Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-04-2019, 08:34   #211
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 620
Re: Hydrographic Survey Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baikal View Post
Coloring the depth does not work!
There is also a problem with panaroning on a scale of more than 50,000. The Chart does not move with the mouse Zoom works
Is this the variable depth colour? No work done on this yet!

Mike
__________________

Rasbats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2019, 08:47   #212
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Baikal
Posts: 413
Re: Hydrographic Survey Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rasbats View Post
Is this the variable depth colour? No work done on this yet!

Mike
Yes, variable depth colour
__________________

Baikal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2019, 10:52   #213
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 142
Re: Hydrographic Survey Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baikal View Post
Thanks for info, It was so simple. I think that if you provide special link for mod_spatialite maybe you forgot place it for sqlite.

Thanks again

Kubek
kubek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2019, 00:52   #214
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Port Steven, NSW, Australia
Boat: Van der Stadt Samoa 48
Posts: 141
Re: Hydrographic Survey Plugin

Hi,
I am new to this plugin, but it very much needed her in the Maldives where all charts are extremly wrong. Where can i find the needed files and a description how to install? We have friends that are coming here next year, and i would like to help them.

Lars
Taarnskov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2019, 01:28   #215
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 620
Re: Hydrographic Survey Plugin

Lars ...

This is a work in progress. I am away for a few days but I will post some more details when I return.

Mike
Rasbats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2019, 05:02   #216
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: uk
Posts: 87
Re: Hydrographic Survey Plugin

did the install, but although the plug in is in the plugin folder it doesnt show on the plug in tab in open cpn. should i have installed pllug in 3, before 3.1?
yachtman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2019, 09:44   #217
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 620
Re: Hydrographic Survey Plugin

Yachtman ...

Still very much a work in progress.

3.1 should be good. No need for 3.

But ... what OS? Did you install the required files listed for 3?

With Baikal's comments I have started work on improving the plugin. Intention is to make the plugin record a raw soundings table using the echo-sounder raw NMEA data. Then with correction facilities produce an edited file which takes account of tide/sounder depth etc etc. This is more in line with a professional program like 'HyPack'.

Mike
Rasbats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2019, 14:43   #218
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: uk
Posts: 87
Re: Hydrographic Survey Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rasbats View Post
Yachtman ...

Still very much a work in progress.

3.1 should be good. No need for 3.

But ... what OS? Did you install the required files listed for 3?

With Baikal's comments I have started work on improving the plugin. Intention is to make the plugin record a raw soundings table using the echo-sounder raw NMEA data. Then with correction facilities produce an edited file which takes account of tide/sounder depth etc etc. This is more in line with a professional program like 'HyPack'.

Mike
Win 10 1903 fully up to date.

Did the install of the files in accordance with instructions.

Any chance of reading in the positions and soundings as have a Garmin unit in the rib which is used for survey. Uses gpx file . Cant imagine a laptop in the rib! Although I have had nmea data stream off the garmin as I have it set up to remove and plug into the mother ship in case of some failure there.

Previously used google fusion tables which I overlaid on google earth. Google fusion tables are being shut down.

Have looked at reefmaster. But quite pricey without full garmin support of side scan sonar

Many thanks
yachtman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2019, 18:33   #219
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Boat: Gemini 3200
Posts: 789
Re: Hydrographic Survey Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by yachtman View Post
have a Garmin unit in the rib which is used for survey. Uses gpx file

How do you do that? I have been experimenting with Quickdraw Contour Mapping on my Garmin unit but the survey information is stored in a proprietary Garmin format. How are you getting survey data in GPX format?


Fabbian
fgd3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 00:25   #220
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 620
Re: Hydrographic Survey Plugin

Yachtman ...

Assuming you have access to the SDCard/UserData you can use Garmin HomePort. Open the user data with HomePort. Export the 'Active Log' as a .csv file. The tracks will not work as they do not contain depth data.

Import the .csv into OpenOffice or similar. Start at row 44 where the lat/lon starts. Comma separation.

Edit the csv - the depths are several empty columns to the right. Delete empty columns. You only need three columns in the order LON, LAT, DEPTH.

When you have Survey_pi working make a new survey table and 'Import ...'. Choose the CSV Files option. Depending on the size of the survey it can take some time for the import.

Attached image shows the result. No tide correction.

