Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-11-2013, 13:37   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Belgium
Boat: One-off Baron von Hoevell, 29ft steel classic
Posts: 334
Mediatek MT3329 USB GPS-receiver

Hi everybody,

I'm working on getting my boat-laptop setup with all navigational software. For this I bought a Mediatek MT3329 GPS receiver, and even though OpenCPN seems to be working fine with all the charts, I can't get the bloody GPS receiver to work... Mediatek does not seem to supply drivers for the thing on their website, and the guide written by OpenCPN is for one specific GPS receiver, so that won't help me either.

Has anybody got any experience with this particular receiver?
__________________

__________________
Orchidius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2013, 13:58   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,016
Re: Mediatek MT3329 USB GPS-receiver

Orchidius...
There is some driver for this unit at GPS Drivers and Software - Downloads : ftech Radio Frequency System Corporation
The instructions in the manual are not specific to any particular receiver, once you have it working in the OS...

Pavel
__________________

__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2013, 12:50   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Belgium
Boat: One-off Baron von Hoevell, 29ft steel classic
Posts: 334
Re: Mediatek MT3329 USB GPS-receiver

Got the driver working, thanks for that! However, I can't set the baudrate to anything else in the device manager... It's set to 9600 standard, and whenever I set it to 4800 it just pops back to 9600 afterwards.

Any clues?
__________________
Orchidius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2013, 02:10   #4
Registered User
 
yachtvalhalla's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philippines
Boat: Fuji 32 Ketch
Posts: 553
Re: Mediatek MT3329 USB GPS-receiver

Quote:
Originally Posted by Orchidius View Post
Got the driver working, thanks for that! However, I can't set the baudrate to anything else in the device manager... It's set to 9600 standard, and whenever I set it to 4800 it just pops back to 9600 afterwards.

Any clues?
Don't worry about what the Device Manager says. Just make sure you have the correct settings in the OpenCPN Connections page.

Terry
__________________
VALHALLA's Mooring Page
yachtvalhalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gps

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:51.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.