Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-05-2019, 04:06   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Cyprus
Boat: Amel Super Maramu 2000 53'
Posts: 52
OpenCPN 5.0.0 Changes Language

In addition to my recently reported display problems, (crashes when zooming out), V5 has now started to change language whilst in use! This has happened twice now in the past 18 hours. The first time from en_us to DK, and then again to CZ. Looking at the .ini file, these changes are reflected there. This has happened at sea whilst not connected to the net. Examination of Windows 10 region settings shows only EN UK and EN US as having been selected, so how is this happening? As there is no drop down language selection whilst the prog is in use, each time I have had to uninstall and reinstall to get English back. Not ideal when needing the prog in earnest whilst at sea. Editing the two lines in the .ini file to en_US does not switch the language back.

Has anyone else had this problem? Nothing showing in Malwarebytes or Eset.

Regards
__________________

Biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2019, 05:47   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 5,226
Re: OpenCPN 5.0.0 Changes Language

Quote:
Originally Posted by Biggles View Post
In addition to my recently reported display problems, (crashes when zooming out), V5 has now started to change language whilst in use! This has happened twice now in the past 18 hours. The first time from en_us to DK, and then again to CZ. Looking at the .ini file, these changes are reflected there. This has happened at sea whilst not connected to the net. Examination of Windows 10 region settings shows only EN UK and EN US as having been selected, so how is this happening? As there is no drop down language selection whilst the prog is in use, each time I have had to uninstall and reinstall to get English back. Not ideal when needing the prog in earnest whilst at sea. Editing the two lines in the .ini file to en_US does not switch the language back.

Has anyone else had this problem? Nothing showing in Malwarebytes or Eset.

Regards
No, we have never seen such a problem.
__________________

nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2019, 06:50   #3
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5,627
Re: OpenCPN 5.0.0 Changes Language

Biggles...


Multiple things here, but this is interesting:
"As there is no drop down language selection whilst the prog is in use, each time I have had to uninstall and reinstall to get English back."


I do not understand this comment. Language selection by settings tool can happen anytime...
More info?


Thanks
Dave
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2019, 07:49   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Cyprus
Boat: Amel Super Maramu 2000 53'
Posts: 52
Re: OpenCPN 5.0.0 Changes Language

Quote:
Originally Posted by Biggles View Post
In addition to my recently reported display problems, (crashes when zooming out), V5 has now started to change language whilst in use! This has happened twice now in the past 18 hours. The first time from en_us to DK, and then again to CZ. Looking at the .ini file, these changes are reflected there. This has happened at sea whilst not connected to the net. Examination of Windows 10 region settings shows only EN UK and EN US as having been selected, so how is this happening? As there is no drop down language selection whilst the prog is in use, each time I have had to uninstall and reinstall to get English back. Not ideal when needing the prog in earnest whilst at sea. Editing the two lines in the .ini file to en_US does not switch the language back.

Has anyone else had this problem? Nothing showing in Malwarebytes or Eset.

Regards
Hi Dave,

thanks for the very quick reply. Oooops! How very right you are. Do you know I searched everywhere for a language change bar and never saw it. It took a couple of goes on my second (still in English) computer to find it. (Settings/User Interface\top line). Once found, I changed the language back to English on the rogue machine, and all looks good again, but I am still at a loss to understand why this is happening. There have not been any wild mouse movements as can sometimes happen when there is a conflict. Everything appears stable.

Turning to the graphics problem, I tried installing the latest HD620 driver from Intel, but there appeared a warning saying that the driver had been customized by Dell and that it should not be installed. I have a Dell auto update utility running so my graphics driver is their latest. Maybe in time they will fix it.

A big thanks to you and all the OCPN team for your continuous efforts. I own 4 navigation programs, and without any doubt OCPN is the best, and frankly the only one I use seriously.

Sorry for not picking up the language bar.

Regards

Ian
Biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2019, 08:54   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 5,226
Re: OpenCPN 5.0.0 Changes Language

Quote:
Originally Posted by Biggles View Post
Hi Dave,

thanks for the very quick reply. Oooops! How very right you are. Do you know I searched everywhere for a language change bar and never saw it. It took a couple of goes on my second (still in English) computer to find it. (Settings/User Interface\top line). Once found, I changed the language back to English on the rogue machine, and all looks good again, but I am still at a loss to understand why this is happening. There have not been any wild mouse movements as can sometimes happen when there is a conflict. Everything appears stable.

Turning to the graphics problem, I tried installing the latest HD620 driver from Intel, but there appeared a warning saying that the driver had been customized by Dell and that it should not be installed. I have a Dell auto update utility running so my graphics driver is their latest. Maybe in time they will fix it.

A big thanks to you and all the OCPN team for your continuous efforts. I own 4 navigation programs, and without any doubt OCPN is the best, and frankly the only one I use seriously.

Sorry for not picking up the language bar.

Regards

Ian
The Dell provided driver is usually similarly outdated and similarly broken as the one provided from Microsoft. You have to download the driver from https://downloadcenter.intel.com/dow...?product=80939 and follow the manual installation instructions from https://www.intel.com/content/www/us...s-drivers.html
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2019, 11:45   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: UK/France
Boat: Gib'Sea 402
Posts: 342
Re: OpenCPN 5.0.0 Changes Language

I have two Dell laptops that have their graphics drivers regularly "updated" by Windows major updates with generic, barely functional versions. The only solution, as Pavel says, is to go to the Intel site and install their latest drivers, even though they may appear (at least in my case) to be years out of date.
__________________

hoolie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enc, opencpn

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN Language Update bdbcat OpenCPN 2 27-01-2017 07:22
RPI2, opencpn and language Douz Meets & Greets 1 16-05-2016 11:25
RPI2, opencpn and language Douz OpenCPN 7 16-05-2016 10:26
OpenCPN, Dasboard, file language Gilletarom OpenCPN 0 30-12-2012 01:11
OpenCPN / Mac OS X 10.5.8 problems with language ChannelIslander OpenCPN 0 18-12-2011 11:00



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:48.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.