Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-04-2010, 06:07   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 120
How to Import MaxSea Tracks ?

Just starting to play with OpenCPN, downloaded the last released version: 1.3.6 and love it (running on XP). However, I would really need to be able to import maxsea tracks. I spent hours reading the threads and found some dicussions about invisible waypoints that looked relevant, but the fixes suggested where beyond my comprehension.


Can somebody explain in plain english how to import a .ptf track file from maxsea into OpenCPN?
That would be very much appreciated.

And if the answer is "wait for the next release", that would be fine too.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
claire
claire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 08:44   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
idpnd's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Almerķa, ES
Boat: Chiquita 46 - Libertalia
Posts: 1,551
Can Maxsea export tracks in GPX format? Otherwise, a quick google search brings up this freeware gps utility which supports maxsea and gpx importing and exporting - perhaps this could be used for conversion?
__________________

__________________
sv Libertalia
idpnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 08:53   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 120
I tried GPS utility, but:
1st: all my tracks have too much data for the free version
2nd: even the partial tracks saved as .gpx files do not show up on openCPN when I import them.
__________________
claire
claire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 10:04   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 619
Can you post the gpx file? It might be then possible to investigate, what and why does not show up.
__________________
PjotrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 13:52   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 120
Here is the file
Attached Files
File Type: doc thailand.gpx.doc (40.0 KB, 228 views)
__________________
claire
claire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 14:18   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 619
The track seems OK to me. It does show immediately when imported. If you don't like the default "circle" icon for trackpoints, it can be changed e.g. to "empty" by adding to each gpx trackpoint line the text

<sym>empty</sym>

The gpx file would then look like the following

Quote:
<trkpt lat="6.300250" lon="99.850583"><sym>empty</sym><time>2010-01-11T09:40:56Z</time></trkpt>
<trkpt lat="6.299167" lon="99.850371"><sym>empty</sym><time>2010-01-11T09:41:41Z</time></trkpt>
<trkpt lat="6.297967" lon="99.850371"><sym>empty</sym><time>2010-01-11T09:42:25Z</time></trkpt>
I attach the screenshots of the default and sym=empty views (chart boundaries removed for clarity).

It is interesting to see how the track crosses the land on some chart scales (CM93).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	thailand_default_symS.jpg
Views:	300
Size:	82.7 KB
ID:	15276   Click image for larger version

Name:	thailand_empty_symS.jpg
Views:	225
Size:	71.5 KB
ID:	15277  

__________________
PjotrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 14:30   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 120
PjotrC,

Are you using R 1.3.6? I have not been able to see this track on my screen.
__________________
claire
claire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 14:33   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 619
The screenshots are actually from 2.1.0, but in 1.3.6 the default import looks like the "sym=empty" one.
__________________
PjotrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 14:55   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 120
PjotrC,

Yes, I see it now, and tested another one. Thank you!
I may have missed it the first time because it is the same colour as a lot of other stuff in CM93 charts and because it is only a fraction of the original track. It would be nice if it was a more different color than the chart colors.

Do you know of another free SW that could translate tracks into .gpx files without the size limitations of GPS utility?
__________________
claire
claire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 15:17   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 619
Claire...

If you were using 2.1.0 you could even choose some colours for tracks, by setting e.g.

Quote:
<sym>xmred</sym>
(or "xmblue", or "xmgreen").

If you have saved your voyage also as MaxSea logbook (not only the track), then it is possible to extract the recorded time, positions, etc. and convert it to gpx using Access, Excel and some text editing...For .ptf I do not know other tools, but there are so many of them...

Cheers,

Piotr
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	thailand_xmred_sym.jpg
Views:	198
Size:	33.3 KB
ID:	15284  
__________________
PjotrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 15:23   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 120
Is 2.1.0 as stable as 1.3.6?
__________________
claire
claire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 15:35   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 619
Using 2.1.0 under Vista and CM93 I experience only minor inconveniences (like the black stripe instead of the chart title in the sample above). Some chart alignment/referencing issues reported in beta testing will certainly disappear soon, so I look forward to a 5000 miles field test in June...
__________________
PjotrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 15:58   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 120
Again, thank you. It is still night here, so I go back to sleep.

Cheers
__________________
claire
claire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2010, 15:06   #14
Senior Cruiser
 
idpnd's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Almerķa, ES
Boat: Chiquita 46 - Libertalia
Posts: 1,551
Turns out this is rather interesting as a lot of confirmed tracks are shared in maxsea format, e.g. the ones on this circumnavigator's group. I haven't been able to find any satisfactory solution either, sadly gpsbabel doesn't support maxsea..
__________________
sv Libertalia
idpnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2010, 03:01   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 120
You have 2 options with GPSutility: buy a license for $60 or cut the tracks in small chunks (probably around 30 miles each at about 5/6kn, I have not yet figured it exactly)
__________________

__________________
claire
claire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
maxsea

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Colors and Segments in Tracks PjotrC OpenCPN 10 09-03-2010 14:43
Historical Hurricane Tracks, Western Pacific rigormortis Monohull Sailboats 3 15-01-2010 05:22
Main tracks on mast... Jack Long Construction, Maintenance & Refit 4 30-08-2008 19:24
Genoa tracks? bmiller General Sailing Forum 15 12-04-2006 17:02
Genoa tracks and rails. Alan Wheeler General Sailing Forum 6 23-02-2005 23:49



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 23:27.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.