Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-07-2012, 10:21   #16
GWB
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brookings, Oregon
Boat: Westsail 32
Posts: 296
Images: 1
Re: No GPS data

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
GWB....

The AIVDO sentences in the log contain your location. Unfortunately, OpenCPN currently ignores AIVDO messages with message ID=18. This will be corrected for Version 3.0.2.

Sorry you are temporarily lost
Stay tuned

Dave
Thanks Dave!
__________________

__________________
GWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 11:40   #17
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Chania, Crete, Greece
Boat: comfortina 32
Posts: 20
Re: No GPS data

I have exactly the same problem with an ExNC-101 ais transponder connected to a Windows 7 prof. running PC: no gps data through the shared port, but it works ok with SeaClear. Openpcn works Ok when I connect also an external gps on another port at a different baudrate.

I tried the Debugger plugin. From the AIS tab I get messages of the following type:
!AIVDO,1,1,,,B3TEQ200005;m;39kweTKP06,0*60

From the NMEA tab I get the following kind of messages:
$AITXT,01,01,25,AIS:internal_GNSS_in_use*03

The other two tabs do not show anything

Thanks

Alexandros
__________________

__________________
Alexandros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2012, 06:30   #18
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Chania, Crete, Greece
Boat: comfortina 32
Posts: 20
Re: No GPS data

The problem has been solved since I started using version 3.0.2!

Thanks

Alexandros
__________________
Alexandros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2012, 07:41   #19
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 32
Re: No GPS data

Quote:
Originally Posted by GWB View Post
Thanks for that. I'll try to figure out how to turn NMEA sentances on from AIS 500. Strange because all other NMEA data is there...

It's not that strange.
You haven't connected an other GPS unit besides the AIS'es own unit.
But you did connect depth and log (also water temperature), possibly using seatalk.

The device is probably actually produced by SRT (OEM AIS marketleader at the moment) and rebranded as Raymarine.
This is visible in your logs; they contain proprietary sentences $PSRT.

A lot of SRT devices act as a multiplexer whenever external devices are connected @ 4800 Bd.
That is why you can see your log and depth senctences.
The GPS data has an internal source, and won't be available unless you instruct the device to do so.
__________________
MAS3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2012, 07:47   #20
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SW Florida
Boat: FP Belize, 43' - Dot Dun
Posts: 3,432
Re: No GPS data

For those using VDO for own vessel location, how often does your AIS unit put out a VDO statement?

I would think if it's only every 30/60/90 seconds, it would be better to get actual GPS data on the wire every second.
__________________
DotDun is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2012, 08:34   #21
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 32
Re: No GPS data

On most AIS'es i've seen (all class A), this VDO sentence is sent about every second.
About means it's not exactly every second, leading to the conclusion that GPS is still to be preferred.
__________________

__________________
MAS3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gps

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 17:45.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.