Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2014, 06:56   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2
No Com ports visible open cpn setup

Hi, just installed 3.2.2 on a samsung notebook running xp (only the home version) and had hoped to interface it to a bluetooth gps.
The gps installed fine but only gave me the option of com15. I looked in device manager and was very surprised to see the only com port under 'serial and lpt' as the bluetooth com 15. I thought maybe a problem with my machine installation so tried my wife's laptop which is the same and saw the same thing there. I continued with the cpn installation (all fine) but when I tried to link to the gps I saw nothing under 'data connections'. I thought 'Maybe the prog doesn't see com ports above a low number' so I tried mapping the comp port using a third party prog but still no joy.

Anybody any ideas?

Ta for any replies.

Mark
__________________

__________________
RainAgain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 08:43   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,019
Re: No Com ports visible open cpn setup

Mark...
When the port is not discovered automatically and offered in the dropdown (Can happen, especially with BT), just fill in the correct value of COM15 (or whatever it is now) into the field in the connections dialog manually.

Pavel
__________________

__________________
nohal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 08:59   #3
sitting on the dock of the bay

Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,513
Images: 6
Send a message via Yahoo to gonesail
Re: No Com ports visible open cpn setup

maybe open cpn refuses to run on XP since it is unsupported and outdated
__________________
sometimes the things that may or may not be true are the things a man needs to believe in the most.
gonesail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 11:07   #4
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,766
Re: No Com ports visible open cpn setup

No, this is not the case.
__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 02:36   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2
Re: No Com ports visible open cpn setup

Hello and thanks for the replies. I now have the answer - not very edifying and shows me up to be a complete idiot but posted here to help any other idiots that this happens to!

Indeed the section which invites you to pick a com port was blank when I accessed it. It remains blank when you press the 'add' button. What I had not noticed though is that the screens expands BELOW the viewing level of my 'letterbox' netbook screen and to all intents and purposes the 'add' button had appeared to have done nothing. When I finally noticed that the border at the bottom of the screen had disappeared when I pressed the 'add' button and I could scroll down into that region I found Com 1 (don't know why since Com 1 was missing in device manager) and Com 15 (yippee!)

So that problem fixed. Thanks for all your help and I promise to look harder before asking for help in the future!

Thanks again,

Mark
__________________
RainAgain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 10:07   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 15
Re: No Com ports visible open cpn setup

You are not an idiot.

It is easy to miss something like a drop down menu in a configuration interface.

It's good that you posted the problem and then the solution. It's a virtual certainty that someone else will encounter the same problem and you will have saved them much time and frustration.

Good work,

Steve
__________________
Steve Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 11:11   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Hamble area UK
Posts: 9
Question Re: No Com ports visible open cpn setup. Nexus 7

Hi Folks, hoping yoiu can help me with a prob. I've used opencpn for several years (XT/Vista/W7/W8.1), now trying to get it running on Nexus 7 2013 Kit Kat 4.4.4. Finally got it running, more or less, with CMap93. (stable version, 3.3.1911-1_armhf.deb).

However, GPS connection is a problem.

There have been problems with Nexus 7 GPS, but seems ok on mine. I don't have anyother GPS apps running. OpenCpn toolbox offers GPS connection with a default port #2947. I have used GPSD (tickbox) as the address (network connection) and that port number, but nothing visible in the NMEA debug window (usually very useful).

Other various installs talk about dialout group user for /dev/ttyS0 (this file not in my /dev and anyway I don't think we're talking serial with the Nexus).

Any suggestions/guidance much appreciated. I hope this is the right thread, if not, apologies.

Thanks for all the guidance notes/posts which helped me get this far!
__________________
Rgds
Phil
philmarks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 11:17   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,019
Re: No Com ports visible open cpn setup

Phil...
Refer to the Android threads in this very forum, there is some (actually a lot of) talk about this stuff. This thread is completely unrelated as it talks about Windows...
To use GPSD you would have to have it running and actually communicating to the GPS, do you?

Pavel
__________________

__________________
nohal is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
open cpn, ports

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing Ports with New Found Metals Ports Papa Joe Construction, Maintenance & Refit 10 04-06-2016 15:34
VHF/AIS/NMEA C80 MFD Open CPN setup Eirik Marine Electronics 2 25-04-2013 12:55
Open CPN wont open BONEY MAHONEY OpenCPN 3 26-07-2012 22:08
Open CPN Works Initially But Then Will Not Open GrahamW OpenCPN 4 25-01-2012 05:57
Open cpn Installs but Does Not Open with Vista 64 bit felipe OpenCPN 3 03-06-2011 13:23



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 18:11.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.