manual wiki ... Gilletarom OpenCPN 26 30-11-2015 15:17
3.2.0 incompatible with XPort Virtual Serial Port RhythmDoctor OpenCPN 8 02-05-2013 07:57
Virtual OpenCPN - 'OpenCPN on a Stick' r.fairman OpenCPN 23 16-10-2011 19:51



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:23.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.