Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-03-2013, 20:26   #16
Registered User
 
Islander's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 166
Re: OPENCPN 3.2.0 / RAYMARINE PILOT

My friends got back to me with screenshots. First one shows a short "goto" route, second shows the port settings for the autopilot (they didn't scroll down enough to show the sentences, but they're there), third shows the NMEA datastream with no commands for the AP.

If you need more let me know and I'll try to get it but I'll be crossing the Sea of Cortez early next week.

Hope this helps
Cheers
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Route.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	91.8 KB
ID:	58085   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wrench.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	190.6 KB
ID:	58086  

Click image for larger version

Name:	debug.jpg
Views:	92
Size:	198.5 KB
ID:	58087  
__________________

__________________
Islander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2013, 00:19   #17
Registered User
 
NEVERMIND's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: CORSE
Boat: PRIVILEGE 12
Posts: 141
Images: 3
Some clarifications.
The simple open MaxSea with the lit navigation station sufficient to enable the driver with Opencpn.
It can be assumed that MaxSea sends info to the SPX 30 Central, but before it goes through the E85001 interface.
I turn off the navigation station, I again and it still works!
I don't think whether a equipment or navigation station.
But what kind of info MaxSea can send to the PC via the Central SPX 30? And this info is lost to the shutdown of the PC.
MaxSea only sends NMEA sentences, but if I open MaxSea without switching on the power off spx 30, it does not work.
It is not necessary to have a track on MaxSea. Then?
JP
__________________

__________________
NEVERMIND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2013, 01:46   #18
Registered User
 
NEVERMIND's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: CORSE
Boat: PRIVILEGE 12
Posts: 141
Images: 3
Re: OPENCPN 3.2.0 / RAYMARINE PILOT

Quote:
Originally Posted by Islander View Post
My friends got back to me with screenshots. First one shows a short "goto" route, second shows the port settings for the autopilot (they didn't scroll down enough to show the sentences, but they're there), third shows the NMEA datastream with no commands for the AP.

If you need more let me know and I'll try to get it but I'll be crossing the Sea of Cortez early next week.

Hope this helps
Cheers
Thanks and good nav
JP
__________________
NEVERMIND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2013, 02:32   #19
Registered User
 
Jeannius's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Worcester U.K.
Boat: Privilege 435 Now Sold
Posts: 840
Re: OPENCPN 3.2.0 / RAYMARINE PILOT

Quote:
Originally Posted by NEVERMIND View Post
Some clarifications.
The simple open MaxSea with the lit navigation station sufficient to enable the driver with Opencpn.
It can be assumed that MaxSea sends info to the SPX 30 Central, but before it goes through the E85001 interface.
I turn off the navigation station, I again and it still works!
I don't think whether a equipment or navigation station.
But what kind of info MaxSea can send to the PC via the Central SPX 30? And this info is lost to the shutdown of the PC.
MaxSea only sends NMEA sentences, but if I open MaxSea without switching on the power off spx 30, it does not work.
It is not necessary to have a track on MaxSea. Then?
JP
Are you using any 'com port sharing' drivers on your system?

I had a situation where OpenCPN would not open my usb GPS unless I had first run Maxsea. It took me a long time to find out it was the com port sharing software I'd installed that was causing the problem.

Don't know if this is your problem but it is something to consider.
__________________
Mike

http://sailingjeannius.blogspot.com
Jeannius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2013, 02:43   #20
Registered User
 
NEVERMIND's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: CORSE
Boat: PRIVILEGE 12
Posts: 141
Images: 3
Re: OPENCPN 3.2.0 / RAYMARINE PILOT

No, only serial port converter with USB direct to the PC.
I tried with an emulator such VSPE, the problem is the same.

with MaxSea it works.
JP
__________________
NEVERMIND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2013, 12:43   #21
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,877
Re: OPENCPN 3.2.0 / RAYMARINE PILOT

Islander....

Thanks for the screenshot relay.

I really need to confirm the output sentence setup for COM8.

It should include only ECRMB, ECRMC, and ECAPB. There is no need to echo APHDG, GPGGA, and GPRMC to the autopilot on COM8.

If we can get a copy of the config file (opencpn.ini), we can confirm the setup without multiple wrench screenshots.

Thanks, and have a good trip.
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2013, 15:31   #22
Registered User
 
NEVERMIND's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: CORSE
Boat: PRIVILEGE 12
Posts: 141
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
Islander....

Thanks for the screenshot relay.

I really need to confirm the output sentence setup for COM8.

It should include only ECRMB, ECRMC, and ECAPB. There is no need to echo APHDG, GPGGA, and GPRMC to the autopilot on COM8.

