Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-06-2013, 03:46   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 18
open cpn and google plug in

I have downloaded and installed the Google plugin after some problems with my computer - which has been repaired
I created a chart with no problems but then deleted it in order to get an improved image and to change the folder for storage - deleting the original folder also
I want to store the charts made in C;\Marinas\ name of marina {eg Rebak}
Each time I try to Create a chart the message "invalid file name" appears
I would be grateful for any assistance
Brian
__________________

__________________
bgrimwade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 06:42   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,016
Re: open cpn and google plug in

Brian...
Perhaps try to ask where GE2KAP is discussed (Google Earth to BSB / KAP), this has nothing to do with the Google Earth plugin.
Knowing nothing about the subject and just looking at your post, if your path really is "C;\Marinas\" and not "C:\Marinas\", the problem is obvious - replace the semicolon with colon.

Pavel
__________________

__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 17:00   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 18
Re: open cpn and google plug in

Quote:
Originally Posted by nohal View Post
Brian...
Perhaps try to ask where GE2KAP is discussed (Google Earth to BSB / KAP), this has nothing to do with the Google Earth plugin.
Knowing nothing about the subject and just looking at your post, if your path really is "C;\Marinas\" and not "C:\Marinas\", the problem is obvious - replace the semicolon with colon.

Pavel
I will go elsewhere in the forum - thanks for the clarification - the semi colon was a typo - sorry
Brian
__________________
bgrimwade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 17:13   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 18
Re: open cpn and google plug in

I have checked the GE2KAP/BSB thread and it seems to be a different problem than mine and I do not want to muddle the threads.
My question therefore remains as

I have downloaded and installed the Google plugin after some problems with my computer - which has been repaired
I created a chart with no problems but then deleted it in order to get an improved image and to change the folder for storage - deleting the original folder also
I want to store the charts made in C:\Marinas\ name of marina {eg Rebak}
Each time I try to Create a chart the message "invalid file name" appears
I would be grateful for any assistance
Brian
__________________
bgrimwade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 18:35   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,016
Re: open cpn and google plug in

Brian...
Google Earth plugin creates no charts. I know because I'm it's author... It is GE2KAP what creates the charts - different thing, with all the stuff related to it discussed in the thread I linked in the previous post.

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2014, 17:16   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Southern California
Boat: Antares 44 catamaran
Posts: 75
Re: open cpn and google plug in

Quote:
Originally Posted by nohal View Post
Brian...
Google Earth plugin creates no charts. I know because I'm it's author... It is GE2KAP what creates the charts - different thing, with all the stuff related to it discussed in the thread I linked in the previous post.

Pavel

Panel,

What is the current version of the google earth plugin. The instructions document speaks of a version 0.7 but when I download it from the openCPN website all I get is version 0.1. How can I get the latest version?

Thanks, Ricky
__________________
RickyEM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2014, 17:32   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,016
Re: open cpn and google plug in

Ricky...
The latest version I consider stable is always the one at PlugIns | Official OpenCPN Homepage
It is currently version 0.10 and as 10 is more than 7, I recommend you upgrade to it.

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2014, 07:53   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Boat: Gemini 3200
Posts: 702
Re: open cpn and google plug in

Quote:
Originally Posted by nohal View Post
Ricky...
The latest version I consider stable is always the one at PlugIns | Official OpenCPN Homepage
It is currently version 0.10 and as 10 is more than 7, I recommend you upgrade to it.

Pavel
The confusion arises because .10 is less than .7. Should have been .07.

Fabbian
__________________
fgd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2014, 08:17   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,016
Re: open cpn and google plug in

Fabbian...
If 0.10 was a number (then we mathematicians would sure write it as 0.1, don't you think?), you sure would be right. But as it's a version in the usual format MAJOR.MINOR, 0=0 & 10 >7

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2014, 11:21   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Boat: Gemini 3200
Posts: 702
Re: open cpn and google plug in

Not necessarily. If you want to indicate the level of precision you would still write 0.10 rather than 0.1. And what if the version number had been 0.11? With version numbers you inject needless confusion by omitting leading zeroes. That's why RickyEM posted about not being able to find anything newer than 0.1 when the documentation referred to 0.7. Had it been numbered 0.07 there would have been no confusion and you wouldn't have had to answer Ricky's question.

Fabbian
__________________
fgd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2014, 11:23   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,016
Re: open cpn and google plug in

Fabbian...
You are welcome to number your software anyway you want, I will just keep numbering mine the same way everybody else does.
But thanks for the explanation that what millions of software developers do for decades actually sucks.

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2014, 11:35   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Boat: Gemini 3200
Posts: 702
Re: open cpn and google plug in

I'm not trying to be contentious, just pointing out the source of the confusion.

Fabbian
__________________
fgd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2014, 11:50   #13
Obsfucator, Second Class
 
dacust's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southeast USA.
Boat: 1982 Sea Ray SRV360
Posts: 1,743
Re: open cpn and google plug in

Quote:
Originally Posted by nohal View Post
Fabbian...
You are welcome to number your software anyway you want, I will just keep numbering mine the same way everybody else does.
But thanks for the explanation that what millions of software developers do for decades actually sucks.

Pavel
I hate to tell you but not everybody does it that way. IBM, for example, does something like V7R1M0. It always sorts correctly, no matter if on a real operating system, or in Windoze explorer which tries to decide how to sort based on type of characters (which has always annoyed the total CRAP out of me). Explorer may sort alphabetically, or it may decide to treat a portion or portions as numerics. They wouldn't have to do this if they would just use leading zeros.

So I understand the comments by fgd3. Only difference is I have been around long enough to know that it has been customary for decades in some circles to do it in a confusing manner. Not confusing to them, just to any outsider coming in. So, I deal with it.

I'm not saying this to really disagree with you, just to point out that the reaction from fgd3 is not really that strange... Not EVERYBODY does it that way.

-dan
dacust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2014, 15:03   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Boat: Gemini 3200
Posts: 702
Re: open cpn and google plug in

Dan, I'm guessing in V7R1M0 that V is for version, R is for revision. What does M represent?

Fabbian
__________________

__________________
fgd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
google, plug

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:04.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.