Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-09-2014, 19:36   #106
Registered User
 
boat_alexandra's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: grenada
Boat: bristol 27
Posts: 2,556
Re: New rtlsdr Plugin

I believe I made this clear in the readme and instructions, you must use a vhf antenna!
__________________

__________________
boat_alexandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2014, 21:14   #107
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 7,829
Re: New rtlsdr Plugin

Sean, you may have made it clear. What I do recall is you writing I needed a very busy harbor to get anything. I will get to one and hook up the VHF antenna.

This has been a very long arduous process for this particular computer!

Whenever I open Opencpn should I be getting this message?
Quote:
Failed to open: C:\Program Files (x86)\Opencpn 3.3.2118\plugins\rtlsdr_pi\bin\rtl_fm -f 161975000 -p -98 -s 48k
Why can't it open rtl_fm.exe? The file exists in the directory. Also I have an ENV path to it and have tried without an ENV path. The error message still occurs every time I open Opencpn 3.3.2118?

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2014, 21:30   #108
Registered User
 
boat_alexandra's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: grenada
Boat: bristol 27
Posts: 2,556
Re: New rtlsdr Plugin

maybe double check the path, and try to execute the program from a command line to verify you can run it. Maybe you just don't have permission
__________________
boat_alexandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2014, 06:54   #109
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 7,829
Re: New rtlsdr Plugin

I am admin.

After loading Opencpn 3.3.2118 with rtlsdr_pi, I get the message above, but find that ftl_fm.exe has loaded when I check Task Manager. I have to close Opencpn and then have to End process rtl_fm.exe *32 in Task Manager

When there is no instance of rtl_fm.exe in the Task Manager, I can Run (cmd)
cd C:\Program Files (x86)\Opencpn 3.3.2118\plugins\rtlsdr_pi\bin
rtl_fm -f 161975000 -p -98 -s 48k
And my speakers start beeping fairly fast, and gibberish scrolls up in the command window. I have to End Process in the Task Window rtl_fm.exe *32 and then the command window is closed.

Is this normal?

If I try to run from any location other than
C:\Program Files (x86)\Opencpn 3.3.2118\plugins\rtlsdr_pi\bin
I get rtl_fm is not recognized as and internal or external command...
(with no path setting in ENV variable)

I check Task Manager, no rtl_fm. Then I start Opencpn and I get the failure message, I don't open the plugin rtlsdr_pi and immediately close Opencpn. Then I find that Task Manager shows rtl_fm! - so why is there a message? The program loaded! -Perhaps it did not run or something for some reason?

Even when I have a path in ENV

It acts the same way! It runs and starts beeping and I have to "End Task" in Task Manager. Then I start Opencpn and I get the same Failure message. I close Opencpn. I go to task manager and I see rtl_fm.exe *32 still in use. Which I "End Task" because if I do not rtl_fm will give an error the next time it is run!

Very finicky little program rtl_fm.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2014, 21:48   #110
Registered User
 
boat_alexandra's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: grenada
Boat: bristol 27
Posts: 2,556
Re: New rtlsdr Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
I am admin.

After loading Opencpn 3.3.2118 with rtlsdr_pi, I get the message above, but find that ftl_fm.exe has loaded when I check Task Manager. I have to close Opencpn and then have to End process rtl_fm.exe *32 in Task Manager

When there is no instance of rtl_fm.exe in the Task Manager, I can Run (cmd)
cd C:\Program Files (x86)\Opencpn 3.3.2118\plugins\rtlsdr_pi\bin
rtl_fm -f 161975000 -p -98 -s 48k
And my speakers start beeping fairly fast, and gibberish scrolls up in the command window. I have to End Process in the Task Window rtl_fm.exe *32 and then the command window is closed.

