Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-09-2011, 19:00   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 31
How to Run Two Instances of OpenCPN ?

Seeing as you can't use 2 windows on 1 GPS, is it possible to run 2 instances with 2 GPS's????
__________________

__________________
Skua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2011, 19:14   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Newport News VA
Boat: Egg Harbor sedan cruiser 1970
Posts: 829
Re: How to run 2 instances of OpenCPN?

probably

If you switch to ubuntu, then using gpsd, you can share the same gps data with multiple programs all at the same time.
I know because I did this as a test.
__________________

__________________
sdowney717 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2011, 19:50   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Stuart, Florida
Boat: 1984 Prout Snowgoose 37
Posts: 50
Re: How to run 2 instances of OpenCPN?

you can run 2 instances of opencpn with 1 gps (in windows xp, anyway) with a little virtual port emulator called VSPE. I just tried it and it seems to work fine!! it also lets me share the gps with RMS Express for position reports with the ham SSB while opencpn is running...I have been using it for a couple of months now with no problems...

fair winds,

George
__________________
Prout Snowgoose 37 "Gracie"
Stuart, Florida

http://catamarangracie.com
captfolly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2011, 10:41   #4
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,395
Re: How to Run Two Instances of OpenCPN ?

"Xport" is another Windows emulator that is easy to use for 1 gps outputted to several instances or applications,but maybe not so "capable" as vspe.
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2011, 18:43   #5
Registered User
 
yachtvalhalla's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philippines
Boat: Fuji 32 Ketch
Posts: 553
Re: How to Run Two Instances of OpenCPN ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skua View Post
Seeing as you can't use 2 windows on 1 GPS, is it possible to run 2 instances with 2 GPS's????
Absolutely. Use different com ports for the GPSs. However .....

You can use NavMonPC to split one GPS signal into the three virtual com ports for any three programs.

In my case I use NavMonPC to split the GPS/AIS signal to three virtual com ports. And in a month or so it should be upgraded to six virtual ports. VERY versatile program with AIS display included.

And to push the envelope a bit I run two copies of NavMonPC now (you can save configuration.ini files) to get 5 virtual com ports from my GPS/AIS data. Will be less complicated when NavMonPC is upgraded.



Terry
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	NavComm on VALHALLA (REV27Aug11).jpg
Views:	132
Size:	62.9 KB
ID:	31698  
__________________
VALHALLA's Mooring Page
yachtvalhalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2011, 00:12   #6
Registered User
 
yachtvalhalla's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philippines
Boat: Fuji 32 Ketch
Posts: 553
Re: How to Run Two Instances of OpenCPN ?

NavMonPc has been upgraded to permit six COM outputs. Version 1.10 released 16 Sep 11. Four Fathom Marine Technology

My lashup has been simplified and is explained here.

Thanks Paul!

Terry
__________________
VALHALLA's Mooring Page
yachtvalhalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2011, 15:01   #7
Registered User
 
boat_alexandra's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: chesapeake bay
Boat: bristol 27
Posts: 2,813
Re: How to Run Two Instances of OpenCPN ?

what do you guys think of extending the chartcanvas class to allow multiple canvas in a single opencpn instance? This would allow multiple windows, or split screens, and the chart memory resources would be shared so it wouldn't use twice as much ram.

I thought about working on this but I didnt consider it important, it probably isnt too difficult though.
__________________

__________________
boat_alexandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN Under Alix Board - Which Linux ? manuprenlair OpenCPN 2 13-09-2011 23:23
OpenCPN Version 2.5 Release bdbcat OpenCPN 86 02-09-2011 19:14
OpenCPN Stops Running BobLarkin OpenCPN 2 31-08-2011 00:38
OpenCPN Loses Configuration goph OpenCPN 0 18-07-2011 09:40
Route Properties, Missing Functions James Baines OpenCPN 13 13-07-2011 05:31



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:44.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.