Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-01-2013, 21:16   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
is it possible to allow OpenCPN to connect to AIS NMEA streams over TCP/IP?

Is it possible to allow OpenCPN to connect to AIS NMEA streams over TCP/IP?
__________________

__________________
smartpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 01:26   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
sailorF54's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Perros-Guirec, France
Boat: Jeanneau Sunshine 36
Posts: 833
Re: is it possible to allow OpenCPN to connect to AIS NMEA streams over TCP/IP?

Yep

Welcome to the forum...

Try these settings (they refer to the checked entry) in latest beta version for a test...

RTFM can help too... Big Question Mark on blue backgroung in the Toolbar, Help section... (BTW thanks Cagney)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Image003.jpg
Views:	1054
Size:	355.8 KB
ID:	52700  
__________________

__________________
sailorF54 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 06:54   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Re: is it possible to allow OpenCPN to connect to AIS NMEA streams over TCP/IP?

Thanks,sailorF54.have a good weekend.
__________________
smartpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 08:48   #4
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,399
Re: is it possible to allow OpenCPN to connect to AIS NMEA streams over TCP/IP?

Does this mean we could connect to the data from marinetraffic.com over the internet, for example, and show Internet AIS data overlayed in Ocpn? Probably not possible, but it would be useful to avoid the fast 50mph ferry in fog, even if it is not recommended for navigation, it would be better than having no AIS.

PS Currently we use Droid Smartphone and Marinetraffic and radar, better than no AIS. Latency is not bad, but you have to watch that carefully and use it for AVOIDANCE not cutting things closer.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 09:18   #5
mrm
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Poland, EU
Boat: crew on Bavaria 38 Cruiser
Posts: 651
Re: is it possible to allow OpenCPN to connect to AIS NMEA streams over TCP/IP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
Does this mean we could connect to the data from marinetraffic.com over the internet, for example, and show Internet AIS data overlayed in Ocpn? Probably not possible, but it would be useful to avoid the fast 50mph ferry in fog...
For that you are *much* better off having own AIS receiver on board (transmitter even better). For two reasons:
- internet streams may be delayed on purpose, so not really WYSIWYG
- internet connectivity while under way is rather exception than norm.

Marius
__________________
mrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 09:28   #6
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,399
Re: is it possible to allow OpenCPN to connect to AIS NMEA streams over TCP/IP?

Yes, of course. Don't have that. Question remains.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 09:44   #7
mrm
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Poland, EU
Boat: crew on Bavaria 38 Cruiser
Posts: 651
Re: is it possible to allow OpenCPN to connect to AIS NMEA streams over TCP/IP?

In that case, yes, it is possible. Not so long ago there was another tread advertising internet AIS server from Portugal. Fun to see it working sitting in the office. Would I trust it for safety situational awareness? No way. But different strokes...
__________________
mrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 10:06   #8
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,399
Re: is it possible to allow OpenCPN to connect to AIS NMEA streams over TCP/IP?

I agree with you about having AIS receiver, but something is better than nothing, when you hear the distant engines in the fog, the radar is on, it is nice to also have marinetraffic.com on the Droid showing the fast ferry, adding to the information (discounted), so we know which way to go to be out of the way.
-I don't trust all ferry captains from their VHF comments and disturbed S/V response saying ferry was just 200' away cutting across bow.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 10:58   #9
mrm
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Poland, EU
Boat: crew on Bavaria 38 Cruiser
Posts: 651
Re: is it possible to allow OpenCPN to connect to AIS NMEA streams over TCP/IP?

I understand what you are trying to achieve, but still allow me to differ. For me the main concern is unreliability and unknown processing, including arbitrary delays, of the AIS stream received via internet (plus connectivity availability concerns, but let's assume this is not a problem). To me, data of unknown origin is not fit for safety purposes. I see it more as a distraction than useful aid to navigation.

In your scenario: visibility 50m, sound of engines in the fog, radar says 3 miles, AIS (delayed) says 8 miles, ears play silly buggers and suggest it is only 1/2 a mile... what to do, what to trust and what is bogus??

Droid devices are fun and have many uses, but IMHO this is not the best of them. Besides, a cheap AIS receiver will set you back some $150, once. How much is your data plan?
__________________
mrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 11:19   #10
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,399
Re: is it possible to allow OpenCPN to connect to AIS NMEA streams over TCP/IP?

Yep, I guess you are right!
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 14:20   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Boat: Carter 33
Posts: 5
Re: is it possible to allow OpenCPN to connect to AIS NMEA streams over TCP/IP?

Hello Cruisers Forum.

I have just started experimenting with OpenCPN with the ultimate intention of loading it on a tablet to run in the cockpit.

I too am trying to get AIS information over the internet working but before I get a lecture on the imprudence of using this approach for collision avoidance I would like to point out:
  1. At the moment it is an academic exercise being conducted onshore
  2. If I get it working aboard its only function will be to satisfy curiosity about ships in our bay, the same way I use the app on my phone.
The IP address sailorF54 gave successfully provides marine traffic for the San Francisco area. Does anyone know of an address to cover Port Phillip here in Melbourne? Or how do I go about finding such an address?

Richard
__________________
robeirne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 16:12   #12
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,399
Re: is it possible to allow OpenCPN to connect to AIS NMEA streams over TCP/IP?

Try marinetraffic.com Not a good idea to use internet when AIS has gotten much less expensive and VHF/DSC/AIS receivers are available. Better to give Opencpn a good reliable data stream. --I thought as you but was finally convinced.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 16:44   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Boat: Carter 33
Posts: 5
Re: is it possible to allow OpenCPN to connect to AIS NMEA streams over TCP/IP?

When I am forced to replace the VHF I will probable get one with AIS capability but until then I will keep trying the internet route.
I had already tried marinetraffic.com for which I got an IP address of 176.9.99.88 by "ping marinetraffic.com" from the command line. The problem is I don't know the port number.
__________________
robeirne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 17:03   #14
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,399
Re: is it possible to allow OpenCPN to connect to AIS NMEA streams over TCP/IP?

http://www.marinetraffic.com/ais/exporttext.aspx

Marine Traffic Services - Alerts, Mobile Apps, Receiving Stations, Google Earth, Data Exchange

Frequently Asked Questions on AIS and Real time ship observation
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 19:52   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Boat: Carter 33
Posts: 5
Re: is it possible to allow OpenCPN to connect to AIS NMEA streams over TCP/IP?

I have trawled the marinetraffic website but can find no information about IP addresses.
__________________

__________________
robeirne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais, nmea, opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:01.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.