Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-07-2011, 21:50   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Belgrade,Serbia
Boat: Jeanneau gin fiz,38ft
Posts: 7
Open CPN WPT Transfer to Plotter

Hi all,
I wont to transfer my WPTs from OpenCPN to my chart plotter Raymarine RC435 by NMEA.Transfer was confirmed by plotter but no WPTs appear enywhere in ploter (csreen or WPT list).The same happends when I try to transfer WPTs from plotter to OpenCPN
Please I would apreciate any help
NESHA
SY BASJAKO
__________________

__________________
basjako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2011, 17:53   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 104
Re: Open CPN WPT Transfer to Plotter

first make sure you have a working connection, I have found that the transfer doesnt work unless you have all the cabling done as per the manual. I mean that you need to wire green and brown from 435 to shield on RS232, yellow and white to input and output of RS232 respectively. Remember that nmea transfer is done manually in these gear, I mean you have to "prepare" the 435 to receive and only then "send" waypoints from the software.
good luck. alex
__________________

__________________
alex2035 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2011, 20:00   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Belgrade,Serbia
Boat: Jeanneau gin fiz,38ft
Posts: 7
Re: Open CPN WPT Transfer to Plotter

Thanks Alex,I would try that.I did not connect green and brown from 435.only yellow and white and I was geting GPS positions on OpenCPN.
Thanks again
Nesha
__________________
basjako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2011, 21:50   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Belgrade,Serbia
Boat: Jeanneau gin fiz,38ft
Posts: 7
Re: Open CPN WPT Transfer to Plotter

Hi Alex
I revired as you said,now I can send WPT and routes to 435, but if I send WPT from 435 to IpenCpn I dont get it. Maybe I dont know where to look for them.Any ideas
Thanks a lot
Nesha
__________________
basjako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2011, 01:25   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,020
Re: Open CPN WPT Transfer to Plotter

Nesha,
we currently do not handle the navobjects coming through NMEA. You have to somehow export them from your plotter, save as GPX and import to OpenCPN.

Just wondering - how many people want this scenario? Is it worth working on?

Pavel
__________________
nohal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2011, 05:40   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Belgrade,Serbia
Boat: Jeanneau gin fiz,38ft
Posts: 7
Re: Open CPN WPT Transfer to Plotter

Hi Pavel,
Thanks a lot for answer.We are presently on our circumnavigation and have loots of tracks and routes which wiold be nice to export to open CPN and share our expirience ti other users.
Thanks again
Nesha
SY BASJAKO (presently in Fiji)
__________________
basjako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2011, 06:01   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,020
Re: Open CPN WPT Transfer to Plotter

There is a guide to get the WPT and RTE data from the C-series at Raymarine C-Series Waypoint and Route Import + Export
Looking at the RC435 manual, perhaps it could work for you as well.
Definitely not an ideal solution, I admit...

Pavel
__________________
nohal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2011, 11:06   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 104
Re: Open CPN WPT Transfer to Plotter

The C70 solution (well , kind of....) will not work in the 435, and the hassle is ...incredible. believe me,
use GPSbabel if you want a very good converter that is capable of transfering your data. capture 435 data on babel, convert to GPX and load it on OpenCPN as Nohal stated.
__________________
alex2035 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2011, 15:25   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Belgrade,Serbia
Boat: Jeanneau gin fiz,38ft
Posts: 7
Re: Open CPN WPT Transfer to Plotter

OK thanks,I would try with converter (have to find where I can download from) but you are losing me,it is to much of a hassle so I would stick to transfering from comp to Ploter,the rest if necessary would go point by point by hand.
Sorry for misspeling English is not my native language.
Nesha
__________________
basjako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2011, 17:42   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 104
Re: Open CPN WPT Transfer to Plotter

Quote:
Originally Posted by basjako View Post
OK thanks,I would try with converter (have to find where I can download from) but you are losing me,it is to much of a hassle so I would stick to transfering from comp to Ploter,the rest if necessary would go point by point by hand.
Sorry for misspeling English is not my native language.
Nesha
oh, never mind, I am not english either
yes, it is a hassle to put this kind of things to work, I spend long time onboard problem solving (I make a living of this). I am not saying you cant (sometimes you cant) but it is out of the purpose of the whole thing (the pleasure of sailing, if you get my idea). here is the link for GPSbabel, GPSBabel: convert, upload, download data from GPS and Map programs quite a small and efficient program, free.
Give it a try, is like the "swiss knife" for formats. good luck, alex
__________________
alex2035 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2011, 03:56   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
Re: Open CPN WPT Transfer to Plotter

Hi,

I'm new to this and understand it is possible to transfer WPT from my laptop (OpenCPN v2.5) to my Raymarine C80 - but I dont know how.

Anyone who gan give a guide, or a link to a guide?

Further information:
My laptop has only USB connections, running WIN7.
The Raymarine in in an integrated system with AIS, log, wind etc.

Thanks in advance
__________________
perhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2011, 04:08   #12
Moderator
 
nigel1's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Boat: Beneteau 473
Posts: 5,196
Re: Open CPN WPT Transfer to Plotter

See post No. 7 with link to
Raymarine C-Series Waypoint and Route Import + Export

Worked for me, best to buy a separate SD card to move the data
__________________
Nigel
Beneteau 473
Manchester, UK
nigel1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2011, 04:20   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
Re: Open CPN WPT Transfer to Plotter

Thank you - will give it a try.
__________________
perhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2011, 10:08   #14
Registered User
 
NEVERMIND's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: CORSE
Boat: PRIVILEGE 12
Posts: 141
Images: 3
Re: Open CPN WPT Transfer to Plotter

Bonjour,
Il faut activer la route sur opn cpn pour tranferer les wpts.
jp

Hello,
You have to activate the route on the tranfer to opn cpn WPTS.
jp
__________________

__________________
NEVERMIND is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
open cpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ubuntu10.04 LTS open CPN portrob OpenCPN 5 06-07-2011 09:33



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:21.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.