Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-11-2016, 09:57   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Boat: Gemini 3200
Posts: 805
MMSI Properties

Options>Ships>MMSI Properties brings up an empty list. The "New" button lets you add an MMSI to the list along with information about how you want to track and display the vessel with that MMSI. But I don't see any way to enter the MMSI except by typing it. I can't seem to copy the MMSI from the AIS target list or from an AIS target query. Wouldn't it be useful to pick out an AIS target from the display and tell OpenCPN "I want to follow this vessel" without having to hand type a 9-digit number?

Fabbian
__________________

fgd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2016, 09:50   #2
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 13,530
Re: MMSI Properties

Fabbian Normally list is populated as you use the AIS and is kept for some period of time. See manual.
__________________

rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2016, 09:52   #3
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 13,530
Re: MMSI Properties

I think your suggestions are good for the Tracker feature requests.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2016, 11:16   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Boat: Gemini 3200
Posts: 805
Re: MMSI Properties

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
Fabbian Normally list is populated as you use the AIS and is kept for some period of time. See manual.
I'm not talking about the AIS Target List, which is populated automatically as AIS messages are received. I'm talking about the MMSI Properties list. I haven't found much about it in the manual.

Fabbian
fgd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2016, 00:23   #5
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,648
Re: MMSI Properties

I have an AIS (VHF AIS) receiver and an AIS (EM Track B100) transceiver.
The AIS information is sent to the PC via the VHF. Because of this, I turn into an AIS target since the VHF receives the messages sent by B100.

I use this OpenCPN tool to put my own MMSI. And after that, I can more easily decided what needs to be done with OpenCPN. This allows me not to be "annoyed" by displaying my own target.
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2016, 03:22   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Boat: Gemini 3200
Posts: 805
Re: MMSI Properties

I understand, but the question is whether there is a way to copy the MMSI from a vessel on the screen and paste it into the appropriate field to add that vessel to the MMSI Properties list. So far it appears to me one has to write down the MMSI, open the MMSI Properties list, and then hand type the MMSI. I can't copy the MMSI from the AIS Target List or from the information brought up by Target Query.

Fabbian
fgd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2016, 05:38   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kalamata, Greece
Boat: Amel Sharki
Posts: 1,997
Re: MMSI Properties

You can't copy a MMSI number from the AIS-Target-List but you can paste a MMSI number into the MMSI-Properties-list once a number is in the clipboard of your computer. So a function to copy only the MMSI number to clipboard from a high-lighted line of the AIS-Target-List is needed.
Such a function might be useful also when you want to call a target by VHF and you have a AIS-VHF connected to OpenCPN.

Gerhard
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2016, 11:25   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 2,566
Re: MMSI Properties

Gerhard..
Good suggestion. A button "copy mmsi to clipboard", maybe?
Fabbian's issue is obvious and I've also used the pen many times, instead of trusting my (bad)memory.
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2016, 11:41   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Pensacola Florida
Boat: 1984 Moody 27
Posts: 184
Re: MMSI Properties

Have you tried to highlight and use control C to copy and Control P to paste it into the other form?
Seeking Solace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2016, 16:39   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Boat: Gemini 3200
Posts: 805
Re: MMSI Properties

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seeking Solace View Post
Have you tried to highlight and use control C to copy and Control P to paste it into the other form?
Yes, I have. The Target Query and AIS Target List do not permit you to highlight the MMSI (or any other data) for copying to the clipboard.

Thanks for all the responses. I just wanted to be sure I hadn't overlooked anything before writing up a feature request. It seems pretty clear that there is no way to copy an MMSI to the clipboard.

Fabbian
fgd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2016, 03:09   #11
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 685
Re: MMSI Properties

I have opencpn connected to AIS receiver at home to spot local ship traffic and is often searching for mmsi numbers to find more info about ships passing by.

If you have Internet connection, It could be a nice feature to be able to right click the AIS target / or target in target list and "search google for (mmsi number)"

This feature can b very useful in many situations.




Quote:
Originally Posted by fgd3 View Post
Yes, I have. The Target Query and AIS Target List do not permit you to highlight the MMSI (or any other data) for copying to the clipboard.

Thanks for all the responses. I just wanted to be sure I hadn't overlooked anything before writing up a feature request. It seems pretty clear that there is no way to copy an MMSI to the clipboard.

Fabbian
petter5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2016, 05:58   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kalamata, Greece
Boat: Amel Sharki
Posts: 1,997
Re: MMSI Properties

Quote:
Originally Posted by petter5 View Post
If you have Internet connection, It could be a nice feature to be able to right click the AIS target / or target in target list and "search google for (mmsi number)"
However works only with Internet connection. Very rare boats have this on sea...

Gerhard
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2016, 11:56   #13
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 685
Re: MMSI Properties

No, not really. Along the Norwegian coast, you will have broadband 4G or 450 mhz "ICE" net broadband up to 150 nautical miles offshore along the coastline.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarCode View Post
However works only with Internet connection. Very rare boats have this on sea...

Gerhard
petter5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2016, 12:52   #14
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 13,530
Re: MMSI Properties

Fabbian for documentation look here down under
Mmsi properties and below
If something isnt clear, let us know please.
http://opencpn.org/ocpn/toolbar_opti...tting#mmsiprop
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2016, 21:30   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Boat: Gemini 3200
Posts: 805
Re: MMSI Properties

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
Fabbian for documentation look here down under
Mmsi properties and below
If something isnt clear, let us know please.
Options Setting | Official OpenCPN Homepage
It's clear enough except it doesn't explicitly say the MMSI Properties list is populated manually by the user adding individual MMSIs. At some point it might be a good idea to explain the MMSI Properties list is a list of users' preferenced for handling specific ships in different ways.

The documentation makes no mention of obtaining MMSIs from vessels currently shown on the screen by copying them to the clipboard. If the program is changed so the MMSI in the AIS Target List or Target Query can be highlighted and copied to the clipboard it would be good to mention that.

Fabbian
__________________

fgd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rope

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Trade: Riviera Maya properties (me) Catamaran (you) KCee Classifieds Archive 3 05-10-2012 04:51
New Waypoint Properties Implementation nohal OpenCPN 206 14-07-2012 12:38
Mark Properties with Links rgleason OpenCPN 2 05-07-2012 20:22
Route Properties won't take departure time ASappenfield OpenCPN 1 07-06-2012 22:55
Route Properties, Missing Functions James Baines OpenCPN 13 13-07-2011 04:31

Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:44.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.