Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-12-2013, 10:07   #31
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 571
Re: Multiple Instances doesn't work in 3.2.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by RhythmDoctor View Post
... Using "127.0.x.x" instead of "localhost" immediately fixed that. But I will have to disconnect my computers from my home network and see if UDP still works with the various IP addresses, since I have no local WiFi network on the boat. Alternatively, I could set up an ad hoc network from my netbook, or consider a ZyXEL MWR102, which has relatively low power consumption.
I turned off the WiFi on my netbook and tried the UDP sharing, and it would not work. If I turn on the WiFi, it starts to work as soon as the DHCP server assigns an IP address. And then when I turn off WiFi again, the NMEA stream on UDP immediately stops. It's like the machine loses its IP address assignment as soon as it leaves the network.

I ran the same test on wired ethernet and got the same results. As soon as I disconnect the ethernet cable, the UDP communication stops.

So I tried assigning a static IP address to the wired ethernet port, and got the same results. Even if static IP is assigned, the UDP appears to need a running network to function.

I just realized that these tests were done on 3.2.2. I will have to re-run the same tests on 3.3.1117 to see if there is a different result.
__________________

__________________
RhythmDoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2013, 10:45   #32
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,968
Re: Multiple Instances doesn't work in 3.2.2

RD...
Strange.. I've run this on OCPN varying versions from 3.1.xx, don't remember now. And without any assigned network, e.g. no wire and wire-less deactivated. As said O versions prior to today's betas was sometimes a bit tricky to get going but now I've no problem.
For the very moment I've a Win7 and OCPN 3.1117 running beside me w/o any net connected and I tested with and without an assigned IP address to the wired network card. I've also checked with ipconfig and the IP-address list is empty.
I'm using the 192.168.x.x/11010 on master/sender and only port /11010 assigned to the portable.
__________________

__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2013, 06:23   #33
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,968
Re: Multiple Instances doesn't work in 3.2.2

RD..
I've tried to stress my local host connection to fail to see if I can be of any supports.
A "silly" question:
Did you checked the master's NMEA window so there really are blue lines going out?

While testing different filter settings I succeed to eventually fool the filter logic so everything was filtered and no lines out. My intentions was to simplify the filter protecting local host echoing of data. And think I found another way. Instead of filter out incoming data by a massive "Ignore commands" I put a never used single "Commands to receive". I used the "XYZ". See my screen shoot. (Though in Swedish I hope you can recognise what's used?)
Håkan
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	A_filter.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	101.9 KB
ID:	72888  
__________________

__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:05.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.