Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-04-2019, 13:50   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 1
How to get GPS Position

Hi,
Can you tell me the best way to get GPS position data for OpenCPN running on a Mac? I have Raymarine Axiom Pro, and believe I can get NMEA data from the Raymarine, But i prefer to have a dedicated GPS antenna for redundancy in the event the Raymarine failed. Which GPS antennas work?
Thank you,
Ben
__________________

Ben245 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2019, 14:15   #2
Registered User
 
Spot's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Minnesota, USA
Boat: 21' trailer sailor & 8' sailing dinghy
Posts: 159
Re: How to get GPS Position

https://opencpn.org/wiki/dokuwiki/do...re:gps_devices


I am using a VFAN one off of Amazon with a Win10 tablet and it is doing fine.
__________________

__________________
Big dreams, small boats...
Spot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2019, 06:31   #3
Registered User
 
MRArnold's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Buena Vista, CO
Boat: Bounty 257 Offshore Pilot
Posts: 22
Re: How to get GPS Position

Ben,
I'm also using a Windows 10 machine so I can't comment on the Mac part.....
I have a: GlobalSat BU-353-S4 USB GPS Receiver, from Amazon, $25.

Plug & Play and has been working great.
I have been pulling my GPS & Heading Data from my WiFi network, but also have this USB-GPS puck that I can plug in quickly as a backup if something goes down on the network.


Mark-
MRArnold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2019, 06:47   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kalamata, Greece
Boat: Amel Sharki
Posts: 1,891
Re: How to get GPS Position

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben245 View Post
Hi,
Can you tell me the best way to get GPS position data for OpenCPN running on a Mac? I have Raymarine Axiom Pro, and believe I can get NMEA data from the Raymarine, But i prefer to have a dedicated GPS antenna for redundancy in the event the Raymarine failed. Which GPS antennas work?
Thank you,
Ben
Since more than 10 years I only use Bluetooth GPS devices. So I never have had any problems with drivers like the poor people using USB devices.
Actually I have a Dual XGPS160 Skypro GPS receiver.
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2019, 12:26   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 93
Re: How to get GPS Position

I'm also a fan of the GlobalSat BU-353-S4 USB GPS Receiver from Amazon. It works great for a little portable GPS with OCPN.
J805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2019, 12:22   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 66
Re: How to get GPS Position

Quote:
Originally Posted by J805 View Post
I'm also a fan of the GlobalSat BU-353-S4 USB GPS Receiver from Amazon. It works great for a little portable GPS with OCPN.
I love it too, except I can not get Version 5 to hook up to it! 4.8 worked great.
Gypsyjon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2019, 12:24   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Southern California
Posts: 93
Re: How to get GPS Position

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gypsyjon View Post
I love it too, except I can not get Version 5 to hook up to it! 4.8 worked great.



Interesting. I would create another thread so the guys can help you troubleshoot this issue. I have not tested it on v5 yet.
J805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2019, 12:36   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 66
Re: How to get GPS Position

Quote:
Originally Posted by J805 View Post
Interesting. I would create another thread so the guys can help you troubleshoot this issue. I have not tested it on v5 yet.
I did. just whining here
Gypsyjon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2019, 17:22   #9
Registered User
 
MRArnold's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Buena Vista, CO
Boat: Bounty 257 Offshore Pilot
Posts: 22
Re: How to get GPS Position

My BU-353 worked fine on 4.8 and still works on v5.


I'm on Windows 10 Lenovo laptop. I have had it plugged into 3 different USB ports and it worked on both as long as I had the Connection Enabled to the right one.
MRArnold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2019, 07:40   #10
Registered User

Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 5
Re: How to get GPS Position

I also am using OpenCPN version 5 on a Lenovo windows 10 platform.
My GPS is the SkyPro 160 Bluetooth
It shows that if I am connected through the COM3 port Outgoing but no data?
I changed it to the COM4 port Incoming but no data?

am I missing something?
gpscharts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2019, 09:35   #11
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 12,639
Re: How to get GPS Position

Start at the beginning, having done it once, the choices are clearer, and it gets easier.
https://opencpn.org/wiki/dokuwiki/do...rted:gps_setup


If there is something unclear let us know.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2019, 09:39   #12
Registered User
 
MRArnold's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Buena Vista, CO
Boat: Bounty 257 Offshore Pilot
Posts: 22
Re: How to get GPS Position

gpscharts,

I'm not sure what you are missing.
I did sort of a 'guess & check' thing to figure out what was what.

