Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-02-2016, 13:36   #31
Registered User
 
rooiedirk's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Oneoff
Posts: 300
Re: New Plugin NmeaConvertor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swokey View Post
I have already two lines in the NMEA converter plugin. Now I want to add a third line, but that overwrites the first line.

Can only 2 lines be added to this plugin?
Congratulations, you found a bug. Corrected in git now.
Dirk
__________________

__________________
Navigation is know where you are and what to do to get where you want.
But also: Know where you don't want to be and what to do to don't get there.
rooiedirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2016, 09:51   #32
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,305
Re: New Plugin NmeaConvertor

OpenCPN Beta File Thingie rguser rgpass
https://tgp-architects.com/files/

4.2.0 WIN PI folder
nmeaconverter_pi-0.2-ov4.2-win32

Thanks Dirk
__________________

__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2016, 11:23   #33
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Boat: Verl 27
Posts: 28
Re: New Plugin NmeaConvertor

Quote:
Originally Posted by rooiedirk View Post
Congratulations, you found a bug. Corrected in git now.
Dirk
Thanks a lot. It is working fine now.
__________________
Swokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2016, 12:07   #34
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,291
Re: New Plugin NmeaConvertor

Hello RGleason, Hello All,

I try NMEA Convertor. I can insert to sntences but not more .. Is it normal ?

Best regards. Gilletarom.
__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2016, 12:33   #35
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Monastir, Tunisia
Boat: Amel Sharki
Posts: 1,774
Re: New Plugin NmeaConvertor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilletarom View Post
Hello RGleason, Hello All,

I try NMEA Convertor. I can insert to sntences but not more .. Is it normal ?

Best regards. Gilletarom.
Have been fixed already, see above.
Gerhard
__________________
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2016, 19:17   #36
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Nederland
Boat: Dufour 40P
Posts: 10
Images: 1
Re: New Plugin NmeaConvertor

Hello,

Thank you for the nice plugin. The last fix correct the two lines limit. But the problem with the decimal places is back. Please can you fix this. I need both.

Arnold de Maa
__________________
arnolddemaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2016, 04:45   #37
Registered User
 
m_bst's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 2
Re: New Plugin NmeaConvertor

Is this plug-in also able to convert a specific AIS massage (with a specific mmsi number) into a GPS position?
I try the following but that’s not working:
$GPRMC, $AIVDM1,,$AIVDM3, $AIVDM4,etc
__________________
m_bst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2016, 07:59   #38
Registered User
 
rooiedirk's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Oneoff
Posts: 300
Re: New Plugin NmeaConvertor

Sorry, that won't work. AIVDM messages are a kind of scrambled. To get the mmsi number you should decode the AIVDM message first, and for decoding the buildin logic is not powerfull enough.
__________________
Navigation is know where you are and what to do to get where you want.
But also: Know where you don't want to be and what to do to don't get there.
rooiedirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2016, 20:45   #39
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,305
Re: New Plugin NmeaConvertor

Dirk,
Would Nmeaconverter_pi be able to determine if an AIS message was from a ship greater than (say 12nm) and filter that data out?

Would help this guy out.
AIS targets - show only targets closer than a defined range
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2016, 22:05   #40
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Boat: Gemini 3200
Posts: 702
Re: New Plugin NmeaConvertor

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
Dirk,
Would Nmeaconverter_pi be able to determine if an AIS message was from a ship greater than (say 12nm) and filter that data out?

Would help this guy out.
AIS targets - show only targets closer than a defined range
I don't think it matters where you do the calculations unless you have a separate CPU that runs the plug-in. Calculating the distance from ownship to each AIS message is computationally intensive and those CPU cycles have to come from somewhere.

Fabbian
__________________
fgd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2016, 03:07   #41
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,305
Re: New Plugin NmeaConvertor

Good point fabbian
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2016, 15:35   #42
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Boat: 1985 C&C 33 Mk2
Posts: 2
Re: New Plugin NmeaConvertor

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
OpenCPN Beta File Thingie rguser rgpass
https://tgp-architects.com/files/

4.2.0 WIN PI folder
nmeaconverter_pi-0.2-ov4.2-win32

Thanks Dirk
Can someone please confirm that the win .exe at this location has the fix for the 2-line limit? It still allows only 2 lines for me when downloading from this location. I need 8 lines because my old instruments (new boat to me) doesn't output any checksums and therefore VDR, OpenCPN and Dashboard doesn't recognize any of the data, even though it's visible in the NMEA Debug window in the Connections tab.
__________________
WE9V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2016, 20:11   #43
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,305
Re: New Plugin NmeaConvertor

I can build it again if there is an update that elinimates the two line limit. And update ocpn beta file. Thingje
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2016, 20:12   #44
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,305
Re: New Plugin NmeaConvertor

Ah ah dirk fixed it. Will upload tomorrow.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2016, 05:59   #45
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Boat: 1985 C&C 33 Mk2
Posts: 2
Re: New Plugin NmeaConvertor

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
I can build it again if there is an update that elinimates the two line limit. And update ocpn beta file. Thingje
Thanks rgleason for the Win rebuild (and Dirk). No more 2-line limit!
__________________

__________________
WE9V is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nmea, plug

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New IAC Fleetcode Plugin for OpenCPN CBorchardt OpenCPN 72 27-02-2016 12:42
Calculator_pi New Finished Plugin for OpenCPN SaltyPaws OpenCPN 95 26-11-2014 15:01
New Plugin Development on Linux globalkeith OpenCPN 5 03-05-2012 08:16
New History Plugin for OpenCPN boat_alexandra OpenCPN 11 04-10-2010 15:11



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:27.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.