If we can get a copy of the config file (opencpn.ini), we can confirm the setup without multiple wrench screenshots.

Thanks, and have a good trip.
Dave
Thank for your answer.
If I use only ECRMC and RCRMB the pilot don't work.
Now I am in Paris, I return on the boat in end of April
Jp
__________________
NEVERMIND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2013, 14:15   #23
Registered User
 
Islander's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 166
Re: OPENCPN 3.2.0 / RAYMARINE PILOT

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
Islander....

Thanks for the screenshot relay.

I really need to confirm the output sentence setup for COM8.

It should include only ECRMB, ECRMC, and ECAPB. There is no need to echo APHDG, GPGGA, and GPRMC to the autopilot on COM8.

If we can get a copy of the config file (opencpn.ini), we can confirm the setup without multiple wrench screenshots.

Thanks, and have a good trip.
Dave
I'll email them again and get them to resend the second screenshot scrolled down a bit more. The issue, though, is that there are no sentences with $EC in the stream, I would think if they had too many included at least something would appear.

The $APHDG is there because I wanted to prove there was a connection to the autopilot (I assume this info is coming from the fluxgate via the AP).

We tried it with various sentences included, initially just the bare minimum as detailed in the AP manual, by now I think it has all but the kitchen sink in there.

Cheers
__________________
Islander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 20:49   #24
Registered User
 
Islander's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 166
Re: OPENCPN 3.2.0 / RAYMARINE PILOT

Bump!

I'm still waiting on the screenshot, I don't think they have good/any internet access at the moment.

Has nobody else been able to confirm if this is a bug? All the screenshot will do is show there are sentences in the box that should be sent to the AP.

I'm assuming this situation is not typical, most of us who have connected an AP did so many releases back and update as new versions are released. Can someone who gets a new PC try and install a fresh copy and see if it works?

Cheers.
__________________
Islander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 09:24   #25
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,877
Re: OPENCPN 3.2.0 / RAYMARINE PILOT

Islander....

Works fine for me on Win7.
Consider this: If the ECRMB, ECAPB do not appear in the NMEA debug window on COM8 in blue, then the issue is solely with OpenCPN. It has nothing to do with the AP per se, nor MaxSea, nor any other external hardware.

I can see no way in the code that ECxxx should fail to appear in the NMEA debug window if they are enabled as output.

Now, they may not actually be appearing on the output port. This would be another problem, possibly hardware. And if they do appear, the autopilot may not recognise them. This would be yet another problem.

But first, we've got to see them as blue output in the debug window.

The previous NMEA debug screen screen capture was pretty short, and showed only a part of one seconds trace. We need to get confirmation that the ECAPB, etc appear sometime in the output stream.

Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 12:12   #26
Registered User
 
Islander's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 166
Re: OPENCPN 3.2.0 / RAYMARINE PILOT

OK, so I was finally able to meet up with my friends and get some more screenshots. In the meantime they managed to drown their primary PC, so I also did a little more setup work on their backup PC - getting the COM: ports sorted - so they no longer match the earlier posts.

I have attached the screenshots and the .ini file. Although the NMEA datastream shot is small, I watched it for a while and there were no $EC statements issued. Everything else works fine.

They are now way up in the Sea of Cortez and out of contact, as will I be in a week or so.

Cheers

(Quick edit: I should mention that I tried all variations of settings in the "Accept/Ignore/Transmit/Drop" boxes to no avail).

Here are the screenshots:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Autopilot.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	220.5 KB
ID:	60065   Click image for larger version

Name:	Stream.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	367.2 KB
ID:	60066  

Attached Files
File Type: doc opencpn.ini.doc (8.9 KB, 42 views)
__________________
Islander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 20:28   #27
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,877
Re: OpenCPN 3.2.0 / Raymarine Pilot

Islander....

The ECAPB, etc will not appear while the Connections dialog box is open.
Autopilot output is disabled during this time.

You may close the Options dialog completely, while leaving the NMEA Debug window open. Then you should see the enabled autopilot messages.

Good Luck
Dave
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	apout1.jpeg
Views:	87
Size:	248.6 KB
ID:	60087  
__________________

__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
opencpn, raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
V3.1.1411 and pilot raymarine NEVERMIND OpenCPN 13 18-02-2013 08:03
Open CPN and Google Earth bgrimwade OpenCPN 19 09-12-2011 16:32
For Sale: Raymarine ST1000 Tiller Pilot captmmac1 Classifieds Archive 5 23-09-2011 12:23
OpenCPN Version 2.5 Release bdbcat OpenCPN 86 02-09-2011 19:14
Route Properties, Missing Functions James Baines OpenCPN 13 13-07-2011 05:31



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 18:02.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.