Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-01-2012, 06:04   #1
Registered User
 
titaantje's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Netherlands
Boat: North Beach 24
Posts: 28
No Option " Network LibGPS " in Toolbox - GPS

hi,
I am trying to get my gps-mouse to work with OpenCPN. In toolbox-gps there are several options for NMEA data source, but "Network LibGPS" is missing. This was the option that worked for me on a different pc.
I am running OpenCPN on a fedora 16 (64bits) system, I have gpsd 2.95-7 installed.
When I fire up xgps I can see that the gps (BR 355) is running.
In the user manual I read that gpsd 2.9x should have this option. Other options like /dev/ttyUSB0 or Network GPSD don't work.
Doe anyone have a clue? Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
titaantje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2012, 09:40   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,249
Re: no option "Network LibGPS" in toolbox-GPS

You are not saying which version of OpenCPN you are trying.
Which packet? Or have you compiled yourself? Was it compiled with support for gpsd?

I'm sure you can get gps working with a direct connection via /dev/ttyUSB0.
Check instructions on Setting Up GPS | Official OpenCPN Homepage Linux -> Direct connection.

Thomas
__________________

__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2012, 09:44   #3
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Re: no option "Network LibGPS" in toolbox-GPS

and there's always the "Search This Forum" otion to try.
OpenCPN - Cruisers & Sailing Forums
all kinds of stuff comes up with "/dev/ttyUSB0","Fedora" etc.
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2012, 10:38   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Re: no option "Network LibGPS" in toolbox-GPS

The package libgps-dev must be installed ...
... then you see the option network libgpsd regardless of which opencpn version you use.
__________________
paulesgps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2012, 13:02   #5
Registered User
 
titaantje's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Netherlands
Boat: North Beach 24
Posts: 28
Re: no option "Network LibGPS" in toolbox-GPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulesgps View Post
The package libgps-dev must be installed ...
... then you see the option network libgpsd regardless of which opencpn version you use.
SOLVED!
In Fedora there is no package libgps-dev, but I got the point. I did not have gpsd-devel installed when I compiled OpenCPN.
So I uninstalled OpenCPN, installed gpsd-devel and re-installed OpenCPN and now gps is talking to OpenCPN.
Thanks for all suggestions.
Peter
__________________
titaantje is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gps

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPS Signal Interference in US CarlF Navigation 36 19-05-2012 09:13
LiveAboards, Electricity, and GPS Systems - Do I REALLY need them? EelKat Liveaboard's Forum 24 04-01-2012 14:24
Furuno GP-33 GPS review by Jedi :) s/v Jedi Product or Service Reviews & Evaluations 1 25-12-2011 07:54
Linux Version gpsd Selection for GPS Port sdowney717 OpenCPN 3 30-08-2011 11:02
Route Properties, Missing Functions James Baines OpenCPN 13 13-07-2011 05:31



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:36.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.