Cruisers Forum
 

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > OpenCPN
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-01-2019, 05:04   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: France
Boat: Beneteau First 29
Posts: 7
Multiplexer NMEA incompatible with Repeater NMEA

Hello All,
First , Thanks for this very good software. I use it for 10 years with pleasure.

I have just buy a CLipper GPS (Repeater Nmea of Nasa marine) to replace my dead cockpit GPS.
It seems that the NMEA multiplexer of opencpn doesn't work fine for this repeater.

OpenCpn send ECRMC and ECRMB to Repeater (I'am using 4.8.8 release).

The issue comes from the NMEA sentences. OpenCPN send:
ECRMB
ECRMC
ECRMC
ECRMC
ECRMB ect...

The repeater need to receive :
ECRMB
ECRMC
ECRMB
ECRMC

So, when repeater don't receive ECRMB just after ECRMC, he displays: "No RMB"

In conclusion, my repeater is OK one second then KO one second, ect...

Why OpenCPn send the same sentence few times ?


Thanks for your help.
Laurent
Cocody56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2019, 10:37   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: France
Boat: Beneteau First 29
Posts: 7
Re: Multiplexer NMEA incompatible with Repeater NMEA

Hello dev team,
I think that I have found the issue in the code.
In routeman.cpp, line 601, the comment precise : //Send all known Autopilot messages upstream.
It seems that there are 4 possibilities : RMB,RMC,APB,XTE
For each case, the code ends by : g_pMUX->SendNMEAMessage( snt.Sentence );
so, it looks like 4 sentences are sent everytime.
In my case, the first one is RMB, the second one RMC. I don't want to send APB and XTE, but the snt variable is always seted by RMC for the third and fourth.

What do you think of that?

Regards
laurent
Cocody56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2019, 12:03   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Helsingborg
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,891
Re: Multiplexer NMEA incompatible with Repeater NMEA

Please read
https://opencpn.org/wiki/dokuwiki/do...s_nasa_clipper
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2019, 12:23   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: France
Boat: Beneteau First 29
Posts: 7
Re: Multiplexer NMEA incompatible with Repeater NMEA

Quote:
Originally Posted by cagney View Post
Thanks Cagney.
I known this topic. But for me, fix a software bug by an hardware solution (Arduino) is not the good solution.
Futhermore, I beleive that most of bugs related in this topic are already fixed in the last release.

We are not far to be able to use Nasa-Marine Clipper GPS Repeater with OpenCpn.

Regards
Laurent
Cocody56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2019, 13:27   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 4,141
Re: Multiplexer NMEA incompatible with Repeater NMEA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cocody56 View Post
Hello dev team,
............
In my case, the first one is RMB, the second one RMC. I don't want to send APB and XTE, but the snt variable is always seted by RMC for the third and fourth.
laurent

You could try to filter APB and XTE if you don't wont them to be sent.
In Options->Connections edit the connections outgoing sentences to specify what messages to send, like ECRMB, ECRMC
Hakan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2019, 17:05   #6
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7,396
Re: Multiplexer NMEA incompatible with Repeater NMEA

cocody56...


Just FYI, the OpenCPN dev team considers the Nasa Clipper GPS Repeater device to be broken in many ways. Workarounds for that specific device are low priority, just now.


Feel free to pass this opinion on to Nasa.


Thanks
Dave
bdbcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2019, 23:32   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: France
Boat: Beneteau First 29
Posts: 7
Re: Multiplexer NMEA incompatible with Repeater NMEA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hakan View Post
You could try to filter APB and XTE if you don't wont them to be sent.
In Options->Connections edit the connections outgoing sentences to specify what messages to send, like ECRMB, ECRMC
Hello Hakan,

Yes, sure, I am using "output filtering".
OpenCpn send only ECRMC and ECRMB, this filtering is correct.

The issue comes from the x4 sentences. OpenCPn sends eachtime 4 sentences.

If you filter in order to send only ECRMB. OpenCPN will send 4 sentences of ECRMB by cycle.
If you filter in order to send only ECRMB and ECRMC. OpenCPN will send 4 sentences by cycle as bellow:
ECRMB
ECRMC
ECRMC
ECRMC.

