Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-10-2015, 18:34   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 80
NMEA to Wifi

I have a Standard-Horizon GX2100 with AIS which is wired to a Shipmodul Miniplex multiplexor as well as a GPS antenna also wired into the MUX. This is fed into the laptop and used by OpenCPN, which works very well and allows to see AIS targets at a much greater range than looking at the tiny VHF screen.

I want to get the NMEA data displayed on an Android tablet, since there are now quite a few apps designed to read NMEA data over wifi or Bluetooth.

Can I use a USB wifi dongle to transmit the NMEA data, or do I need something more elaborate? I know there is software that will allow me to share the NMEA com port assigned to the MUX with another com port, but can't figure out what goes next.


I have looked through the manuals on OpenCPN website but couldn't find anything pertinent to my situation.

Thank you,
jimthom
__________________

__________________
jimthom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2015, 12:59   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,968
Re: NMEA to Wifi

jimthom...
If you have the AIS data into OpenCPN and the PC connected to a wifi you can use O's inbound multiplexer to transfer out all your data.
In tools - connections:
Make a new Net connection for output and use UDP protocol. (And be sure to deactivate input on that connection!)
Set the IP address to 192.168.x.x Port 10110. (Yes - use the letters "x")
On your Android make a similar but input connection. (Again - no output her! You'll choke the net if you do)
See more on Data Connections | Official OpenCPN Homepage
Good luck
Håkan
__________________

__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2015, 14:36   #3
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,421
Re: NMEA to Wifi

Thats one for the manual too. Thanks Hakan. Will try to enter it.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2015, 14:38   #4
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,421
Re: NMEA to Wifi

I think it would go under hardware with pointer to data connections.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 16:52   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 80
Re: NMEA to Wifi

Thank you Hakan, looks great. Can I use my laptop's built-in wifi or do I need a USB wifi dongle?

Cheers jimthom
__________________
jimthom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 17:56   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 80
Update

It took 5 minutes to configure, I didn't need any additional hardware and I'm seeing the AIS targets on Android app Seawi! Up to 35n.m. range. Way cool.

Cheers, Jim
__________________
jimthom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 03:04   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,968
Re: NMEA to Wifi

Jim...
Nice to "hear".... I suppose the first Q was answered by your own trial?
Håkan
__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 03:57   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 80
Re: NMEA to Wifi

Yes Haken I answered my own question. What I found perplexing is that my in-built wifi is connected to the internet and still able to connect simultaneously with the android tablet.

Thanks again,
jimthom
__________________
jimthom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 08:09   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,968
Re: NMEA to Wifi

jim..
That's what the IP-protocol is all about, addressing other devices more or less simultaneously. And since the segment 192.168...... is used your wifi router is keeping that traffic inside your "home" net.
__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2015, 10:11   #10
Registered User

Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 109
Re: NMEA to Wifi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hakan View Post
jim..
That's what the IP-protocol is all about, addressing other devices more or less simultaneously. And since the segment 192.168...... is used your wifi router is keeping that traffic inside your "home" net.
Any one help me out here. I have been following this thread and have successfully fed NMEA/AIS data to a Windows laptop using UDT 192.168.x.x, Port 10110. It works really well.

However, I cannot get the Android version of OpenCPN to use this data, even though it appears in the NMEA debug window. Not easy to test as Android O doesn't support AIS or Dashboard but not even the GPS data is being used.

I tried several other Apps (EasyAIS, DigitalYacht and Vesper) that in theory can receive NMEA/AIS data over Wifi but am unable to get any to connect using 192.168.x.x. SeaWi is not available where I am currently. The only errors I am getting are IO Error or Timeouts. Do I need to configure something else on the tablet? or use specific IP addresses?
__________________
Tupaia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2015, 12:07   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,968
Re: NMEA to Wifi

Tupala...
Well..I use that way in my Android Samsung 10 and it works fine.
I've the wifi connected,
In Android OCPN "Connections" the inbound GPS is deactivated.
The network UDP connection is as my description.
Since my PC master send AIS data also these are visible on A,but you are correct that no Dashboard is present so no wind,compass etc are visible there.

Attached pictures are from my A.