When I was working through the data ports I set up a whole bunch of ports on the Connections Tab and Enabled them all. Then I Disabled them, one by one, until I found the one that was receiving the GPS signal. Once I had the correct port & connection isolated, I just deleted all of the Connections that weren't anything.
I doubt this was helpful, as my tech skills are REALLY Poor, but it may help.....
Mark-
MRArnold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2019, 12:15   #13
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 12,639
Re: How to get GPS Position

Quote:
OpenCPN version 5 on a Lenovo windows 10 platform.
My GPS is the SkyPro 160 Bluetooth

Read in the link above



How to Configure Windows BU-353 Comm Port
How to check if the Windows Comm Port Drivers are working?

  • Use the manufacturers software (U-blox Center, GpsInfo, etc)
  • Install and run the manufacturers software (this is not the driver, that is installed already) for the device.
  • Use the manufacture software to check that the device is working properly.
  • Make note of the comm port being used, if applicable.
  • Then be sure to turn of the Manufacturer's Software as it has captured the port, such that it will not be available to Opencpn.
  • Determine the Comm Port another way from “Example - Configuring BU-353”.
  • Now that you have the comm port number, you are ready to configure OpenCPN.
How to Configure Windows OpenCPN Comm Port Connections
How to Use Options > Connections to configure Devices
How to Know the GPS is working?
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2019, 13:15   #14
Moo
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 349
Re: How to get GPS Position

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgleason View Post
Read in the link above



How to Configure Windows BU-353 Comm Port
How to check if the Windows Comm Port Drivers are working?

  • Use the manufacturers software (U-blox Center, GpsInfo, etc)
  • Install and run the manufacturers software (this is not the driver, that is installed already) for the device.
  • Use the manufacture software to check that the device is working properly.
  • Make note of the comm port being used, if applicable.
  • Then be sure to turn of the Manufacturer's Software as it has captured the port, such that it will not be available to Opencpn.
  • Determine the Comm Port another way from “Example - Configuring BU-353”.
  • Now that you have the comm port number, you are ready to configure OpenCPN.
How to Configure Windows OpenCPN Comm Port Connections
How to Use Options > Connections to configure Devices
How to Know the GPS is working?

Rick,


Your post is contradictory. you quote the OP saying that they have a SkyPro160 Bluetooth and then link them to specific instructions for a BU-353.


Do you have two posts mixed up.
Moo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2019, 13:16   #15
Moo
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 349
Re: How to get GPS Position

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpscharts View Post
I also am using OpenCPN version 5 on a Lenovo windows 10 platform.
My GPS is the SkyPro 160 Bluetooth
It shows that if I am connected through the COM3 port Outgoing but no data?
I changed it to the COM4 port Incoming but no data?

am I missing something?

Maybe. You don't need Outgoing and Incoming ports.



Post a screenshot of your comms configuration please?
__________________

Moo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gps

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible to get GPS position data from NMEA1083 into Seatalkng network? benzy Marine Electronics 7 29-05-2018 12:47
GPSD works, but OpenCPN does not get a position hakonrk OpenCPN 3 06-07-2014 15:01
How to get GPS data from Delormo LT-20 GPS and Raymarine (ethernet) on my desktop? velero OpenCPN 1 29-03-2011 13:36
Manual Entry for GPS Position cvsheppard OpenCPN 7 28-12-2009 06:29
GPS Chart Plotter Different Position than Computer Jon D Navigation 9 12-09-2005 10:43



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:06.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.