Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-08-2013, 16:23   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 298
How to not see your own AIS

Hello,

I have a AIS transmitter and a separate receiver. In OpenCPN I keep on seeing a collision between my boat and the AIS signal. Is there any way to set a filter on my own AIS signal?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
George64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2013, 16:27   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
David M's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Francisco Bay
Boat: research vessel
Posts: 10,150
Re: How to not see your own AIS

Which make and model do you have? Have you tried calling the manufacturer?
__________________

__________________
David

Life begins where land ends.
David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2013, 16:29   #3
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,649
Images: 3
I've not seen any transmitter that isn't a received ?????

Dave
__________________
Check out my new blog on smart boat technology, networking and gadgets for the connected sailor! - http://smartboats.tumblr.com
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2013, 16:39   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 298
Re: How to not see your own AIS

To clarify, I send out my own AIS-code, this code is received by the separate receiver, which I should expect, however Opencpn registers this as a collision between the two signals. I see the red star around my boat. That I'd like to for come.
__________________
George64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2013, 08:38   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Re: How to not see your own AIS

I have advised on the same problem last month.
these is a problem when you managed ais with two separated systems.
AIS transponder worked fine and send back the good information (AIVDO and AIVDM) unfortunatly the VHF/AIS combo received the echo as a proximity alert and the the sentence *VDM is used.
this is a bug in a lot of older vhf/ais receiver.
unfortunalty, the only way to solve the problem should be to filter the *VDM message with your own mmsi id Inside opencpn.(you must forget old firmware upgrade of your Equipment)

i understand that the vhf/ais should send the *VDO message for it own mmsi, but it doesn't .
__________________
Frogeater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2013, 08:48   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Re: How to not see your own AIS

could it be down by enhancing the nmea sentences filtering in the link configuration?
__________________
Frogeater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2013, 14:03   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 298
Re: How to not see your own AIS

Thanks for the explaination. Expected something like this.

As far as I know it is not possible to filter a specific scentence. Just the nmea scentences. Or am I overlooking a workaround?
__________________
George64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2013, 14:40   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,018
Re: How to not see your own AIS

George...
You are not overlooking anything, you simply can't ignore a particular MMSI right now. Feel free to file a feature request in OpenCPN::Tracker All Projects: Tasklist - it will make it way more probable this gets implemented soon(er)...

Pavel
__________________
nohal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2013, 15:48   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,249
Re: How to not see your own AIS

If we compare this to OpenCPN::Tracker All Projects: Tasklist - requst #802, which request ability to track AIS/SART as a MOB, we can see that there is a more general case.

*Ability to enter certain MMSI numbers.
*Associate some action with each entry.

The "action" could be
*ignore
*treat as MOB
*track
Something else......??

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2013, 00:58   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 298
Re: How to not see your own AIS

Quote:
Originally Posted by cagney View Post
If we compare this to OpenCPN::Tracker All Projects: Tasklist - requst #802, which request ability to track AIS/SART as a MOB, we can see that there is a more general case.

*Ability to enter certain MMSI numbers.
*Associate some action with each entry.

The "action" could be
*ignore
*treat as MOB
*track
Something else......??

Thomas
Good point to summarize it from various requests

My feature request would be similar to the ability to enter a MMSI number and select to track or not to track.
__________________
George64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 14:14   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Re: How to not see your own AIS

There's a program NMEA router that includes the ability to convert any NMEA AIVDM message from your MMSI to a NMEA AIVDO message.

NMEA Router


p.s. I've never attempted to use this program.
__________________
bns_robson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 19:35   #12
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,394
Re: How to not see your own AIS

Who will enter this in tracker? Its a good idea.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2013, 17:09   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sailing the Caribbean
Boat: Switch 51
Posts: 1,498
Re: How to not see your own AIS

Any update on this?
__________________
SVNeko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2013, 18:45   #14
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,394
Re: How to not see your own AIS

Its in Tracker. but this is not a top priority yet. For the time being try
NMEA Router
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2013, 19:57   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sailing the Caribbean
Boat: Switch 51
Posts: 1,498
Re: How to not see your own AIS

I tried NMEA Router and, despite being a tech idiot, I was able to get it working and feed data to my nav program. However, my AIS signal still shows up in the program. I wasn't able to check if the router failed to convert the AIVDM to AIVDO or if the nav program (CE) still displays AIVDO data.
__________________

__________________
SVNeko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:44.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.