Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-04-2019, 11:24   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 18
OPCPN double Monitor Win10

Hello,

I installed the OpenCPN on a Win10 System with two Monitors.

I can stretch/expand the Windows of OPCPN over the two Monitors. After Closing OPCPN and Restart, the Windows will only maximize on on monitor, not over the two.

tried to edit the opencpn.ini under the Directory program data\opencpn but every change has no effect.

I tried the keys:

x FrameWinX=3851
FrameWinY=1047
FrameWinPosX=-7
FrameWinPosY=0
x FrameMax=0
ClientPosX=0
ClientPosY=0
x ClientSzX= 3840
ClientSzY=1040

I only change the x marked keys! Is there a full description of all keys?

The resolution of each screen is 1920 x 1080. My choice is splitscreen.

Have anybody a hint for me? I like this Project enormously! A very good work.

Excuse my bad english! I will thank in Forward.

Greats from Berlin, Germany

Norman
__________________

Kawanager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2019, 19:30   #2
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 5,487
Re: OPCPN double Monitor Win10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kawanager View Post
Hello,

I installed the OpenCPN on a Win10 System with two Monitors.

I can stretch/expand the Windows of OPCPN over the two Monitors. After Closing OPCPN and Restart, the Windows will only maximize on on monitor, not over the two.

tried to edit the opencpn.ini under the Directory program data\opencpn but every change has no effect.

I tried the keys:

x FrameWinX=3851
FrameWinY=1047
FrameWinPosX=-7
FrameWinPosY=0
x FrameMax=0
ClientPosX=0
ClientPosY=0
x ClientSzX= 3840
ClientSzY=1040

I only change the x marked keys! Is there a full description of all keys?

The resolution of each screen is 1920 x 1080. My choice is splitscreen.

Have anybody a hint for me? I like this Project enormously! A very good work.

Excuse my bad english! I will thank in Forward.

Greats from Berlin, Germany

Norman
Norman,

If I understand you correctly when you click the maximize button in the upper right corner (next to the X) it only expands onto a single monitor. That is how Windows 10 works for most applications. In my experience it is a bit erratic in that the first time a window opens the expand window button will sometimes use both monitors. But then if you de-expand and expand again it will only use one monitor.

This is also dependent on the latest video drivers for Windows. So you might try updating your drivers if they are not the latest.
__________________

transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2019, 00:23   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 18
Re: OPCPN double Monitor Win10

No, I expand the window manually over the two monitors without using the max button.

The software run's on a Lenovo Thinkcentre Thin Client with included software update for the hardware. All is actuall.

I will try it today again.

Thank for answer
Kawanager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2019, 01:08   #4
Registered User
 
SailRedemption's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: New Orleans
Boat: Kaufman 47
Posts: 1,145
Re: OPCPN double Monitor Win10

One monitor should be the main monitor, try hitting the maximize button in both monitors to see if you get different results. It's been a while since I had a computer with dual screens, so I may not be correct.

Also, look in the settings and see what is available for dual screen. I know there's "mirror" which you don't want, but if I remember correctly, you have monitor extension or something like that and separate monitor modes? One extends the desktop, the other separates them.
SailRedemption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2019, 01:21   #5
Registered User
 
Reefmagnet's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: puɐןsuǝǝnb 'ʎɐʞɔɐɯ
Boat: Nantucket Island 33
Posts: 3,581
Re: OPCPN double Monitor Win10

You can only extend or duplicate displays with multi displays.


I've got a 1080p second monitor and a 4k main monitor and I just tried OpenCPN against MS Word for windowing behaviour and they are pretty much the same when it comes to restoring to the window position, but it won't maximise across two monitors and AFAIK, Windows has never done this in any multi monitor mode.


I think the best technique is to keep the main application window maximised on one monitor and display all secondary windows on the second monitor. I've just tested this with "Dashboard" as the secondary window and it works fine when the application is re-opened.


