Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-04-2016, 07:48   #181
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 405
Re: Hydrographic Survey Plugin

Chris,

Did some more tests this morning.

1. Windows XP on a little used, low power machine.
2. Win 10 on a tablet, where no development work has taken place.

Survey had not been used with OpenCPN on either of these machines.

On both machines I installed the three dll needed, in the main program folder. Copied survey_pi.dll to the plugins folder. Tested with importing tamar.gmp. Both machines ran Survey ok on OpenCPN 4.2.

Both pc had 10" screens. Sorry I can't take this any further.

Mike
__________________

__________________
Rasbats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2016, 10:28   #182
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,320
Re: Hydrographic Survey Plugin

Mike,
Downloaded your dlls, installed in v4.2.0
Enabled Survey_pi
Then "Load Nmea file" - works
Then started VDR and ran raush.txt
Then "Record from Nmea" first by hitting the Icon -a little dot appeared..
Tab Trace showed the depths, profile blinked and showed profiles, but Soundings showed nothing.

Then I clicked on "Record from Nmea" [text] and all the recordings appeared in the Soundings tab.

The difference between the icon and the "Record from Nmea" text are not quite clear to me.... The Icon is showing status? The action uses the text ""Record from Nmea"?

Anyway it works pretty well!!! I like to "Zoom" can that enlage/change scale to fit the data in survey? It would be easier. --small thing.

I have not tried export import yet. Have not tried "feet" yet. Tried it in v4.2.1 and it froze for some reason, but thats beta.

Will try compiling later.

Very nice, thank you
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Survey_pi.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	40.0 KB
ID:	122979  
__________________

__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2016, 13:52   #183
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 847
Re: Hydrographic Survey Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rasbats View Post
Chris,

Did some more tests this morning.

1. Windows XP on a little used, low power machine.
2. Win 10 on a tablet, where no development work has taken place.

Survey had not been used with OpenCPN on either of these machines.

On both machines I installed the three dll needed, in the main program folder. Copied survey_pi.dll to the plugins folder. Tested with importing tamar.gmp. Both machines ran Survey ok on OpenCPN 4.2.

Both pc had 10" screens. Sorry I can't take this any further.

Mike
Mike,

It is something to do with the permissions or security on dll files.

When I looked at the file properties of the dlls. At the bottom of the window where you set the permissions there was a message that said "These files came from another computer and may have been blocked to protect you; click to unblock". Paraphrasing as I didn't copy down the exact message.

I clicked to unblock on the four files and the message does not appear any more. The security and permissions for the files now look no different from any other but when OCPN scans the plugins folder it does not recognise that survey is there.

The survey dll is in C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN\plugins
and the three other dlls in C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN

I think that is all correct as per other plugins...


Chris
__________________
Littlechay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2016, 03:20   #184
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 405
Re: Hydrographic Survey Plugin

Chris,

Could you check you have 'iconv.dll' in C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN?

Mike
__________________
Rasbats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2016, 10:22   #185
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 847
Re: Hydrographic Survey Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rasbats View Post
Chris,

Could you check you have 'iconv.dll' in C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN?

Mike
MIke,

Yes it's there. See attached for details.
__________________
Littlechay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2016, 12:25   #186
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 847
Re: Hydrographic Survey Plugin

Hi Mike,

I don't know if this is a clue to the root of the problem that I was having but when I installed the latest beta your plugin magically appeared.

Now a question, or two, on it's use.

I can generate a variably coloured track; but can I set those colours?

Is there some way to keep the survey data on the chart without the plugin's window being open? It occupies a huge amount of screen real estate.

Ideally I would like to see the data made persistent once generated and not have to have the survey plugin open in collection mode all the time.

The depth plot is upside down to me. surely shallow water should be at the top and deep at the bottom to give a more real life representation of the bottom profile?

Good work so far
__________________
Littlechay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2016, 01:53   #187
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 405
Re: Hydrographic Survey Plugin

Littlechay,

Thanks for the feedback. Some good points.

I am away from my 'plugin pc' for about 6 weeks (sailing!!!). Intend working on survey_pi when I return.

Mike
__________________
Rasbats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2016, 02:49   #188
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 847
Re: Hydrographic Survey Plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rasbats View Post

I am away from my 'plugin pc' for about 6 weeks (sailing!!!). Intend working on survey_pi when I return.

Mike

I'm at see from later today too and will have limited if any internet for a few weeks.




SY Morgane
http://tweedsworld.com
__________________
Littlechay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2017, 13:30   #189
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 1
Re: Hydrographic Survey Plugin

I can't seem to get the Hydrographic Survey Plugin to work in OpenCPN 4.6.1. First of all, I put the required 3 dlls in the program folder, then I placed the latest version of Rasbat's compiled plugin in the plugin folder. Then I started OpenCPN and went to the Settings, then plugin tab and enabled the Survey plugin. Source, v1.0: https://github.com/Rasbats/survey_pi/releases

It enables fine, but I can not change any of the preferences. I have not tested if the plugin works but I know the main survey window comes up.
__________________

__________________
ian5142 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
survey

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn bdbcat OpenCPN 789 02-12-2017 04:23
Hydrographic Survey Plugin nohal OpenCPN 188 23-08-2017 13:30
Marine Survey 101 boatpoker Monohull Sailboats 32 08-05-2012 21:02
Low Cost Boat Worth a Survey ? JDRichlen Liveaboard's Forum 52 18-03-2012 11:32



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:09.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.