Whatever you select, 4 sentences will be sent.

Regards
Laurent
Cocody56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2019, 23:45   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: France
Boat: Beneteau First 29
Posts: 7
Re: Multiplexer NMEA incompatible with Repeater NMEA

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
cocody56...


Just FYI, the OpenCPN dev team considers the Nasa Clipper GPS Repeater device to be broken in many ways. Workarounds for that specific device are low priority, just now.


Feel free to pass this opinion on to Nasa.


Thanks
Dave
Hello bdbcat,
Ok, I understand that it is not a priority for the dev team.
I am going to try to fix this bug myself.
Could you just confirm me that my analyse is good please ?
I mean in routeman.cpp, g_pMUX->SendNMEAMessage( snt.Sentence ); is running 4 times without any conditions.

Thanks in advance
Regards
Laurent
Cocody56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2019, 00:31   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 4,141
Re: Multiplexer NMEA incompatible with Repeater NMEA

Laurent
I'd a check on my Win10 by Wireshark: (NMEA Debug window is not always reliable. Sometimes sentences are duplicated. O has more prioritized work than print Debug perfect?)
While in navigation mode and filter to send only ECRMB and ECRMC:
Every second four sentences are sent, correct.
The order is though:
ECRMB
ECRMC
ECRMB
ECRMC
3 msec between each. One full second to next sequence.
So based on your post above this would be what you asked for?
There's a but: To be able to use Wireshark I used UDP IP and not a serial port. It could be a serial buffer may slightly change the time sequence?

Håkan
Hakan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2019, 01:49   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: France
Boat: Beneteau First 29
Posts: 7
Re: Multiplexer NMEA incompatible with Repeater NMEA

Hakan,
I have just tested with UDP connection.
I don't see any differences...
I think that you should trust NMEA debug windows.
Thanks for your help
Regards
Laurent
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	NmeaUDP.jpg
Views:	99
Size:	162.4 KB
ID:	184233  
Cocody56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2019, 10:28   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Boat: Whiting 29
Posts: 23
Re: Multiplexer NMEA incompatible with Repeater NMEA

Hi Laurent

I am successfully using the NASA GPS Repeater with OpenCPN.

It took a while to figure out but it works perfectly for me now.

See this thread for more info: http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...ed-202860.html
gchead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2019, 00:08   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: France
Boat: Beneteau First 29
Posts: 7
Re: Multiplexer NMEA incompatible with Repeater NMEA

Quote:
Originally Posted by gchead View Post
Hi Laurent

I am successfully using the NASA GPS Repeater with OpenCPN.

It took a while to figure out but it works perfectly for me now.

See this thread for more info: http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...ed-202860.html
Hi gchead,

It sounds good !

But, I have one questions:

The Repeater NMEA of Nasa Marine can be used with and without Route activated in Opencpn.
Does it work without Route activated in your solution ? I mean , in order to display SOG and COG only.

I read that you are using OpenCPn 4.99.0 so I have to install it in order to test again.

Regards
Laurent
Cocody56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2019, 01:20   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Boat: Whiting 29
Posts: 23
Re: Multiplexer NMEA incompatible with Repeater NMEA

It only works fully when Route is Activated.

Yes, you need to install patched OpenCPn 4.99.0 until the new version is released.
gchead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nmea


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLD] Shipmodul Miniplex-42BT NMEA-0183 multiplexer with Bluetooth s/v Jedi General Classifieds (no boats) 6 27-09-2016 19:42
Sea Talk cable to nmea/seatalk multiplexer affe304 Marine Electronics 4 01-01-2015 16:37
3.2.0 incompatible with XPort Virtual Serial Port RhythmDoctor OpenCPN 8 02-05-2013 07:57
For Sale: Raymarine NMEA-0183 Multiplexer NahanniV Classifieds Archive 11 27-03-2013 14:22
For Sale: NMEA-0183 Raymarine Multiplexer new $60 Ram Classifieds Archive 0 16-12-2009 08:59

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:50.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.