Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-08-2017, 17:46   #1
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 13,530
Navigate to here - v 4.8.0

Using the right click "Navigate to here" on Win10 creator SurfPro3 has anyone noticed that this active navigation route kicks out regularly?

I have no clue what is causing this. Happened 4 to 5 times today.
__________________

rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2017, 18:40   #2
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 5,518
Re: Navigate to here - v 4.8.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
Using the right click "Navigate to here" on Win10 creator SurfPro3 has anyone noticed that this active navigation route kicks out regularly?

I have no clue what is causing this. Happened 4 to 5 times today.
Rick,

What does "kicks out" mean? I am not familiar with that phrase.
__________________

transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2017, 04:02   #3
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 13,530
Re: Navigate to here - v 4.8.0

It just stops being "Active" and the black rectangle with leg or route info disappears. The Nav to here has to be done again.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2017, 04:03   #4
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 13,530
Re: Navigate to here - v 4.8.0

It just stops being "Active" and the black rectangle with leg or route info disappears. The Nav to here has to be done again.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2017, 04:03   #5
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 13,530
Re: Navigate to here - v 4.8.0

It just stops being "Active" and the black rectangle with leg or route info disappears. The Nav to here has to be done again.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2017, 04:07   #6
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 13,530
Re: Navigate to here - v 4.8.0

I
Sorry, this one.
Navico Radar Plugin + heading problem

Will try to upload VDR tomorrow morning.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2017, 05:20   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Helsingborg
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,587
Re: Navigate to here - v 4.8.0

There is definitely some problem with "Navigate to here".
The new active route, and the connected dialog, is created as expected, but just disappears after a second, or less. This is repeatable, and happens every time I try. Using 4.8.0 on Kubuntu 16.04, 64 bits.
I normally don't use this feature, so I can't say when it last worked OK .

Thomas
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2017, 05:27   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Probably in an anchorage or a boatyard..
Boat: Ebbtide 33' steel cutter
Posts: 4,680
Re: Navigate to here - v 4.8.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by cagney View Post
There is definitely some problem with "Navigate to here".
The new active route, and the connected dialog, is created as expected, but just disappears after a second, or less. This is repeatable, and happens every time I try. Using 4.8.0 on Kubuntu 16.04, 64 bits.
I normally don't use this feature, so I can't say when it last worked OK .

Thomas
What is your waypoint arrival circle radius set to in options|ships|own ship?

If I set a goto within that distance from the current position it will disappear straight away, outside that distance it works fine.
conachair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2017, 05:34   #9
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 5,518
Re: Navigate to here - v 4.8.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by cagney View Post
There is definitely some problem with "Navigate to here".
The new active route, and the connected dialog, is created as expected, but just disappears after a second, or less. This is repeatable, and happens every time I try. Using 4.8.0 on Kubuntu 16.04, 64 bits.
I normally don't use this feature, so I can't say when it last worked OK .

Thomas
Thomas,

In the comments of routman.cpp line 505 it says this:

Code:
//      Test to see if we are moving away from the arrival point, and
//      have been moving away for 2 seconds.  
//      If so, we should declare "Arrival"
It appears that if the distance to waypoint increases slightly then route manager says we have "arrived" and it tries to advance to the next waypoint. But in a simple "Navigate to here" scenario there is no next waypoint so it just assumes it has arrived at the destination. I feel this problem may be due to some "noise" from the GPS position.

Try this "solution" and tell me if it helps or not.

Options->Ships->Own Ship in the Routes box turn on "Advance route waypoint on arrival only".
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2017, 06:19   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Helsingborg
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,587
Re: Navigate to here - v 4.8.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by conachair View Post
What is your waypoint arrival circle radius set to in options|ships|own ship?

If I set a goto within that distance from the current position it will disappear straight away, outside that distance it works fine.
Spot on! I use the standard cable arrival radius, but tested closer than that.
Otherwise no problem with this feature.
Thanks!

Thomas
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2017, 18:46   #11
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 13,530
Re: Navigate to here - v 4.8.0

Good thinking TDan. I have not tried it yet, but isn't there a way to auto turn on or use Advance waypoint on arrival only?
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2017, 16:57   #12
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 5,518
Re: Navigate to here - v 4.8.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
Good thinking TDan. I have not tried it yet, but isn't there a way to auto turn on or use Advance waypoint on arrival only?
Yes, it is in the options dialog. See my previous post in this thread.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2017, 18:42   #13
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 13,530
Re: Navigate to here - v 4.8.0

Yes, I know this setting can be changed manually.
What I mean is there a programming way to automatically use

"Advance waypoint on arrival only" (without having it checked) whenever "Navigate to here" is used!!!!

Why? because the command does not work otherwise.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2017, 03:29   #14
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 5,518
Re: Navigate to here - v 4.8.0

If you send a VDR file where it does not work I will investigate. The command works for almost everyone as far as I know.

Most sail boats should probably use a suitable arrival radius and turn on advance waypoint on arrival only in options.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2017, 04:18   #15
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 13,530
Re: Navigate to here - v 4.8.0

Ok I'll just make those changes and test it.
__________________

rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to navigate new ports? odeapt Navigation 52 27-01-2017 00:49
Nobody really needs to know how to navigate anymore, do they? Jdege Navigation 229 10-10-2016 06:17
Europe's inland waterways - how to navigate Orchidius Navigation 8 30-12-2014 01:21
Need some perspective to navigate this cat purchase from Moorings in St Maarten Zindar Multihull Sailboats 12 12-03-2014 06:33

Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:58.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.