Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-01-2011, 10:37   #31
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Thomas..

The .zip files downloaded only contained ONE item and I can find no 'Start' - 'Install' or 'Setup' anywhere in the directories. Therefore,I just unpacked and placed the files in a new directory under D:PROGRAM FILES\------ Please explain...

Tore
__________________

__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 11:16   #32
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,247
Quote:
Originally Posted by sinbad7 View Post
Thomas..

The .zip files downloaded only contained ONE item and I can find no 'Start' - 'Install' or 'Setup' anywhere in the directories. Therefore,I just unpacked and placed the files in a new directory under D:PROGRAM FILES\------ Please explain...

Tore
Check again! The link I gave in #8 leads to, for example this http://rubyforge.org/frs/download.ph...1.9.2-p136.exe download, which happy seagull used. Looks like a win installer to me.
Good Luck!
Thomas
__________________

__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 11:50   #33
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Thomas.
Re-downloaded,this time from the main Ruby website which earlier was not available. (they even mention this fact on their page) I had to dowload from another source as a .zip file with no install facilities included. I am now waiting to try it out after a system re-boot. Thanks.
Tore
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 12:08   #34
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Thomas..

As you see from the attached,your MAP2KAP is not responding and no .kap file is created in the MAP2KAP directory.

Your prog. now seems to find Ruby but no .kap

Tore
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_02 Jan. 05 17.04.jpg
Views:	147
Size:	72.6 KB
ID:	22574  
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 13:15   #35
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Thomas..

Made another effort including the VAN.map file but still no results..?

Quote:
map2kap_0.1.6w.rb VAN.map VAN.jpg 30000 METERS MSL
Tore
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_04 Jan. 05 18.11.jpg
Views:	140
Size:	71.9 KB
ID:	22579  
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 15:36   #36
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,247
I can't see any logic in that. Basically the program refuses to recognize the command line arguments, especially the first one.
I cannot repeat that on an XP, and I have tried.....
I suggest that you follow the golden windows rule for error-fixing:
Quote:
When in doubt restart!


Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 16:10   #37
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Thomas..

Neither can I..BUT, this is what you suggested in your earlier postings.

I tried at first using map2kap_0.1.6w.rb VAN.jpg 30000 METERS MSL as you suggested,and when it did not work,reverted to your original,earlier method:
map2kap_0.1.6w.rb VAN.map VAN.jpg 30000 METERS MSL

Not sure what you mean by 'especially the first one',map2kap_0.1.6w.rb this is the command line you suggested in your pevious posting.

I have been so in doubt I have re started over over again....

Tore
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 17:15   #38
Obsfucator, Second Class
 
dacust's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southeast USA.
Boat: 1982 Sea Ray SRV360
Posts: 1,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by sinbad7 View Post

...
I tried at first using map2kap_0.1.6w.rb VAN.jpg 30000 METERS MSL as you suggested,and when it did not work,reverted to your original,earlier method:
map2kap_0.1.6w.rb VAN.map VAN.jpg 30000 METERS MSL

Not sure what you mean by 'especially the first one',map2kap_0.1.6w.rb this is the command line you suggested in your pevious posting.

I have been so in doubt I have re started over over again....

Tore
Let me try to explain another way:

When you type:
map2kap_0.1.6w.rb VAN.jpg 30000 METERS MSL

The script first looks to make sure you passed a file name (that would be "VAN.jpg") It doesn't even see that those characters are on the command line. It thinks you just typed:
map2kap_0.1.6w.rb

It's not that it can't find the jpg on disk, but that it doesn't even see the characters you typed.

It IS most definitely starting the script, though, because it is the script that displays all that "usage" information after you press enter. Looking at the script, the ONLY way that usage information should be displayed is if you only typed the program name by itself with no parameters following.

SO: It sounds like either a problem in the Ruby command processor or a problem with your computer.

try typing
map2kap_0.1.6w.rb x
And see what you get. You should get an error. You might just get the same usage verbiage.
-dan
dacust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 17:34   #39
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Well, it certainly does not run in the Vista environment for sure.
I've had two Ruby versions installed,one after the other,and my laptop is running all sorts of software more complicated than this without problems.
We shall just have to leave it at that and I thank you for your efforts.

Tore
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 18:18   #40
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Thomas..

Read this blog about difficulties with Ruby in Vista...


Sorry.. need magnifying glass.. trying to send it another way...

Tore

Quote:
Welcome to Q&A for professional and enthusiast programmers.

