Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-04-2014, 08:48   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Open CPN - No "Red" Boat / Green GPS

Dear all,

i am currently helping a friend in resolving his issue with OpenCPN.

A little background information - His OpenCPN was working till few weeks ago, the ship is "greyed" and GPS icon is red despite clicking on the auto follow.

The NMEA Debug window is constantly showing data in real-time hence i believed the GPS is working.

I have ran out of ideas on how to resolve this issue for him, any kind advises? Thanks in advance!

__________________

__________________
archrival9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 09:54   #2
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,759
Re: Open CPN - No "Red" Boat / Green GPS

Can you please show the log-file as well?
__________________

__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 10:15   #3
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Re: Open CPN - No "Red" Boat / Green GPS

-Confirm you have a fix with another program.
-A gps outputs a lot of stuff even when it has no fix. I can't be sure looking at that screengrab.
-It can take a long time to get a fix without a clear view of the sky.

" GPSInfo" and "VisualGPSView" (I am using an old version 4.2.105.1 but the new one is ok though it might be trying to "phone Home" once) )are what I use but there are others. (I don't know what OS you are using?)

This will quickly confirm it's an OpenCPN issue.
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 10:25   #4
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,759
Re: Open CPN - No "Red" Boat / Green GPS

Happy,

bingo! - in the GGA message after W=West, the next "0" indicates "no fix"

Hubert
__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 10:54   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: QC, Canada
Boat: Kelt 8.50
Posts: 73
Re: Open CPN - No "Red" Boat / Green GPS

And in in the GPRMC sentence, the V in thet second field means no fix. It changes to an A with a valid fix.

JM
__________________
houlejm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 15:39   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Boat: Irwin 37 CC
Posts: 660
Re: Open CPN - No "Red" Boat / Green GPS

I noticed that the "Accept only sentences" has been selected and I don't see any sentences. Could be a problem after you get a fix.
__________________
David Kester
Pegasus IV
wdkester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 20:18   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Re: Open CPN - No "Red" Boat / Green GPS

Dear all,

thanks for the response! I am using Windows 7 32bit. My friend is using Windows 7 64bit tho.

I have attached the log files for your reference.

Also tried using VisualGPS (screenshots attached)

Any advise is kindly appreciated.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bxc...it?usp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bxc...it?usp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bxc...it?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bxc...it?usp=sharing



__________________
archrival9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 02:06   #8
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,759
Re: Open CPN - No "Red" Boat / Green GPS

The GPS is not ok:
it does see satellites but does not get a solution, a fix. There are no valid data.
If it is a GPS-mouse, change it, if you have a GPS unit with a seperate s antenna check the cable (change it) and next the same game with the antenna. If this does not help itīs the GPS itself.
__________________

__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gps, open cpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
using open cpn on Macbook Pro - gps com? Steve Budde OpenCPN 0 25-03-2013 12:58
Open CPN no GPS position after upgrading to Lion. riddon Navigation 0 06-12-2012 19:49
Open CPN wont open BONEY MAHONEY OpenCPN 3 26-07-2012 22:08
Open CPN Works Initially But Then Will Not Open GrahamW OpenCPN 4 25-01-2012 05:57
Open cpn Installs but Does Not Open with Vista 64 bit felipe OpenCPN 3 03-06-2011 13:23



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:59.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.