Håkan
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2015-11-15-19-40-47.jpg
Views:	98
Size:	222.1 KB
ID:	113056   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2015-11-15-19-42-16.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	260.0 KB
ID:	113057  

__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2015, 12:42   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 80
Re: NMEA to Wifi

Tupala;

The two apps that I found so far that work well with Android for AIS/GPS are Seawi and Sailtracker:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...ltracker&hl=en

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...tivities&hl=en

Both of these can use the GPS over wifi, so you can turn the internal GPS off, which will increase the battery life.

When I upgraded to Android 6.0 from Android 5.1, Seawi stopped working but I'm sure this bug will be fixed.

jimthom
__________________
jimthom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2015, 11:50   #13
Registered User

Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 109
Re: NMEA to Wifi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hakan View Post
Tupala...
Well..I use that way in my Android Samsung 10 and it works fine.
I've the wifi connected,
In Android OCPN "Connections" the inbound GPS is deactivated.
The network UDP connection is as my description.
Since my PC master send AIS data also these are visible on A,but you are correct that no Dashboard is present so no wind,compass etc are visible there.

Attached pictures are from my A.

Håkan
Finally got it working. For UDP to work each computer/tablet must be connected to the same Wifi.

The following does not work:

Boat PC - wifi'd to marina (This is the OpenCPN, UDP transmitter)
Laptop - wifi'd to marina (also acting as local hotspot using virtual router)
Tablet - wifi'd to Laptop and sharing connection to marina

When I wifi'd the tablet directly to the marina instead of the hotspot everything works.

So this begs the questions when I am at sea none of the wifi's are connected to anything.

1. Does this mean I have to have a router so that everything can be wifi'd to it before UDP works between the tablet (or laptop) and the boat PC?

2. Is there a way of creating a LAN between all the units without using a router and UDP will still work?
__________________
Tupaia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2015, 12:48   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,968
Re: NMEA to Wifi

Tupala..
Yes, all must be connected to the same net. I thought we were talking about a net inside your boat and wasn't aware of the "marina". I better describe my net;
I've a 12 V wifi router inside my cabin normally not connected to any Internet or external stuff like a marina router. The router act as an DHCP, sharing IP addresses, and its IP address is 192.168.10.1. (Chose whatever beginning with 192.168. . .) Every other of my gadgets will get an IP address in the segment 192.168.10.(2-253)
This is my local boat net where the UDP "broadcast" is sent and received independent of other nets outside the boat.
If I would like external connection to for example Internet the same router can be used with a USB 3G-dongle or connected to another router set up as an access point. Maybe to a marina router.

Conclusions:
Answer 1. Yes
Answer 2. No

Sorry if I was (or still are?) unclear and presumed things obvious for me and didn't thought of that all are not electronic geeks.
But I see you are on your way to find out things that will work for you.

Good luck
Håkan
__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2015, 22:13   #15
Registered User

Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 109
Re: NMEA to Wifi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hakan View Post
Tupala..

Conclusions:
Answer 1. Yes
Answer 2. No

Sorry if I was (or still are?) unclear and presumed things obvious for me and didn't thought of that all are not electronic geeks.
But I see you are on your way to find out things that will work for you.

Good luck
Håkan
Thanks for the confirmation. It was the fact that the tablet was sharing the internet through the laptop that threw me. I have a 12v router that handles my wireless printer so I will keep this "on" at sea. I cannot accessthe internet at sea so all should be well.

Thanks again.

Peter
__________________

__________________
Tupaia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nmea, wifi

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Comar NMEA-2-WIFI NMEA 0183 Converter $230 4arch Classifieds Archive 1 02-11-2015 04:02
Multiplexing NMEA on a router (NMEA over WiFi redux) Mollymawk Marine Electronics 16 21-10-2014 06:18
NMEA via ethernet/wifi Mollymawk Marine Electronics 62 03-09-2013 02:43
Transmitting NMEA data to shore via wifi Mardi Gras Marine Electronics 2 29-04-2013 17:22
Standard Horizon to Comar NMEA-2-WiFi JokersWild1967 Marine Electronics 3 25-08-2012 10:31



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:14.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.