Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-02-2019, 07:26   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 2
Move OpenCPN waypoint programatically

I am looking for a way to move an active waypoint through a command from an external program. Have not yet found a way to do this. Hope somebody can help.

Background: I have a kayak drone with electric engine that uses output data from OpenCPN to navigate towards the active waypoint. Now we have some new equipment that records the position of a tagged fish. I need the drone to follow on top of the fish as it swims along.

Grateful for any tips or ideas. atlet
__________________

atlet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2019, 09:01   #2
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 566
Re: Move OpenCPN waypoint programatically

Atlet ...

What is the format of the position data from the fish? And how are you receiving it?

Mike
__________________

Rasbats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2019, 09:06   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,934
Re: Move OpenCPN waypoint programatically

A little python code, completely outside of OpenCPN, using https://github.com/Knio/pynmea2 and generating APB sentences as you please (eg. to prevent draining your batteries quickly by smoothing the route to travel, eliminate steering if position is "good enough" etc.)?
For reference you can sure use https://github.com/OpenCPN/OpenCPN/b....cpp#L624-L799

Pavel
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2019, 11:45   #4
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 12,209
Re: Move OpenCPN waypoint programatically

Mike, wouldn't Shipdriver_pi be able to help in some way?
Perhaps if it could accept an input nmea stream for the fish location similar to VDR_pi player?


Perhaps Pavel's suggestion is easier.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2019, 01:47   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 2
Re: Move OpenCPN waypoint programatically

Thanks Pavel and others!
Generating an APB and also RMB sentences from the drone and fish positions would solve the problem. In normal operation (no fish chasing) when a route is set up in OpenCPN, it is these output telegrams from OpenCPN that is used to control the steering of the kayak towards the active waypoint. I am not familiar with python but will study the github link and if needed get some assistance from a collegue.
Atle
atlet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cal, enc, opencpn

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Standard Waypoint Icons For OpenCPN - Input Requested reflectionsv37 OpenCPN 160 25-01-2019 01:38
OpenCPN 4.2 "Use nearby waypoint?" makes program unresponsive in Windows 10 jfwg OpenCPN 3 24-04-2016 02:46
Waypoint in OpenCPN SV Demeter OpenCPN 4 23-12-2012 09:19
Problem Marks or Waypoint behavior - Symbols - OpenCPN 3.0.2 , 3.1.814 beta exe, 3.1. rgleason OpenCPN 20 19-09-2012 10:14
Location of line isolator - to move or not to move gchabs Marine Electronics 2 01-08-2012 09:27



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:40.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.