Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-08-2016, 12:59   #1
Registered User
 
TheOffice's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Annapolis
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 466
NMEA plugin for 4.4?

I'm trying to get data from iKommunicate to OpenCPN via TCP, but I don' see the NMEA plugin.

Also,I know to use the IP address for the IKomm box and set the port to 2000. Any other settings I should be aware of?
Thanks!
__________________

__________________
TheOffice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2016, 13:20   #2
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 8,077
Re: NMEA plugin for 4.4?

You are going to have to be more specific I think. What devices to start with.
__________________

__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2016, 14:34   #3
Registered User
 
TheOffice's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Annapolis
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 466
Re: NMEA plugin for 4.4?

Its a windows 10 machine on one end, a Ray e7 on the other and iKommunicate in the middle. The PC is getting data from the iKomm box. Need to get it into OpenCPN.
__________________
TheOffice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2016, 21:28   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 3,945
Re: NMEA plugin for 4.4?

You don't need any plugin for NMEA data, it is OpenCPN's native data format. If you are trying to feed it with SignalK data, it is not possible with 4.4, will be in the next version.


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2016, 05:34   #5
Registered User
 
TheOffice's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Annapolis
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 466
Re: NMEA plugin for 4.4?

Thought it would work over TCP. No?
__________________
TheOffice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2016, 05:37   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 3,945
Re: NMEA plugin for 4.4?

It depends on what is "it" for you. If "it" is NMEA data, then it works over any transport media, is OpenCPN's native data format and you don't need any plugin. If "it" is SignalK data for you, then there is no support for it in the current OpenCPN version at all. I think you can believe me - I'm working on implementing it right now.

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2016, 05:47   #7
Registered User
 
TheOffice's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Annapolis
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 466
Re: NMEA plugin for 4.4?

sorry I was not clear. Trying to get NMEA data over TCP. I'm not an IT guy.
I've got the IP address and the dataport set to 2000. Any other settings I should try?

Thanks for all of your efforts and support!
__________________
TheOffice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2016, 05:59   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 3,945
Re: NMEA plugin for 4.4?

You must configure OpenCPN to actually connect to the data -Connections | Official OpenCPN Homepage
Are you sure you actually have some NMEA0183 data produced on iKommunicate?
Are you sure you enabled NMEA0183 over TCP on your iKommunicate?
Quote:
Originally Posted by iKommunicate manual
iKommunicate will also retransmit all NMEA0183 data that it receives on to the Ethernet network via TCP or UDP. The TCP or UDP connections must be enabled in the Web Interface (default is OFF) but once enabled, all sentences (not just the ones in the previous list) will be retransmitted.
Are you sure the IP you try to connect to is correct and the port is 2000?
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2016, 06:02   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Monastir, Tunisia
Boat: Westerly Pentland
Posts: 1,685
Re: NMEA plugin for 4.4?

If nobody is able to make things clear, here we go:
The actual OpenCPN software is only able to receive data in the NMEA0183 data format (not the later NMEA2000 format). Connection to OpenCPN might be using a serial connection, a virtual serial connection, a TCP/IP connection or using UDP.
The iKommunicate device is intended for transformation of either NMEA0183 data or NMEA2000 data to the Signal K JSON data which is not supported actually. So you cannot use it now for OpenCPN.

Gerhard
__________________
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2016, 06:04   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 3,945
Re: NMEA plugin for 4.4?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarCode View Post
If nobody is able to make things clear, here we go:
The actual OpenCPN software is only able to receive data in the NMEA0183 data format (not the later NMEA2000 format). Connection to OpenCPN might be using a serial connection, a virtual serial connection, a TCP/IP connection or using UDP.
The iKommunicate device is intended for transformation of either NMEA0183 data or NMEA2000 data to the Signal K JSON data which is not supported actually. So you cannot use it now for OpenCPN.

Gerhard
Gerhard...
To make things clear, you are not correct. iKommunicate CAN produce NMEA0183 data available over TCP or UDP, please read http://ikommunicate.com/wp-content/u...-V1_01_Eng.pdf before trying to clarify stuff further.

Thanks

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2016, 06:29   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Monastir, Tunisia
Boat: Westerly Pentland
Posts: 1,685
Re: NMEA plugin for 4.4?

Pavel,

obviously you have not understand and I guess you have never have in your hands this device. Actually the only software which works with iKommunicate is iNavX because it knows about the Signal K JSON data.

Gerhard
__________________
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2016, 06:32   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 3,945
Re: NMEA plugin for 4.4?

Gerhard...
Please read the iKommunicate manual to learn what it can and can not do and delay your posts to the subject until you do so.

Thanks

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2016, 06:38   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Probably and anchorage or a boatyard..
Boat: Ebbtide 33' steel cutter
Posts: 3,108
Re: NMEA plugin for 4.4?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarCode View Post
Pavel,

obviously you have not understand and I guess you have never have in your hands this device. Actually the only software which works with iKommunicate is iNavX because it knows about the Signal K JSON data.

Gerhard
Even with these options selected? If so then your device sounds faulty.

__________________
conachair is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2016, 06:56   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Monastir, Tunisia
Boat: Westerly Pentland
Posts: 1,685
Re: NMEA plugin for 4.4?

conachair,

do you have an iKommunicate?
There are several misleading informations in their manual. People might think it has WiFi but it has not. Only a few PGNs of the NMEA2000 protocol are supported but that is the fact of most such gateways.

Gerhard
__________________
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2016, 07:03   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 3,945
Re: NMEA plugin for 4.4?

Gerhard...
As you are obviously an expert, could you please tell us what those 2 checkboxes do, if they do not do what their label says and they don't do what the manual says?
Once you provide this valuable information, I will gladly test it on the device Digital Yacht provides me for testing when needed and ask them to clarify the information and correct their faults.

Thank you very much

Pavel
__________________

__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nmea, plug

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN PlugIn Development bdbcat OpenCPN 70 14-03-2017 04:01
Plugin: DashBoard SethDart OpenCPN 470 24-08-2016 20:34
NMEA debug window : changing NMEA datasource pegase22003 OpenCPN 6 29-02-2016 10:44
For Sale: Comar NMEA-2-WIFI NMEA 0183 Converter $230 4arch Classifieds Archive 1 02-11-2015 03:02
Multiplexing NMEA on a router (NMEA over WiFi redux) Mollymawk Marine Electronics 16 21-10-2014 05:18


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:52.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.