Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > OpenCPN
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-12-2019, 13:49   #1

Need help with Raspberry Pi, Open CPN and using old instruments

I’m new to using the Raspberry Pi, Open Plotter and Open CPN, but I’ve done a ton of reading about the systems. I don’t know a thing about Linux programming, but I’ve managed to get started only using the GUI. I’m also new to wiring instruments and understanding NMEA standards.

So far I’ve got the Raspberry Pi running with Open Plotter and Open CPN installed at home while learning everything. I’ve got a GPS antenna and charts installed and working. Next I want to get instruments working. I have a (new to me) Raymarine ST 60+ wind transducer and hope to have the display soon.

I inherited some old depth and speed transducers already installed in my boat. Depth is working with a Uniden QT 206 display and I’m not sure which depth transducer is currently connected there are 2. One is an Airmar and one is unknown at this time – see pics. Speed is an old Moor knotmeter transducer and display – not working.

Here are my questions:

1) Once I get the Raymarine wind instruments working, what is the actual hardware interface that gets the signal inputted to the Raspberry Pi?