Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-10-2017, 08:33   #1
Registered User
 
Aart K.'s Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: the Netherlands
Boat: Kelt 800
Posts: 111
O-Draw / How to do?

I want to change the diameter of the first ring of a boundary point, not the distance between one or more rings and not the arrival radius.

Where can I do this? Minimum is 1000.000 ?

Aart
from the Netherlands
__________________

__________________
Aart K. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 20:18   #2
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,332
Re: O-Draw / How to do?

In the Properties. Right click on it and then change the settings. Distance between range rings. Try .01 and .05 etc. Changes all the rings spacing. Hope that helps. Aart

https://opencpn.org/wiki/dokuwiki/do...:odraw1.4_pi&s[]=ocpn&s[]=draw#boundary_point
__________________

__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 01:13   #3
Registered User
 
Aart K.'s Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: the Netherlands
Boat: Kelt 800
Posts: 111
Re: O-Draw / How to do?

Does not work.

Default value is 1.000.
I changed the 1 into a 2 When I click OK the value is automaticly changed to 2000.000
When I try to change the 1 into 0.5 value is also autmaticly changed in 5000.000
When I delete the default value of 1.000 and try to fill in a value with a dot, the dot is not accepted.
I change a false value into a 1 When I click OK the value is automaticly changed to 1.000


Aart
from the Netherlands
__________________
Aart K. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 06:12   #4
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,332
Re: O-Draw / How to do?

Aart, Check the box "Show Point Range Rings!"
__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 06:45   #5
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,755
Re: O-Draw / How to do?

Aart,

just checked with W8.1 and here it works like expected.
I can enter complete integers or values like 0.4 or 0.030
Using "." as decimal separator.

I think what you want to do to have an initial distance of let us say 2nm and then range rings with 0.3nm distance is not implemented.
The distance parameter defines the initial distance and distances between individual rings.

Hubert
__________________
bcn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 13:17   #6
Registered User
 
Aart K.'s Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: the Netherlands
Boat: Kelt 800
Posts: 111
Re: O-Draw / How to do?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
Aart, Check the box "Show Point Range Rings!"
This does not give the change I want.
__________________
Aart K. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 13:21   #7
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,332
Re: O-Draw / How to do?

As I said earlier, you cannot just change one ring.
You cannot do what you want, it is not permitted.

You can change ALL the rings to have a certain distance.
To have rings even SHOW you must check the checkbox.

OK?
__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 13:22   #8
Registered User
 
Aart K.'s Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: the Netherlands
Boat: Kelt 800
Posts: 111
Re: O-Draw / How to do?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcn View Post
I think what you want to do to have an initial distance of let us say 2nm and then range rings with 0.3nm distance is not implemented.
The distance parameter defines the initial distance and distances between individual rings.

Hubert
What I want is one round boundary with only one ring but with a diameter of 0.3 NM (or KM) My W10 laptop does not accept values with a decimal. Dot "." or "," comma makes no difference.
__________________
Aart K. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 16:47   #9
Senior Cruiser
 
StuM's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Port Moresby,Papua New Guinea
Boat: FP Belize Maestro 43
Posts: 6,709
Re: O-Draw / How to do?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aart K. View Post
What I want is one round boundary with only one ring but with a diameter of 0.3 NM (or KM) My W10 laptop does not accept values with a decimal. Dot "." or "," comma makes no difference.
That's different to what you said before:
"I want to change the diameter of the first ring of a boundary point, not the distance between one or more rings"

I have no problem doing what you want - my Win7 laptop accepts decimals for Distance between Rings.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BoundaryPt.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	25.5 KB
ID:	157633   Click image for larger version

Name:	OneRangeRing.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	42.3 KB
ID:	157634  

__________________
StuM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 17:01   #10
Senior Cruiser
 
StuM's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Port Moresby,Papua New Guinea
Boat: FP Belize Maestro 43
Posts: 6,709
Re: O-Draw / How to do?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aart K. View Post
What I want is one round boundary with only one ring but with a diameter of 0.3 NM (or KM) My W10 laptop does not accept values with a decimal. Dot "." or "," comma makes no difference.
Just noticed that you are in Netherlands. What is your default decimal marker (comma or period)?

If your local setting is a comma, what happens if you temporarily re-configure your laptop to use a period instead?

If that allows you to enter decimal distances, you should report it as a possible bug.

(Just tried reversing my decimal and thousands symbols - decimal ranges still worked byt ODraw did NOT honour the format change and still displayed a period as the the decimal indicator - looks like the extension is not localised )
__________________
StuM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 19:20   #11
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,332
Re: O-Draw / How to do?

This is one of those locals problems.
__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2017, 09:29   #12
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,332
Re: O-Draw / How to do?

Seriously, I think this is a windows locals problem. There is a setting in windows that localizes the software. Earlier there were problems with one of those settings which just did not work correctly. It had nada to do with O. Do a search on it. Windows locales settings, if i remember correctly.
__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2017, 09:14   #13
Registered User
 
Aart K.'s Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: the Netherlands
Boat: Kelt 800
Posts: 111
Re: O-Draw / How to do?

In the Netherlands a comma is for decimals, a period for thousand.

When I fill in a value for "distance between rings", the comma and the period are accepted BUT after that nothing is accepted.

I fill in 0, (zero comma) or 0. (zero period) but after the comma or the period nothing more is accepted (sound is heard.)

Aart
__________________
Aart K. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2017, 21:14   #14
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,332
Re: O-Draw / How to do?

Yes aart this is a locals problem
__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2017, 02:02   #15
Registered User
 
Aart K.'s Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: the Netherlands
Boat: Kelt 800
Posts: 111
Re: O-Draw / How to do?

@Rick, I think it is more a local W10 problem.

I made a new one on my local LINUX machine and there I had no problem with a value of 0.2. I exported it as a .gpx and imported it on my W10 machine. At Properties there was also a value of 0.2

But then, on my W10 machine, when I tried to change the value from 0.2 to 0.1, the value was automaticly changed into 100.000

Aart
from the Netherlands
__________________

__________________
Aart K. is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dinghy Chaps? Draw String Material? JohnnyB Auxiliary Equipment & Dinghy 8 11-02-2009 19:23
Anyone using a low power draw laptop? Christian Van H Navigation 23 17-12-2008 10:32
amperage draw for Garmin radar and MFD janders Marine Electronics 8 16-12-2008 18:00
Draw bridge Incedent ICW S/V Antares Rules of the Road, Regulations & Red Tape 36 29-11-2008 09:42
head won't draw in water Buddy_Y Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 10 06-08-2007 20:53



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:14.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.