Is this normal?
that means it's working
Quote:
If I try to run from any location other than
C:\Program Files (x86)\Opencpn 3.3.2118\plugins\rtlsdr_pi\bin
I get rtl_fm is not recognized as and internal or external command...
(with no path setting in ENV variable)
check the required included dll files
Quote:
I check Task Manager, no rtl_fm. Then I start Opencpn and I get the failure message, I don't open the plugin rtlsdr_pi and immediately close Opencpn. Then I find that Task Manager shows rtl_fm! - so why is there a message? The program loaded! -Perhaps it did not run or something for some reason?

Even when I have a path in ENV

It acts the same way! It runs and starts beeping and I have to "End Task" in Task Manager. Then I start Opencpn and I get the same Failure message. I close Opencpn. I go to task manager and I see rtl_fm.exe *32 still in use. Which I "End Task" because if I do not rtl_fm will give an error the next time it is run!

Very finicky little program rtl_fm.
yes, well it shouldn't require the path env to be set. I tried this on windows once and it worked for me, but I dont know why you have, but running two instances of rtl_fm won't work, so maybe that could be one problem case.
__________________
boat_alexandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2014, 05:40   #111
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 7,829
Re: New rtlsdr Plugin

Okay so, maybe Opencpn is running two instances of rtlsdr and that causes the Failure message? --Maybe opencpn tries to load rtl_fm twice when you open it?

Also when we close Opencpn the rtl_fm.exe still seems to reside in Task Manager Process list, should it be closed then?

Sorry about the pesky questions....

AIS transmission Channels
VHF Marine 87B
161.975 MHz = AIS Channel A
VHF Marine 88B 162.025 MHz= AIS Channel B.


I think I am going to build a High Gain Collinear Antenna for rtlsdr

See
Ais Receiving Station
AIS Aerial Performance Comparisons
High Gain Collinear AIS (162MHz) Receiving Aerial
PDF Instructions ---> http://nmearouter.com/docs/ais/aerial_mk1_technical.pdf
Could I put this in small diameter pvc tube with a cap without getting interference?
I could hoist into the rigging but mast might interfere. Any thoughts?

I suppose I could do a Slim Jim but it is not as good. http://nmearouter.com/docs/ais/slimjim.jpg

Later: http://nmearouter.com/docs/ais/radioexperimenter.html
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2014, 19:38   #112
Registered User
 
boat_alexandra's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: grenada
Boat: bristol 27
Posts: 2,556
Re: New rtlsdr Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
Okay so, maybe Opencpn is running two instances of rtlsdr and that causes the Failure message? --Maybe opencpn tries to load rtl_fm twice when you open it?

Also when we close Opencpn the rtl_fm.exe still seems to reside in Task Manager Process list, should it be closed then?
I think the external process handling must still be broken on windows. Ideally then this program could be compiled into opencpn instead and use a library for better handling.
__________________
boat_alexandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2014, 06:20   #113
Registered User
 
denverd0n's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,566
Images: 6
Re: New rtlsdr Plugin

If you can run it from the command line, but it will not run from OpenCPN, I have to wonder if OpenCPN is not executing in administrator mode. I would try right-clicking on the OpenCPN icon and then select "run as administrator." Grasping at straws, but maybe?
__________________
denverd0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 11:57   #114
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Mississippi Gulf Coast
Boat: 37' TransPac Trawler, heavily modified
Posts: 88
Re: New rtlsdr Plugin

I have installed the rtl-sdr plugin in OpenCPN 4.0 running on Debian Wheezy in an Android chroot environment. Rtl-sdr fails with the following message:

Executed: aisdecoder -h 127.0.0.1 -p 10110 -a file -c mono -d -f /dev/stdin
Can't open raw file for read

I tried running it as root user and got the same result.
Any one have suggestion for getting this working?
__________________
LeoA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 20:15   #115
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Mississippi Gulf Coast
Boat: 37' TransPac Trawler, heavily modified
Posts: 88
Re: New rtlsdr Plugin

I have managed to get rtlsdr/aisdecoder running in OpenCPN without errors. I made a script that will create the missing symlink, /dev/stdin whenever I start OpenCPN. It may not be the correct or most graceful way to do this , but it worked. Now I just have to get closer to marine traffic so I can tune it.
__________________
LeoA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2015, 18:29   #116
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Mississippi Gulf Coast
Boat: 37' TransPac Trawler, heavily modified
Posts: 88
Re: New rtlsdr Plugin

This is on my Fujitsu ST5112 tablet that I use for navigation. Ubuntu 14.04 running OpenCPN 4.0.

