Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-11-2014, 18:32   #1
Registered User
 
Sharki127's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Panama
Boat: Amel Sharki 41'
Posts: 40
Mix 2 tablet, no Own Ship iimage

Greetings,

I just started up a new Lenovo Mix 2 tablet. Successfully loaded Open Cpn, charts, and the gps is working, having also loaded Geo Locations TCP. However, I am not displaying the Own Ship image. My gps location is correct, however, the Own Ship image is in the default location on east coast of the U.S.

Thanks for any tips.

Cheers, Roger
__________________

__________________
Sharki127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 19:18   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 571
Re: Mix 2 tablet, no Own Ship iimage

Did you create a TCP port in OpenCPN as indicated in petrsimon's instructions?
__________________

__________________
RhythmDoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 21:42   #3
Registered User
 
Sharki127's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Panama
Boat: Amel Sharki 41'
Posts: 40
Re: Mix 2 tablet, no Own Ship iimage

enable = check mark
type = net
data port = 127.0.1:15555
priority = 0
parameters = TCP
output = no
filters = in none, out none

The above is how I added a Connection under Options. This is how I understood the instructions.

Roger
__________________
Sharki127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 21:52   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,020
Re: Mix 2 tablet, no Own Ship iimage

Roger...
Open the NMEA debug window to see whether the messages are coming. If not, check the log.

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 23:39   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Re: Mix 2 tablet, no Own Ship iimage

Are you using GeolocationTCP-r5.exe or the more recent -r6 variant, for me that seems to be the end of my frustrations.
__________________
hughdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 00:09   #6
Registered User
 
chwar's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1
Re: Mix 2 tablet, no Own Ship iimage

Sharki127: looks like your data port is wrong. I think you want
data port = 127.0.0.1:15555
not
data port = 127.0.1:15555
__________________
chwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 08:47   #7
Registered User
 
Sharki127's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Panama
Boat: Amel Sharki 41'
Posts: 40
Re: Mix 2 tablet, no Own Ship iimage

chwar; Yes, you are correct. I mis spelled in my post but did the imput correctly.


hughdale; Thanks. I removed the r5 version and installed the r6. Where do you place this file? In downloads? I am also becoming familiar with Win8 while doing this upgrade.
__________________
Sharki127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 14:26   #8
Registered User
 
Sharki127's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Panama
Boat: Amel Sharki 41'
Posts: 40
Re: Mix 2 tablet, no Own Ship iimage

Installed the r6 version of Geolocation and still no Ship's Icon. The gps is spot on for my location. This is only my second day using Win 8, although I haven't recognized any problems with Win 8 on the tablet. I might add, OpenCpn runs beautifully on the Lenovo Mix 2 tablet, really nice. Just need to sort this missing Own Ship problem.

Thanks for any tips.
__________________
Sharki127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 14:45   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 571
Re: Mix 2 tablet, no Own Ship iimage

Quote:
Originally Posted by nohal View Post
Roger...
Open the NMEA debug window to see whether the messages are coming...

Pavel
You still need to do this.

It's possible that your firewall software is blocking the network connection. You should temporarily disable any firewall software to see if that lets the data get through. If so, you'll need to tweak your firewall settings.
__________________
RhythmDoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 16:39   #10
Registered User
 
Sharki127's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Panama
Boat: Amel Sharki 41'
Posts: 40
Re: Mix 2 tablet, no Own Ship iimage

No messages passing through the NMEA debug window.
__________________
Sharki127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 16:50   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,020
Re: Mix 2 tablet, no Own Ship iimage

Then your connection configuration is wrong.
Run cmd.exe and then
Code:
ipconfig /all
in it.
Set the ip address to what you find there.

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 17:07   #12
Registered User
 
Sharki127's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Panama
Boat: Amel Sharki 41'
Posts: 40
Re: Mix 2 tablet, no Own Ship iimage

Do I run cmd.exe in open cpn or in windows? I need a hint on how to start.
__________________
Sharki127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 17:08   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,020
Re: Mix 2 tablet, no Own Ship iimage

In Windows. Sorry, I have never used W8 yet. Until W7, there was a Start button, and a Run... option in the menu.
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 17:12   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,020
Re: Mix 2 tablet, no Own Ship iimage

And just to make sure. You have that geolocationtcp-r6.exe tool running, right? Not just saved somewhere on your machine.
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 17:29   #15
Registered User
 
Sharki127's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Panama
Boat: Amel Sharki 41'
Posts: 40
Re: Mix 2 tablet, no Own Ship iimage

windows ip configuration

host name ....roger
primary suffix...blank, nothing in this space
node type....hybrid
ip routing enabled. .. no
wins proxy enabled ...no

I am anchored out using a dongle with a sim card on my notebook computer. The win8 tablet is not connected to the internet.

How do I set up the ip address??
__________________

__________________
Sharki127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new android tablet! Nexus s 7 in tablet boatsail Marine Electronics 16 01-10-2013 10:53
Realistically, how much will it cost to own and run my own sailboat? willumsen Boat Ownership & Making a Living 5 06-06-2013 17:27
Own Ship Icon Heading gdavids OpenCPN 2 18-05-2013 17:40
OpenCPN .xpm from .jpg Own Ship Icon nixontankgirl OpenCPN 51 12-11-2011 12:03



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:19.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.