Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-11-2019, 12:27   #1
Registered User
 
Stacia.Petit's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Montpellier,France
Boat: Kelt39
Posts: 2
Open CPN is not showing AIS targets

Obj : Open CPN is not showing AIS Targets

Hi all,

Some help please! We have successfully installed and configured the AIS Camino-108 on our PC (Windows 8.I). In Open CPN (version 4.2.0) we added a new Connection as directed COM(AIS Virtual Com (COM6); Baud rate: 38400.

In the AIS tab and AIS Target tab we have ticked the necessary boxes but still no AIS targets.

Any ideas on where the problem is??? Thanks in advance for your help!

Stacia
__________________

Stacia.Petit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2019, 12:49   #2
Registered User
 
TheOffice's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Annapolis
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 791
Re: Open CPN is not showing AIS targets

Are you sure it is Com 6? Check the Windows Device Manager. You would have to have 5 other USB devices for that to be correct.
__________________

TheOffice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2019, 14:32   #3
Moo
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 493
Re: Open CPN is not showing AIS targets

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stacia.Petit View Post
Obj : Open CPN is not showing AIS Targets

Hi all,

Some help please! We have successfully installed and configured the AIS Camino-108 on our PC (Windows 8.I). In Open CPN (version 4.2.0) we added a new Connection as directed COM(AIS Virtual Com (COM6); Baud rate: 38400.

In the AIS tab and AIS Target tab we have ticked the necessary boxes but still no AIS targets.

Any ideas on where the problem is??? Thanks in advance for your help!

Stacia
The obvious question to me is. How do you know you have successfully installed and configured the AIS device?

Any particular reason for using an old version of OCPN?

Does the NMEA debug screen show anything?

Chris
Moo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2019, 16:41   #4
Registered User
 
Reefmagnet's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: puɐןsuǝǝnb 'ʎɐʞɔɐɯ
Boat: Nantucket Island 33
Posts: 3,689
Re: Open CPN is not showing AIS targets

What do you mean by "successfully installed and configured the AIS Camino-108 on our PC"? If you have the configuration software installed, then that will let you test and troubleshoot the AIS transponder. However, PC COM ports cannot be shared - even if only reading data - therefore you cannot have two applications trying to read the same COM port at the same time.


So to rewind, if you have software installed to test the AIS, do so and confirm correct function and the COM port settings and make sure OpenCPN is configured for the same COM port. Then shut down the AIS software and OpenCPN and re open OpnCPN WITHOUT the AIS configuration software running (if ProAIS is the configuration software, you just need to disconnect from the COM port on the first tab).
Reefmagnet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2019, 18:13   #5
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5,705
Re: Open CPN is not showing AIS targets

Stacia.Petit...


And the obvious:
Are you sure that there are actually any AIS targets within range?


Dave
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2019, 17:29   #6
Registered User
 
Stacia.Petit's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Montpellier,France
Boat: Kelt39
Posts: 2
Re: Open CPN is not showing AIS targets

Thanks to all of you for replying so rapidly! For a first experience on the forum, I am needless to say very impressed! And I am happy to inform you that OpenCPN is now showing AIS targets. Without changing anything specific, when I reopened OpenCPN, the targets appeared! Maybe the problem was in fact due to “sharing Com ports” as Reefmagnet suggested???
In any case, all seems to be in order for the time being and I thank you all again for your input. 
One last question, if we decide to install a newer version of OCPN which version? 4.8.8 or version 5?
FYI we are in Jacaré, Brazil and will eventually be heading to Uruguay in January if that makes a difference in some way....

Stacia
Stacia.Petit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2019, 05:06   #7
Registered User
 
Reefmagnet's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: puɐןsuǝǝnb 'ʎɐʞɔɐɯ
Boat: Nantucket Island 33
Posts: 3,689
Re: Open CPN is not showing AIS targets

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stacia.Petit View Post
Thanks to all of you for replying so rapidly! For a first experience on the forum, I am needless to say very impressed! And I am happy to inform you that OpenCPN is now showing AIS targets. Without changing anything specific, when I reopened OpenCPN, the targets appeared! Maybe the problem was in fact due to “sharing Com ports” as Reefmagnet suggested???
In any case, all seems to be in order for the time being and I thank you all again for your input. 
One last question, if we decide to install a newer version of OCPN which version? 4.8.8 or version 5?
FYI we are in Jacaré, Brazil and will eventually be heading to Uruguay in January if that makes a difference in some way....

Stacia
Done well! give yourself a big pat on the back. I'd say go with the latest version of opencpn. 5 is stable and has some good new features. I'm particularly enamored with split screen mode which actually is very useful when keeping an eye on ais targets.
__________________

Reefmagnet is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais, open cpn

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ais - showing targets... help flopresti OpenCPN 6 01-12-2017 23:18
AIS targets - show only targets closer than a defined range petter5 OpenCPN 2 20-05-2016 06:21
NMEA AIS Sentences with Tag block. O 4.0 Do not show AIS targets. Gilletarom OpenCPN 4 08-12-2015 11:35
Open CPN not showing much detail tchiffriller OpenCPN 7 13-08-2015 00:05
Cpn not showing ais targets when not connected to routerr delcrest OpenCPN 15 11-08-2015 19:23

Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:33.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.