I installed Ruby and Ruby on Rails yesterday on Vista 32bit using the directions on this site: http://rubyonrails.org/down
so I downloaded the installer, then Gems, then I downloaded rails with Gems.
now I can't use the Gem or Ruby commands in the command line... so I assume there's something wrong with the environment variables, but I have no idea how to set them up in Vista or what to put. Can anyone
help me with this?
Quote:
I have installed rubyinstaller-1.9.2-p136.exe in d:\PROGRAM FILES\rUBY192\bin
When I try executing a ruby program.rb ,only the programs user instructions are shown,no matter what else I put in the command line.
I am running on Vista 32 and I have checked that the PATH is correct.
I am running a great number of different programs without any problems.
Is this version of Ruby Vista compatible?
Thanks..
Tore
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ruby on Vista .jpg
Views:	130
Size:	285.9 KB
ID:	22588  
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 02:59   #41
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Monastir, Tunisia
Boat: Amel Sharki
Posts: 1,774
Tore,

First:
Vista was a Beta version for the later Windows 7. There have been millions of beta testers like you until they release Windows 7. So delete Vista und buy Windows 7.
If you do not want to get bothered by most of the internet criminals take another operating system however. There are several free Linux operating systems which are safer against criminals and there is no need to slow down your computer with protection software then.

Second:
If you ever want to leave the Click-and-Drop desktop interface and want to work with the terminal GUI please take some computer lessons first. Otherwise you will have a good chance to destroy any operating system especially when you work with administrator rights. I guess this forum is not the right place for basic computer lessons. You will certainly find someone teaching you the basics. These are equal to every operating system.

Gerhard
__________________
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 03:18   #42
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,247
Lovely problem .....thanks Redmond

This guy Arghh Vista! File Associations break command line arguments | Winston Lawrence , seems to have exactly your problem.
If what he say about calling the interpreter directly works, try this
Quote:
ruby map2kap_0.1.6w.rb VAN.jpg 30000 METERS MSL
That is put "ruby" in front of map2kap on the command line.

Warning: Only dig into the register I you know what you're doing.
The register value on XP looks exactly as the one recommended.

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 04:50   #43
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
CarCode..

If you have no better advice I'd not show your arrogance in this way,it's too teutonic!
I have delt with computers since IBM first introduced the PC and on thing YOU obviously have not fathomed is that you learn something new every day. Cocky know it alls scares the hell out of me!

Check the websites and contents created and maintained by me:
Tore
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 06:20   #44
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Thomas... #42

Tried that with a different result but alas still not working.
See attachment.

Somewhat apprehensive about fiddling with the registers..

Thanks
Tore
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Rubytest.jpg
Views:	145
Size:	102.9 KB
ID:	22598  
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 06:28   #45
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Thomas & CarCode...

Thanks Thomas for the link about the known Ruby-Vista incompatabilty.
I repeat it here for all to notice.

Quote:
Arghh Vista!
08
Mar

I just spent three hours last night debugging a Ruby program only to figure out that the problem is a bug in Vista. I was trying to pass a command line argument to a program that just wasn’t working. I assumed that I was trying to read the arguments incorrectly but it turned out that Vista just wasn’t passing the arguments to the program.

Failing Vista Ruby File Association: testruby.rb value1 value2 This fails as the command line arguments value1 and value2 are never passed to the program testruby.rb (or just testruby).

Working Vista File Association: ruby testruby.rb value1 value2 Calling the ruby onterpreter directly worked showing that it was the Vista File Association manager causing the problem.

Known problem – not so quick a fix A quick Google search shows that this is a known Vista problem with pretty much everything that uses file associations and arguments. The fix, after some trial and error, was to change the registry keys. The fixes found via Google only worked after I started regedit and then did a search for ‘ruby.exe’ – the location of ‘ruby.exe’ in the HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Applications\ruby\ entry may be new with Ruby 1.9.1.
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Applications\ruby\shell\open\com mand\default contains the value “C:\Ruby19\bin\ruby.exe” “%1″change this to “C:\Ruby19\bin\ruby.exe” “%1″ %*
After about another hour of trial and error, the above change is the only one that seems to work – other recommendations to change HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\rbfile\shell\edit\command\defaul t and HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\rbfile\shell\open\command\defaul t did not work (with Ruby 1.9.1).
This is as far as I got searching the register for ruby.exe which look very different.

Tore
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_02 Jan. 06 11.53.jpg
Views:	117
Size:	86.3 KB
ID:	22599  
__________________

__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Portable OpenCPN zemaria OpenCPN 12 05-07-2010 05:34
I Have a Few Questions Regarding OpenCPN Skua OpenCPN 1 03-06-2010 23:24
OpenCPN bdbcat OpenCPN 1343 19-09-2009 16:59
OziExplorer phiggins Navigation 2 27-06-2009 14:43



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:08.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.