Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-07-2012, 16:09   #1
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,382
Mark Properties with Links

Thank you for the useful links in "Mark Properties". I've used them to create links to NOAA Tide Predictions (Current and Tide) for our area, and it will be much easier to check our entrance for depth for planning purposes.

Attached is a word file with some images. I tried enabling the print option (most programs have File/Print, from which I can select a ScanPDF driver and make a PDF of the OpenCPN screen) but with Mark Properties open there is some modal problem which does not allow me to do this.

I think it would be helpful if we could print the screen with dialogue boxes open, for debug and communication purposes.

At first I thought the Mark with the four links to NOAA was corrupted somehow, but I found that by hovering over the mark, being patient, I could then eventually right click and the "Mark/Waypoint Properties" selection appeared in the dialogue. Previous impatient, fast right clicks, brought up a different dialogue without the "Mark/Waypoint Properties" because the program had not enough time to find the mark I guess.

Is there a way to have the program search a wider area? or perhaps search again for a mark? Or does the program have to know, by positive left click (or possibly a better right click) on the mark that a mark does exist?

I'd like to say that the link feature is very useful. In fact I could download the NOAA tables to a PDF for the entire season and simple link to that locally to be independent of Wifi or Internet. --Great features.
Attached Files
File Type: doc Opencpn Mark-Links.doc (287.5 KB, 60 views)
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 17:30   #2
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Re: Mark Properties with Links

rgleason...for screengrabs,in Windows, I usually use the "PrntScrn" on the keyboard and then open up any png,jpg,etc picture in my default picture app (Irfanview, XnView,FastStone etc)and choose "Paste" or CTRL+V

The whole screen you want including all dialogues open, should appear then as a picture to save or edit first, then save...again as a png, jpg ...that will likely upload fine.
Or, convert it to a pdf there, if you want to try that.

Demo:
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard01.png
Views:	73
Size:	76.2 KB
ID:	43052
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 21:22   #3
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,382
Re: Mark Properties with Links

Thanks, why didn't I think of that? jpg or png is more useful because it can be pasted in line in the forum.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:01.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.