Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > OpenCPN
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-03-2019, 07:48   #1

Boat: Catalina 320 Mk II
Moitessier HAT - Configuration of GPS

I just got my Moitessier HAT and I simply cannot get the GPS to work. To be honest I'm an RPi newbie and there is all sorts of stuff I do not understand. But it seems that it is an issue with GPSD. By the way I'm using an RPi 3B+ and OpenPlotter 1.2.x. I've confirmed that everyhting is working correctly, except for the GPS.

I followed the instructions at https://docs.sailoog.com/openplotter...-ais-reception

If there are more recent instructions I would really appreciate you pointing me to them.

In OP if I assign the MOT to GPSD on the Serial tab, I get absolutely nothing out when I run the kplex diagnostic for GPSD. The screen is just blank.
If I assign the MOT to KPlex, with baud 4800, on the Serial tab, I get messages when I run the kplex diagnostic for MOT, but the GLL and GGA messages do not contain any lat/lot info. The lat/lon related messages are below.

Device Type Interval Data
GP GLL 1.0 ,,,,,080724.085,V,N*
GP GGA 1.0 ,080724.085,,,,,0,0,,,M,,M,,*

The heel, yaw, temp, and pressure sensors are working.

When I run
cat /dev/moitessier.tty
cat /dev/moitessier.spi
I get output, but again the GPS related messages do not contain any lan/lon info.

Any suggestions? Any pointers to configuration changes I need to make on Raspbian?