Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-04-2011, 18:44   #1

How to Handle USB GPS and NMEA to USB Inputs

I'm new to this, so please bear with me. I have ordered a BT353 USB GPS for my computer. My boat has an instrument system with NMEA 0183 output which I can input to my computer with an NMEA to USB adapter cable.

My question is how do I add both the GPS and instruments NMEA to my computer so that OpenCPN will recognize them?

Do I need more hardware or software? Another option is to just use the NMEA from the instrument system since it has a GPS included in it. Would that work?

Ed
sailracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2011, 20:11   #2

Boat: Mainship Pilot 34
Re: How to handle USB GPS and NMEA to USB inputs

Sailracer:

You should read the long thread that I initiated some months ago which discusses "GPS Dropping Out" or some similar topic. Some systems don't work reliably with the BU353.

Having said that, what other instruments do you want to interface to OpenCPN with a NMEA input?

David
djmarchand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2011, 20:32   #3

You might also consider using serial connection for the NMEA data. We did that 3 years to run Expedition with data reading from Tack Tick instruments and a BU 353. The Tack Module did not have a serial connection so we wired the connector to the the module outputs.
jackdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2011, 04:06   #4

QUOTE: "what other instruments do you want to interface to OpenCPN with a NMEA input?"

I would like to include apparent wind, true wind speed, boat speed (not GPS), and magnetic compass direction.

QUOTE: "You might also consider using serial connection for the NMEA data"

That is my plan. The Nexus instruments have pin outs for NMEA. I plan to purchase an NMEA to USB adapter cable to run between the Nexus server to the laptop computer since the computer does not have a serial port plug.