Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-03-2013, 07:04   #1
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: In the U.S.
Boat: FP Tobago 35 [sold]
Posts: 402
O 3.2 and DSC

In previous version, DSC messages had to come in on the AIS data stream. Based on the user manual for 3.2, it seems DSC can now come into O via its own data stream.

First, is this correct?

Second, if the DSC still comes into O on the AIS stream, is this ok too?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Mark (It's Irie - Sailing Blog)
The Wirie AP+ and The Wirie pro - Long Range Marine WiFi and 2/3/4G Systems
kiltym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2013, 09:04   #2
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: In the U.S.
Boat: FP Tobago 35 [sold]
Posts: 402
Re: O 3.2 and DSC

I think I have answered my own question, but now I have more .

It seems the DSC data will get into O either way as I described above as I have watched in the NMEA debug window and confirmed.

Now, this issue is something is not working right.

I have attached an image of the DSC input into O.

I have 2 strange things happening.

1) When I turn off all inputs into O, except the DSC, and then send a Pos Report from DSC, the report shows up in the AIS targets, but the location puts me in the middle of China (I am in the Galapagos ).

2) When I have my normal inputs into O, Nav Data, AIS, and DSC, and send the pos report, I do not get any item added to the AIS Target List and it's as if nothing is happening. However I have confirmed the data is in the NMEA Window in O ok.

Any suggestions.

This was working on 3.02 before, but have just tested on 3.2 now.

Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	41.1 KB
ID:	58292   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC With All Data.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	107.6 KB
ID:	58293  

__________________

__________________
Mark (It's Irie - Sailing Blog)
The Wirie AP+ and The Wirie pro - Long Range Marine WiFi and 2/3/4G Systems
kiltym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2013, 10:25   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,247
Re: O 3.2 and DSC

I can't repeat your faulty DSC position.
Check your "Limit Range" in the "AIS Target List", I don't know if it is the case, but your results are what can be expected expected, if the DSC target, is outside the set range.
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2013, 10:32   #4
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: In the U.S.
Boat: FP Tobago 35 [sold]
Posts: 402
Re: O 3.2 and DSC

I am sending the DSC position report from the boat, where the report is being received, so basically the same Lat/Long as where I am located.....

Could that cause the issue?
__________________
Mark (It's Irie - Sailing Blog)
The Wirie AP+ and The Wirie pro - Long Range Marine WiFi and 2/3/4G Systems
kiltym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2013, 10:43   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,247
Re: O 3.2 and DSC

Quote:
Originally Posted by kiltym View Post
I am sending the DSC position report from the boat, where the report is being received, so basically the same Lat/Long as where I am located.....

Could that cause the issue?
Maybe...
Can you record a small file with the VDR plugin, to show what is going on? Add a ".pdf" extension to the file to be able to upload it to the forum.
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2013, 16:04   #6
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: In the U.S.
Boat: FP Tobago 35 [sold]
Posts: 402
Re: O 3.2 and DSC

Here is a recording that contains one DSC position report.

Let me know what you find, and I appreciate the help with this.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf DSC Pos Report.vdr.pdf (4.7 KB, 31 views)
__________________
Mark (It's Irie - Sailing Blog)
The Wirie AP+ and The Wirie pro - Long Range Marine WiFi and 2/3/4G Systems
kiltym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 03:35   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,247
Re: O 3.2 and DSC

Can you describe your setup? Type of VHF etc. How does the VHF gets any gps info? Internal or external gps?
Have you had your dsc setup work, using another program?

The DSC shows up in about 39N 89.5E. O displays that all the time, even in AIS info if the distance limit is adjusted to cover that huge distance. One strange thing is that the dsc target does not respond to any target info.
My guess is that there is something wrong with the nmea sentences coming from your VHF.

I'm far from an expert on this subject, hopefully someone more knowledgeable will chime in.

PS
Your DSC target does respond to a target query in the AIS inf dialog.
Click image for larger version

Name:	dsc.png
Views:	64
Size:	24.9 KB
ID:	58340
Look at the position! The Lat is totally out, and the Long seems to miss the "-" making it Easterly instead of Westerly.
So it does look like an nmea issue with your VHF.

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 07:37   #8
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: In the U.S.
Boat: FP Tobago 35 [sold]
Posts: 402
Re: O 3.2 and DSC

We are using a Standard Horizon GX2100 (with built in AIS) for the DSC NMEA input into OpenCPN.

VHF gets GPS from external source (Raymarine GPS), but the position report that appears on the VHF screen when I send it from my handheld (also Standard Horizon) appears correctly on the GX2100. So, the report is getting to the VHF itself correct, but somehow between it and O is an issue it seems.

Only thing is I know it was working on 3.02 about 3 months ago when I first set up DSC with OpenCPN and tested it with a friend. To be honest, I don't use DSC very often so I probably never tried it again since the initial setup, but it is nice to have the position reports show up on screen from friends. I have not tried to test it before with the handheld VHF I have now as it is new to me, but the report that displays on the GX2100 seems correct so it would not appear the source of the position report (the handheld) is the issue.

