Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-05-2015, 23:19   #1
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 209
Lost AIS with Upgrade to V4

I have just upgraded do version 4 on Mac (OS 10.8.2) and as a result I don't see the AIS targets anymore. What ca be the reason? AIS targets are not displayed on the chart and not in the AIS radar.
The input port is USB with 38400 baud, enabled in connections menu.
All worked fine before the upgrade. The tty DataPort is shown in /dev as configured in OpenCPN.
Has somebody an idea what I can do?
__________________

__________________
myocean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2015, 03:09   #2
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 209
Re: Lost AIS with Upgrade to V4

I have tinkered around a bit more with this but AIS contacts are still not visible.
I see them on my AIS device (VesperMarine) but not in OpenCPN.
Attached is a screenshot showing the debug window with the NMEA data stream coming in via USB. There is AIS data, right?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot_ais_problem.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	95.0 KB
ID:	102675  
__________________

__________________
myocean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2015, 03:43   #3
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,751
Re: Lost AIS with Upgrade to V4

Yes, the AIVDM messages are AIS msgs from other vessels.

Did you try to uncheck the "Checksum" option?
__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2015, 04:37   #4
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 209
Re: Lost AIS with Upgrade to V4

Thank you!
Have just unchecked as you have suggested - no change.
I am about to leave for a long passage on the weekend
and would be very happy to have AIS on the charts. :-(
Strange that this is not working!
__________________
myocean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2015, 04:40   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Monastir, Tunisia
Boat: Amel Sharki
Posts: 1,774
Re: Lost AIS with Upgrade to V4

Perhaps he should uncheck the filters which are set without any reason.

Gerhard
__________________
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2015, 05:01   #6
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 209
Re: Lost AIS with Upgrade to V4

Even this brought no change...

Strangely I have now, for the third or fourth time, seen a green AIS contact for may be just 1 sec on the chart. Before I thought I was not real now I am sure it shows up from time to time.
__________________
myocean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2015, 01:01   #7
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 209
Version 4: AIS contacts still invisible

I am still struggling with this problem. How can it happen that incoming AIS data is not displayed on the chart even though the configuration discussed above seems not to be ok?

And what has changed in the new version 4? My installation has worked fine until I have made the update.
__________________
myocean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2015, 01:28   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 179
Re: Lost AIS with Upgrade to V4

Maybe a stupid question, but is the "Show AIS targets" active in the tools bar?
__________________
ptulp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2015, 01:29   #9
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,751
Re: Lost AIS with Upgrade to V4

Did you consider to upgrade to OS-X 10.10?
__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2015, 02:03   #10
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 209
Re: Lost AIS with Upgrade to V4

Quote:
Originally Posted by ptulp View Post
Maybe a stupid question, but is the "Show AIS targets" active in the tools bar?
I had just played around with that and the hide and suppression options in the ToolBox AIS Tab. All fine but still no contacts visible.
__________________
myocean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2015, 02:14   #11
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 209
Re: Lost AIS with Upgrade to V4

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcn View Post
Did you consider to upgrade to OS-X 10.10?
This MacMini is a fixed installation in the boat and Wifi connections are slow and expnsive. So downloading a GB or so is not so simple without Apple-DVD which I have not at hand. Can the OS download get transferred by DVD from one Mac to another?

And: Never change a running system:
The current installation is proven to be reliable. Handling new problems far away from
civilization and without Internet would be no fun.
Anyway: If I knew 10.10 solves the problem I would go for it.
__________________
myocean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2015, 02:19   #12
bcn
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: underway whenever possible
Boat: Rangeboat 39
Posts: 2,751
Re: Lost AIS with Upgrade to V4

Well, the only thing I can say that we have a MacMini in the office (with 10.10) and are receiving AIS signals from a receiver via Ethernet/UDP.
And it works fine...
__________________
bcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2015, 20:08   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Berkeley, CA
Boat: Hylas 47
Posts: 65
Re: Lost AIS with Upgrade to V4

Since you are seeing the AIS targets pop up for a moment, try this for kicks... try unchecking the two boxes dealing with lost targets. For about half a day I had this same issue on the day we changed over to daylight savings time. Something about the computer clock not matching the time from the targets or satellite. It was like they were already seen as an hour old immediately after showing up on the screen. Unchecking the box to remove lost targets fixed this.

Greg
__________________
gdavids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2015, 23:39   #14
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 209
4.0 indeed Version 4 not fully compatible with OS x 10.8?

I might have to go back to version 3.2.2
Is OpenCPN 4.0 indeed not fully compatible with OS x 10.8?
__________________
myocean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2015, 00:36   #15
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 209
Solved: Lost AIS with Upgrade to V4

Quote:
Originally Posted by gdavids View Post
Since you are seeing the AIS targets pop up for a moment, try this for kicks... try unchecking the two boxes dealing with lost targets. For about half a day I had this same issue on the day we changed over to daylight savings time. Something about the computer clock not matching the time from the targets or satellite. It was like they were already seen as an hour old immediately after showing up on the screen. Unchecking the box to remove lost targets fixed this.

Greg
Hi Greg!
I have read this only now ( low bandwidth issues) and followed your suggestion. And YES, it works :-)))
Thank you very much!
And on your system you could eventually remove lost targets again?
__________________

__________________
myocean is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais, lost

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN lost connection with the AIS Oceansat Class B Machiel H OpenCPN 6 31-05-2015 10:58
Raymarine Chart Plotter with AIS, Radar upgrade AquaLeopard40 Marine Electronics 0 05-11-2013 10:20
AIS Simulation - Run VDR to play AIS Nmea file rgleason OpenCPN 16 12-01-2013 11:28
Can You Get Radar & AIS Overlay on Laptop ? AIS Transceiver Recommendations ? lunasea.ds Marine Electronics 22 27-12-2010 14:06
Lost Thrust! Lost Prop? OffSeason Monohull Sailboats 20 07-06-2009 00:57



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 17:35.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.