I guess a suggestion for future versions of OpenCPN is to allow the split screen mode to optionally split into separate windows. This would offer a solution.


I probably should add that some fancy graphics cards and their drivers do allow multiple screens to be combined as a single monitor, but this isn't inbuilt Window's functionality.
Reefmagnet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2019, 01:30   #6
Registered User
 
SailRedemption's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: New Orleans
Boat: Kaufman 47
Posts: 1,145
Re: OPCPN double Monitor Win10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reefmagnet View Post
You can only extend or duplicate displays with multi displays.


I've got a 1080p second monitor and a 4k main monitor and I just tried OpenCPN against MS Word for windowing behaviour and they are pretty much the same when it comes to restoring to the window position, but it won't maximise across two monitors and AFAIK, Windows has never done this in any multi monitor mode.


I think the best technique is to keep the main application window maximised on one monitor and display all secondary windows on the second monitor. I've just tested this with "Dashboard" as the secondary window and it works fine when the application is re-opened.


I guess a suggestion for future versions of OpenCPN is to allow the split screen mode to optionally split into separate windows. This would offer a solution.


I probably should add that some fancy graphics cards and their drivers do allow multiple screens to be combined as a single monitor, but this isn't inbuilt Window's functionality.
You also have two different size monitors. Possibly having Two identical monitors with same resolution may have different options, especially with external graphics chips(not on board/built in, I forget the proper terms). It's been a while since I had my gaming computer.

But thats good to know the dashboard works in the separate window which is huge, because it can take up a good chunk of the screen.
SailRedemption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2019, 02:03   #7
Registered User
 
Reefmagnet's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: puɐןsuǝǝnb 'ʎɐʞɔɐɯ
Boat: Nantucket Island 33
Posts: 3,581
Re: OPCPN double Monitor Win10

Quote:
Originally Posted by SailRedemption View Post
You also have two different size monitors. Possibly having Two identical monitors with same resolution may have different options, especially with external graphics chips(not on board/built in, I forget the proper terms). It's been a while since I had my gaming computer.

But thats good to know the dashboard works in the separate window which is huge, because it can take up a good chunk of the screen.

Possibly, but I doubt Windows changes behaviour with differential monitor resolutions. Speaking of different size monitors, Windows makes life a living hell with it's poorly implemented HDPI scaling. Even more so if your second monitor is 1k.


While I'm thinking about it, for all you guys suffering multi monitor envy, Windows 10 has virtual desktops which go some way to bridging the gap. Virtual desktops are accessed using the Windows key + Tab combination.
Reefmagnet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2019, 03:34   #8
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 5,487
Re: OPCPN double Monitor Win10

A lot of the dual monitor behavior is controlled by the video driver. Thus you get different behavior with different video hardware and driver version.

I have a dual monitor system with different resolution displays. For sure, sometimes clicking the expand in the upper right will zoom the window to cover both monitors. Sometimes it only expands into one monitor.

I dont think there is much OpenCPN can do about this question.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2019, 10:41   #9
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 5,487
OPCPN double Monitor Win10

Deleted...

Sorry, wrong thread.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2019, 02:28   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 18
Re: OPCPN double Monitor Win10

Hello again,

yesterday I tried different ways to maximize, nothing works. But is not critical, nice to have!

My monitors and any other config of the screens are identical, the same model.

Thank for your inputs, I will try at next the dashboard on second screen.

best wishes

Norman
__________________

Kawanager is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
monitor

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
B&G wifi module interfacing to OPCPN jbinbi OpenCPN 40 30-06-2019 15:27
opcpn language problem gipsy541 OpenCPN 2 09-12-2016 02:59
OPCPN not outputing autopilot sentences StuartGunn OpenCPN 57 01-07-2016 17:18
Tide & Current popup boxes too small with 4K display on Win10 Patience 242 OpenCPN 14 19-06-2016 08:17
Android 5-Lollipop versus Win10 tablets? Eventide OpenCPN 28 07-06-2016 12:50



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:42.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.