Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-02-2015, 10:41   #1
Senior Cruiser
 
mikereed100's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Santa Barbara
Boat: 46' custom cat
Posts: 1,573
Images: 2
Navico radar plugin hardware connection

I apologize if this has been covered elsewhere, but I am having difficulty understanding how to connect the radar with my PC. The manual specifies an ethernet connection, but I cannot find an ethernet source on either my Simrad MFD or the RI10 interface. How is this connection made?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Mike

www.sailblogs.com/member/rumdoxy

Come to the dark side. We have cookies.
mikereed100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2015, 11:11   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,967
Re: Navico radar plugin hardware connection

Mike...
You shall connect the cable direct from the scanner into your PC by a RJ45 contact. You should also give the scanner power in the same cable. Then start OCPN and activate BR24Radar_pi and the correct network connection will be looked up by the plugin.
If you have doubts about wiring please see the pic from Navico installation manual.
Good luck
Håkan
(http://www.simrad-yachting.com/Root/...000760_D_w.pdf)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Cable.jpg
Views:	225
Size:	34.5 KB
ID:	98075  
__________________

__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 14:43   #3
Registered User

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Farsund, Norway
Boat: Bavaria 38 Ocean
Posts: 23
Re: Navico radar plugin hardware connection

Håkan, I have a harder one... I would like to use the radar with both OpenCPN and Northstar M121 (has RS422) via controller box.
Do you have any suggestion on how to connect - to either - run both at the same time or some kind of switch to use one at the time )

Geir in Lista Norway
__________________
la5zo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 15:52   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,967
Re: Navico radar plugin hardware connection

Geir...
I should have tried to use a normal IP network switch or the hardware switch part of a router. Connect first the Radar scanner and M121 to the switch and check if it works.
If you use a switch M121 has to have an own IP address. If M121 is able to get an address from a DHCP you can use a router set up for that. The scanner don't care, it can connect to either of. When you have a normal connection to M121 you can connect also your PC to the switch. Then the M121 will be the radar controller for range etc. If the BR24Radar_pi is activated the scanner picture will overlay your OCPN charts. You may try to click the BR24 icon to get the plugin to find the scanner. I've tested something similar using a router with DHCP.
The IP addresses are not important for the plugin function since the scanner broadcast via UDP but a switch may be squeaky.
You should not in first hand try to control the scanner from your PC so set the range in BR24Radar_pi to some manual value.
I may babble but these are my ideas. If I have got a M121 I should have tried something like this. It can either work or not, you shouldn't be able to destroy anything.
Have fun - Håkan
(Hils Lista. I visited Farsund this summer, not so far away.)
__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2015, 15:29   #5
Registered User

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Farsund, Norway
Boat: Bavaria 38 Ocean
Posts: 23
Re: Navico radar plugin hardware connection

Hi Håkan and many thanks for the elaborate reply. I also found some info in the OpenCPN manual. I still have'nt purchased the radar, so testing remains.
But as I understand the radar is started using the M121 via the RI11 box and the M121 would be the Master display/controller. OpenCPN will in this case only work as a slave display.

When the scanner is connected to the PC only It will display/controlled from OpenCPN.

Thanks for having visited Lista/Farsund. Hope to see you next time.

Geir @ S/Y Ocean Viking
__________________
la5zo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 09:14   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Re: Navico radar plugin hardware connection

hi hakan,
using a 4G radar with both a mfd (zeus2 7" b&g) and a laptop with opencpn,
can i put a passive splitter before to arrive at the r10 interface and use the second output for the laptop ? have i use the last only as a slave ?
thanks
__________________
giovanniprato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 09:54   #7
Registered User
 
NahanniV's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: On the Boat
Boat: Finnsailer 38
Posts: 1,144
Re: Navico radar plugin hardware connection

Quote:
Originally Posted by giovanniprato View Post
hi hakan,
using a 4G radar with both a mfd (zeus2 7" b&g) and a laptop with opencpn,
can i put a passive splitter before to arrive at the r10 interface and use the second output for the laptop ? have i use the last only as a slave ?
thanks
No, a passive splitter will not work. You need a hub, switch, or router.

The laptop (RADAR plugin) can be a slave or master.
__________________
NahanniV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 10:17   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Re: Navico radar plugin hardware connection

at this point, i think to use nep-2 simrad as a dedicated switch.
any other suggestion is very welcome, i'm not expert,
just started now building the system and i was lost in this problem.
thank you very much and best greetings from italy
__________________
giovanniprato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 10:44   #9
Registered User
 
NahanniV's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: On the Boat
Boat: Finnsailer 38
Posts: 1,144
Re: Navico radar plugin hardware connection

Quote:
Originally Posted by giovanniprato View Post
at this point, i think to use nep-2 simrad as a dedicated switch.
any other suggestion is very welcome, i'm not expert,
just started now building the system and i was lost in this problem.
thank you very much and best greetings from italy
Yes, that should work, you will need a Simrad 000-0127-56 cable as well to connect your laptop.

It is possible, to use a much cheaper switch, but it would not be waterproof, and you would have to make some custom cables and switch your Simrad connectors.

Cheers,
JM.
__________________

__________________
NahanniV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hardware, navico, plug, radar

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn bdbcat OpenCPN 789 02-12-2017 04:23
AIS RADAR and findit plugin icon can not display in OpenCPN Version 3.1.814 xiurong OpenCPN 1 16-08-2012 12:05
AIS Radar plugin wizard-merlin OpenCPN 1 04-08-2012 08:59
Navico BR24 Radar - Open Source protocol implementation maxxflow OpenCPN 23 30-07-2012 05:20
NMEA Connection - Furuno GP-33 to RL-9 Radar Jaden44 Marine Electronics 5 03-11-2011 18:39



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:19.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.