Can you post your OpenCPN log file? Please use an attachment not text. And a .pdf extension if it causes problems.

Mike
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	garmin_survey.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	161.1 KB
ID:	195733  
Rasbats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 05:18   #221
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: uk
Posts: 87
Re: Hydrographic Survey Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by fgd3 View Post
How do you do that? I have been experimenting with Quickdraw Contour Mapping on my Garmin unit but the survey information is stored in a proprietary Garmin format. How are you getting survey data in GPX format?


Fabbian
in the user data section there is an export function, can choose to export in 2 formats, gpx or a garmin ad? format, writing to the sd card.
yachtman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 05:47   #222
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: uk
Posts: 87
Re: Hydrographic Survey Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rasbats View Post
Yachtman ...

Assuming you have access to the SDCard/UserData you can use Garmin HomePort. Open the user data with HomePort. Export the 'Active Log' as a .csv file. The tracks will not work as they do not contain depth data.

Import the .csv into OpenOffice or similar. Start at row 44 where the lat/lon starts. Comma separation.

Edit the csv - the depths are several empty columns to the right. Delete empty columns. You only need three columns in the order LON, LAT, DEPTH.

When you have Survey_pi working make a new survey table and 'Import ...'. Choose the CSV Files option. Depending on the size of the survey it can take some time for the import.

Attached image shows the result. No tide correction.

Can you post your OpenCPN log file? Please use an attachment not text. And a .pdf extension if it causes problems.

Mike

Many thanks for the above import instructions, and log attached..
Attached Files
File Type: pdf opencpn.pdf (1.31 MB, 3 views)
yachtman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 18:35   #223
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Boat: Gemini 3200
Posts: 789
Re: Hydrographic Survey Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by yachtman View Post
in the user data section there is an export function, can choose to export in 2 formats, gpx or a garmin ad? format, writing to the sd card.

Sure, but what are you exporting? What data contains latitude, longitude, and depth? I know I can export waypoints, routes, and tracks. Is there more data available or do tracks include depth information on your unit?


As with most interesting issues the manual for my echoMAP CHIRP 54cv is silent. It does little more than list all the menu items without any discussion of how they interact.


The Quickdraw Contour Mapping feature is very impressive but I haven't found a way to view those charts away from the chart plotter (except uploading them to Garmin Connect).


Fabbian
fgd3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 04:29   #224
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: uk
Posts: 87
Re: Hydrographic Survey Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by fgd3 View Post
Sure, but what are you exporting? What data contains latitude, longitude, and depth?
yes those, and time of the sounding, but no sonar info



I know I can export waypoints, routes, and tracks. Is there more data available or do tracks include depth information on your unit?
tracks include depth on mine Agree most modern manuals are useless

As with most interesting issues the manual for my echoMAP CHIRP 54cv is silent. It does little more than list all the menu items without any discussion of how they interact.
on my 75sv, i can export in gpx format and garmins adm format and that is it, no info available from garmin. So i have been able to open gpx file and sort colums and remove the first 44 lines as per rasbats instructions ready for when i can get his plugin working.

The Quickdraw Contour Mapping feature is very impressive but I haven't found a way to view those charts away from the chart plotter (except uploading them to Garmin Connect).

Agree ,same here haven't found anything useful.
the other thing i have found is that when quick draw is on recording, it seems to scrub or turned of the recording of the data in in the later exported GPX file, as I am missing large portions of usage in my GPX file from this years summer cruise to the Scillies (Islands off the sw tip of the uk for international users)


Fabbian
answers interlaced above
yachtman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 13:08   #225
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 620
Re: Hydrographic Survey Plugin

Yachtman ...

Did you use the win 32 sqlite3.dll precompiled binary from here? ...

https://www.sqlite.org/download.html

You are running 64 bit Windows but for OpenCPN/survey_pi this 32 bit dll is needed.

Mike
__________________

Rasbats is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
survey

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hydrographic Survey Plugin nohal OpenCPN 238 Yesterday 23:52
OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn bdbcat OpenCPN 820 04-06-2019 14:09
Marine Survey 101 boatpoker Monohull Sailboats 35 14-10-2018 16:59
Low Cost Boat Worth a Survey ? JDRichlen Liveaboard's Forum 52 18-03-2012 10:32



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:27.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.