Rtlsdr plugin works with rtl_fm/aisdecoder, but when I switch to ais_rx (gnuradio), I get the following error:
Executed: ais_rx -d -r 48000 -e 50
Usage: ais_rx [options]

ais_rx: error: no such option: -d

Tue 20 Jan 2015 07:11:18 PM CST: Execution failed
__________________
LeoA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2015, 23:58   #117
Registered User
 
boat_alexandra's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: grenada
Boat: bristol 27
Posts: 2,556
Re: New rtlsdr Plugin

This is from a new version of ais_rx which uses the new gnuradio and changed some options. I haven't had much luck with the new version, but if you can find a way to make it work from the console you should be able to fix the plugin.
__________________
boat_alexandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2015, 07:22   #118
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 23
Re: New rtlsdr Plugin

Hallo,
i try to use the OpenCPN Plugin on Windows 8 with an Terratec T Stick.

i installed rtlsdr_pi-0.12-ov4.0-win32. from here...
Plugin Threads (List)

When i activate rtlsdr 0.12, i become a error massage:

Quote:
Failed to open: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN\plugins\rtlsdr_pi\bin\rtl_fm -f 161975000 -p -98 -s 48k
when i go to
Quote:
C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN\plugins\rtlsdr_pi\bin
and start
Quote:
rtl_fm -f 161975000 -p 0 -s 48k
i become an error
Quote:
Found 2 device(s):
0: , <***m, SN:
1: Realtek, RTL2838UHIDIR, SN: 00000001

Using device 0: Terratec T Stick PLUS
usb_open error -12
Failed to open rtlsdr device #0.
so i have to start with device 1
Quote:
rtl_fm -d1 -f 161975000 -p 0 -s 48k
and it works. I think it is not possible to change the device in the settings?

Is this the problem for the error when i start OpenCPN?

best regards, Malte
__________________
the_muck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2015, 07:43   #119
Registered User
 
boat_alexandra's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: grenada
Boat: bristol 27
Posts: 2,556
Re: New rtlsdr Plugin

Thank you for the feedback. I will add the option to the plugin to specify the device index. For now, maybe you can change the source code and confirm it works?
__________________
boat_alexandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2015, 08:07   #120
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 23
Re: New rtlsdr Plugin

thanks for the fast answer, and sorry for my bad English.

I am not sure how i can change the source code .

I am not a programmer and never write programs for windows or Linux, just Arduino in C.

i have a look at your code... rtlsdr_pi.cpp

Quote:
m_command1 = PATH() + wxString::Format(_T("rtl_fm -f 161975000 -p %d -s 48k")
i think i must change it to

Quote:
m_command1 = PATH() + wxString::Format(_T("rtl_fm -d1 -f 161975000 -p 0 -s 48k")
Quote:
return wxString::Format(_T("rtl_fm -d1 -r %dk -s %dk -f %.1fM"), samplerate, outputrate, frequency);
but i did not know how i can compile it
__________________

__________________
the_muck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Logbook Konni for OpenCPN konni OpenCPN 819 18-11-2016 02:31
OpenCPN Release Candidate Version 3.1.1411 Released bdbcat OpenCPN 48 24-02-2013 07:59
GRIB Weather Mark Ward OpenCPN 26 12-02-2012 22:33
Route Properties, Missing Functions James Baines OpenCPN 13 13-07-2011 05:31


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:37.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.