Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-12-2014, 11:35   #1
Marine Service Provider
 
AnchorageGuy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wherever the boat is!
Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Posts: 4,618
Lost Depths

I have an older Raymarine ST40 depth sounder and until recently was getting my depth readings via a SeaTalk to NMEA converter by Raymarine and a Serial to USB converter to my laptop. All was working well for almost 2 years. Suddenly the depth stopped showing. When I connect the NMEA out from the Raymarine converter to my computer and use HyperTerminal I get this. I have rechecked and reconnected every wire and connection. The GPS outputs fine. Also replace the SeaTalk to NMEA box just in case that was the problem.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Hyperterminal.jpg
Views:	137
Size:	403.3 KB
ID:	92829
__________________

__________________
Chesapeake Bay, ICW Hampton Roads To Key West, The Gulf Coast, The Bahamas

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 11:52   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
Cheechako's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Skagit City, WA
Posts: 19,369
Re: Lost Depths

The first thing I do if the depth stops is to go down and scrape off the transducer underwater. Unless your transducer shoots thru the hull...
__________________

__________________
"I spent most of my money on Booze, Broads and Boats. The rest I wasted" - Elmore Leonard











Cheechako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 11:58   #3
Marine Service Provider
 
AnchorageGuy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wherever the boat is!
Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Posts: 4,618
Re: Lost Depths

The depth sounder is working just fine. We have only lost the depth readings to OpenCPN on the computer. Guess I should have been clearer. Chuck
__________________
Chesapeake Bay, ICW Hampton Roads To Key West, The Gulf Coast, The Bahamas

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 12:39   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,019
Re: Lost Depths

Chuck...
What you show on the screenshot is totally broken, NMEA sentences have to be text and numbers. A bit cryptic, but readable...
Did you have the port speed etc. set correctly in hyperterminal? Did you try to use another Serial-USB converter?

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 12:48   #5
Marine Service Provider
 
AnchorageGuy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wherever the boat is!
Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Posts: 4,618
Re: Lost Depths

Pavel, Thanks. I do know what the NMEA sentences should look like and yes the port setting is correct. When I connect just the GPS I get a good read in the HyperTerminal with everything correct and the GPS working fine with OpenCPN. This is through the same Serial to USB cable, so that's working. When I switch to only the depth sounder, what you see is what I get. I'm baffled since this has been working. The GPS is connected directly while the depth sounder is connected via the SeaTalk/NMEA converter, which I have just replaced in case it was bad. The depth sounder on it's own is fine and feeds data to the repeater on the flybridge. The SeaTalk/ NMEA converter is wired correctly. If not it won't read at all in the HyperTerminal. Chuck
__________________
Chesapeake Bay, ICW Hampton Roads To Key West, The Gulf Coast, The Bahamas

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 14:50   #6
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,408
Re: Lost Depths

Does not look too good for your Raymarine output. I wonder if that is not producing?
--- What physical connections? Are they nice and clean?
__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 15:49   #7
Marine Service Provider
 
AnchorageGuy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wherever the boat is!
Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Posts: 4,618
Re: Lost Depths

I pulled every connection apart, inspected, cleaned and put it all back together. No improvement. Chuck
__________________
Chesapeake Bay, ICW Hampton Roads To Key West, The Gulf Coast, The Bahamas

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 16:16   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,019
Re: Lost Depths

Chuck...
Really hard to say without access to the hardware. If we are sure that the ST part is OK (and I believe it as even if it was broken, the NMEA should look like NMEA) and if we are reasonably sure it is not the converter box as 2 of them result in the same output, I would personally really try another Serial-USB converter and cables/connectors between the box and the converter. The electrical properties of the GPS serial port and the one in the box can be different which might (or not) cause a difference.
I'm afraid I can't suggest much more without connecting an oscilloscope to the box output...

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 16:39   #9
Moderator
 
a64pilot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albany Ga.
Boat: Island Packet 38
Posts: 17,062
Re: Lost Depths

I haven't used a serial to USB converter in awhile, but if I remember right, they need a driver. Try un-installing and re-installing the driver.
They may also be hard to find now, If your going to be in PC this weekend and need one, I feel pretty sure I have one or two laying around and I could bring one.
__________________
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 17:07   #10
Marine Service Provider
 
AnchorageGuy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wherever the boat is!
Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Posts: 4,618
Re: Lost Depths

nohal, I was kind of afraid of that, but thought I would put it out there. Thanks for trying. Chuck
__________________
Chesapeake Bay, ICW Hampton Roads To Key West, The Gulf Coast, The Bahamas

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 17:10   #11
Marine Service Provider
 
AnchorageGuy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wherever the boat is!
Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Posts: 4,618
Re: Lost Depths

Thanks a64pilot. The Serial to USB is working fine with several other connections to the computer so I don't think we will mess with it. I will probably upgrade the depth sounder soon anyway. We're in Carrabelle heading south. Chuck
__________________
Chesapeake Bay, ICW Hampton Roads To Key West, The Gulf Coast, The Bahamas

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 17:49   #12
Registered User
 
Dsanduril's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: South Pacific
Boat: Outremer 50S
Posts: 1,451
Re: Lost Depths

The screen shot looks an awful lot like disagreement over either baud rate or data structure (7 vs. 8 bits or parity). Since you are using Hyperterminal anyway, I'd open the connection using different settings. There are a lot of combinations, so I'd work from 1200 up to 9600 baud, then start playing with parity and data bits at different speeds.

Don't see how/why your SeaTalk bridge might have changed any of that, but the output certainly looks like that kind of garble, so I'd spend a little time seeing if you can hit on the right settings.
__________________
Dsanduril is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 18:03   #13
Registered User
 
irwin37's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gettysburg Pa
Boat: 1981 Irwin 37
Posts: 193
Re: Lost Depths

Check your serial port settings, looks like you may have the wrong baud rate setting, could be on the receiving (laptop) end or the sending end.

Opps.....Guess I could have read the last post.
__________________
irwin37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 18:52   #14
Marine Service Provider
 
AnchorageGuy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wherever the boat is!
Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Posts: 4,618
Re: Lost Depths

Thanks I'll give it a try. Chuck
__________________

__________________
Chesapeake Bay, ICW Hampton Roads To Key West, The Gulf Coast, The Bahamas

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
depth, lost

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FYI: Stuart / St. Lucie inlet Depths forsailbyowner Atlantic & the Caribbean 4 30-12-2009 07:55
Lady Musgrave Island Anchorage Depths please MarkJ Pacific & South China Sea 10 19-02-2009 19:27
S Pacific anchorage depths and chain length nukahiva Pacific & South China Sea 10 17-12-2008 02:33
ICW Clearances/Depths astontz Atlantic & the Caribbean 10 05-10-2008 15:57
anchoring depths in the pacific schoonerdog Multihull Sailboats 32 08-02-2008 13:38



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:17.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.