Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-02-2013, 13:04   #1
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Need help with NMEA in on Mac version (and other questions)

So I haven't looked at OpenCPN for a couple of years and just recently gave it another look. I am very impressed at how far along this has progressed and am now using it regularly on both our Mac's and PC's. It is certainly ready for the big time now - and I know that I am about the last person now to have figured that out!

I have both a Maretron N2k-USB converter and an Actisense NWG-1 N2k-0183 converter to get instrumentation and transducer data to the PC/MAC.

Everything works fine on the PC version using both converters except sending data to the autopilot. I can't seem to get it to connect to the Simrad AC42 autopilot. Using Coastal Explorer, only the Actisense converter works for autopilot control. Using OpenCPN, neither work.

Anyone have any suggestions?

On the Mac, I can't get any NMEA data at all to show up. Do I need some type of virtual comm port software or something similar? Is it an Actisense/Maretron Mac driver issue (I don't think they have Mac drivers)? The Actisense is connected to a common Prolific serial-USB converter, so I don't think it needs a special driver.

In the OpenCPN setup, I see a couple of choices for data source, but I don't know what they mean: "Network LIBGPS", "Network GPSD", "/dev/cu.serialport", etc.

Does OpenCPN draw a heading line from the boat icon showing the heading? I see the COG predictor line option, but missed if there is one for heading also.

Thanks in advance,
Mark
__________________

__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2013, 13:32   #2
Registered User
 
LeaseOnLife's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: out cruising again
Boat: Sailboat
Posts: 1,047
Re: Need help with NMEA in on Mac version (and other questions)

Quote:
Originally Posted by colemj View Post

Does OpenCPN draw a heading line from the boat icon showing the heading? I see the COG predictor line option, but missed if there is one for heading also.

Thanks in advance,
Mark

OpenCPn surely needs more MAC users, nice to have you around.

Using XP and Linux myself, I can't help you with MAC NMEA questions. Regarding the heading vector: YES!


See Setting Options | Official OpenCPN Homepage halfway down the page.

Dirk
__________________

__________________
LeaseOnLife is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2013, 13:40   #3
Do… or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 9,198
Hey Mark,


Oh no! Not the Prolific converters again! Guess it is that serial device from the choices you got? My Keyspan ports show up there as Keyspan ports after installing their Mac drivers. OpenCPN works reasonably good, the current release candidate is more stable than the last stable version...

Are you back on APRS again? I see a huge tanker as the only other maritime mobile...

ciao!
Nick.
__________________
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2013, 08:32   #4
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Re: Need help with NMEA in on Mac version (and other questions)

DOH! I got a new computer and forgot to reinstall the Prolific drivers on it!

So I now have the Mac running fine except that neither the PC or Mac will control the autopilot.

And I see the heading and COG predictors. Don't know why I didn't notice the heading predictor earlier.

Strangely, I can't seem to keep the release candidate version working for very long before it hangs. I have had to reinstall it a few times because it seems to not launch after hanging and being forced quit.

Mark
__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nmea

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 17:21.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.