Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-06-2011, 14:33   #1
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
No GPS data even though data stream window ...

... shows the NMEA data!

In the German forum there is a user who has quite a strange problem which I am not able to solve or even can not explain it. Therefor I ask you guys ...

As you can see on the screenshot the GPS NMEA sentences from the GPS are shown in the data stream window and also on the statusbar there is a position given. But have a look at the GPS status icon.

He also wrote that he is running OCPN (and the chart dirs) directly from an USB stick. May this cause any trouble? I have never tried to do so ...

He is using an ASUS Netbook with Win 7.
Any tips or hints what may be the problem?

Thanks

Gunther
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GPS-Problem-01.png
Views:	150
Size:	137.1 KB
ID:	28261  
__________________

__________________
Deutschsprachige Community- und Support-Website unter OpenCPN.de
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 15:01   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
sailorF54's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Perros-Guirec, France
Boat: Jeanneau Sunshine 36
Posts: 829
Re: No GPS data even though data stream window ...

Gunther

You may have a data stream and still the red GPS icon if the GPS has not locked on satellites.
Your pic does not show the GPGGA sentence that carries Lat/Long data.
GPGSA is GPS DOP and active satellites
GPGSV is GPS Satellites in view (possibly only 2, I am not sure)
__________________

__________________
sailorF54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 15:20   #3
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Re: No GPS data even though data stream window ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailorF54 View Post
Your pic does not show the GPGGA sentence that carries Lat/Long data.
Yes, unfortunately he made the window very small - requested another screenshot with larger NMEA window.

Quote:
GPGSA is GPS DOP and active satellites
GPGSV is GPS Satellites in view (possibly only 2, I am not sure)
I am also not sure at the moment but according to GPS Status | Official OpenCPN Homepage shouldn't the circle be green at least anyway?

Gunther
__________________
Deutschsprachige Community- und Support-Website unter OpenCPN.de
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 15:41   #4
Senior Cruiser
 
sailorF54's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Perros-Guirec, France
Boat: Jeanneau Sunshine 36
Posts: 829
Re: No GPS data even though data stream window ...

I have helped some French guy with the same problem. The icon stays red when the GPS is not locked on satellites (invalid data)
I've just cheked with mine before sending my message (hiding my puck under the table...)
__________________
sailorF54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 15:51   #5
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Re: No GPS data even though data stream window ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailorF54 View Post
The icon stays red when the GPS is not locked on satellites (invalid data)
Ah OK - I see (cannot test it myself because no GPS here at home).
Although the GPS sends data it's purely coincidental.

I will forward this information - let's see if it is the reason for his problem.

Anything about "running OCPN from a USB stick"?

Thanks

Gunther
__________________
Deutschsprachige Community- und Support-Website unter OpenCPN.de
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 16:06   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Boat: Gemini 3200
Posts: 702
Re: No GPS data even though data stream window ...

When I have my GPS connected indoors it sends a ton of data but no position information and the GPS status indicator stays red. That string of commas you see in the first line in your screen shot is a sentence with a lot of empty fields that should be filled with position data.

Fabbian
__________________
fgd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 16:16   #7
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Re: No GPS data even though data stream window ...

Fabbian ...

Yes, thanks for the info and confirmation.
What I find irritating in this case is that the (last) position remain in the statusbar (instead of being cleared).

As you see I never had such a problem in real, yet.

Thanks

Gunther
__________________
Deutschsprachige Community- und Support-Website unter OpenCPN.de
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 16:25   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Boat: Gemini 3200
Posts: 702
Re: No GPS data even though data stream window ...

There are two positions always in the status bar, the cursor position and ownship's position. Ownship's position is always the last fix unless you change it with "Move Boat Here" from the popup menu. That's why it doesn't get cleared when there's no GPS position data available. If we don't know where we are we at least like to know where we were.

Fabbian
__________________
fgd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 16:42   #9
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Re: No GPS data even though data stream window ...

Fabbian ...

I was talking about the own ship position indeed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fgd3 View Post
There are two positions always in the status bar, the cursor position and ownship's position. Ownship's position is always the last fix unless you change it with "Move Boat Here" from the popup menu.
Sure? On a quick test (with simulated GPS data and then stopped) the last fix remains no matter where you put the boat(s position) to.

Quote:
That's why it doesn't get cleared when there's no GPS position data available. If we don't know where we are we at least like to know where we were.
I agree and that's reasonable. But it should be displayed in an optically different way (e.g. red, blinking).

BTW: It was a feature request on the German forum to have also an (acoustic) alarm when GPS connection got lost.

Gunther
__________________
Deutschsprachige Community- und Support-Website unter OpenCPN.de
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 04:15   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Normandy, France
Boat: Flush Poker, 8.25m (Point Barre)
Posts: 335
Re: No GPS data even though data stream window ...

You can use the dashboard with "GPS Status" display to check how many sats are seen and used ;-)
__________________
SethDart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 05:41   #11
Senior Cruiser
 
sailorF54's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Perros-Guirec, France
Boat: Jeanneau Sunshine 36
Posts: 829
Re: No GPS data even though data stream window ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SethDart View Post
You can use the dashboard with "GPS Status" display to check how many sats are seen and used ;-)
Quite true...

I've often suggested Xport to newbies for debugging, as it auto-detects the COM port spitting out NMEA data, baud rate, invalid/low level data, 2D ou 3D lock and number of visible sats... (plus virtual ports)
XPort
__________________

__________________
sailorF54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gps

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to get GPS data from Delormo LT-20 GPS and Raymarine (ethernet) on my desktop? velero OpenCPN 1 29-03-2011 14:36
OpenCPN Won't Listen to My GPS Data Ima Winner OpenCPN 5 09-09-2010 16:23
Getting the GPS Data from AIS ocean31 OpenCPN 6 06-09-2010 13:09
Problems with GPS and AIS Data in Ubuntu tebsin OpenCPN 29 04-07-2010 13:07
OS X 1.3.6 GPS Data Not Showing Up brianontheroad OpenCPN 3 04-05-2010 10:56



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:00.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.