All I have done (that I can think of), from when it worked, until now, is upgrade OpenCPN to 3.2 and reconfigure the input into OpenCPN since it allows more flexible data communication now. But I know that part seems OK since the sentences are arriving into O ok.
__________________
Mark (It's Irie - Sailing Blog)
The Wirie AP+ and The Wirie pro - Long Range Marine WiFi and 2/3/4G Systems
kiltym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 07:40   #9
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: In the U.S.
Boat: FP Tobago 35 [sold]
Posts: 402
Re: O 3.2 and DSC

Not sure how easy this is for you (or someone), but could they try running my VDR data on 3.02 (maybe you already did?) and see what the results are.

This might shed some light on it if it is a problem in O.
__________________
Mark (It's Irie - Sailing Blog)
The Wirie AP+ and The Wirie pro - Long Range Marine WiFi and 2/3/4G Systems
kiltym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 09:45   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,247
Re: O 3.2 and DSC

Quote:
Originally Posted by kiltym View Post
Not sure how easy this is for you (or someone), but could they try running my VDR data on 3.02 (maybe you already did?) and see what the results are.

This might shed some light on it if it is a problem in O.
I tried on 3.0.2 (XP). Same result!. The only difference was that the DSC Position Report was in impossible to raise in the AIS target list when running the full file(limiting distance 20000M). Making a separate file of the DSC sentences only, the DSC position report appeared in the AIS target list.
I had hoped for some independent confirmation through NavMonPC, but DSC is apparently not supported.
So I think that this boils down to the incoming NMEA, not OpenCPN.

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 10:32   #11
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Re: O 3.2 and DSC

Mark, search this forum for AIS on the GX2100. I remember something about the AIS output being weak on this unit and needing to install a pull-up resister on the line. From memory, it is a 1K resister between the NMEA OUT and 12V supply, but don't go on my memory. SH also specifically addressed this issue with the GX2150.

Mark



Mark
__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 15:40   #12
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: In the U.S.
Boat: FP Tobago 35 [sold]
Posts: 402
Re: O 3.2 and DSC

Quote:
Originally Posted by cagney View Post
I tried on 3.0.2 (XP). Same result!. The only difference was that the DSC Position Report was in impossible to raise in the AIS target list when running the full file(limiting distance 20000M). Making a separate file of the DSC sentences only, the DSC position report appeared in the AIS target list.
I had hoped for some independent confirmation through NavMonPC, but DSC is apparently not supported.
So I think that this boils down to the incoming NMEA, not OpenCPN.

Thomas
Thanks for trying that. I will play with some more things here and see what I can find.

I used to be required to have the DSC (and AIS) configured to pass through NamMonPC as the DSC sentences had to be passed to O via the AIS on 3.02, and NavMonPC was able to combine the 4800 and 38K baud rates into a single stream for O. I will reconfigure it this way and see what I find.

Very strange.
__________________
Mark (It's Irie - Sailing Blog)
The Wirie AP+ and The Wirie pro - Long Range Marine WiFi and 2/3/4G Systems
kiltym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 15:54   #13
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: In the U.S.
Boat: FP Tobago 35 [sold]
Posts: 402
Re: O 3.2 and DSC

Quote:
Originally Posted by colemj View Post
Mark, search this forum for AIS on the GX2100. I remember something about the AIS output being weak on this unit and needing to install a pull-up resister on the line. From memory, it is a 1K resister between the NMEA OUT and 12V supply, but don't go on my memory. SH also specifically addressed this issue with the GX2150.

Mark
Thanks Mark. Your the person I tested this with a few months back, and all worked as it should then.

Also, no issues with AIS, as both the laptop and the chartplotter receive the AIS data without issues, which is where the issues seemed to be with the thread you mention.

And the DSC and DSE sentences are well-formed that are going to OpenCPN, so I would think if it was a general NMEA issue, the sentences would be all messed up, not with strange positions....
__________________
Mark (It's Irie - Sailing Blog)
The Wirie AP+ and The Wirie pro - Long Range Marine WiFi and 2/3/4G Systems
kiltym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 16:30   #14
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: In the U.S.
Boat: FP Tobago 35 [sold]
Posts: 402
Re: O 3.2 and DSC

OK.

I think I am onto something, and best guess is it is a bug in the NMEA from the GS2100 as you suspected.

The issue is I think, I am at 00 latitude, but it is just a guess.

Can anyone simulate this to OpenCPN with my LatLong below to make sure its not an issue with OpenCPN, but I suspect it is not. As in, create the correct DSC and DSE sentences for the position below, feed it to OpenCPN, and confirm it is OK?

Current position from the Pos report I sent, as displayed on the GX2100:
00 53.699S
089 36.782W

Target info on OpenCPN:
500 53.6997N
089 38.7824E

So, something is wrong with the #'s, and the N/S E/W.

Based on the fact all the other numbers look OK, I suspect it is a bug in the GX2100.

Anyone else at the equator with a GX2100 they can try this with ?

Don't think I can "spoof" a position report to the GX2100 to try it, so will have to wait until I am at 1 degree or more to confirm 100%.
__________________
Mark (It's Irie - Sailing Blog)
The Wirie AP+ and The Wirie pro - Long Range Marine WiFi and 2/3/4G Systems
kiltym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 16:45   #15
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Re: O 3.2 and DSC

You should have paid closer attention to the Standard Horizon installation instructions where they caution against mounting the unit upside down. Since you are now upside down, turn it over and see if that works.

(and check the date...)

Mark
__________________

__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:15.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.