Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-08-2018, 07:25   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: live on board
Boat: Vindö 65, Ketch, 11.60m
Posts: 1
How to get a build in GPS signal in to a win.10 Tablet?

Sorry, I`m not able to get a signal from my build in GPS to OpenCpn, which is working on my Lenovo Ideapad with win.10 It would be wonderful if it could be installed like on a androidor what else must I do ...to bad is my english and specific knowledge
__________________

Hajo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2018, 14:33   #2
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 11,391
Re: How to get a build in GPS signal in to a win.10 Tablet?

Last resort, the Manual!


Read
Then search with "GPS"

or Go to Getting Started.
__________________

rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2018, 01:46   #3
Registered User
 
yachtvalhalla's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philippines
Boat: Fuji 32 Ketch
Posts: 665
Re: How to get a build in GPS signal in to a win.10 Tablet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hajo View Post
Sorry, I`m not able to get a signal from my build in GPS to OpenCpn, which is working on my Lenovo Ideapad with win.10 It would be wonderful if it could be installed like on a androidor what else must I do ...to bad is my english and specific knowledge

Don't you need to go to Settings and Location and turn on the GPS?


Terry
__________________
VALHALLA's Mooring Page
yachtvalhalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2018, 02:08   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Currently Run Aground Ashore...
Boat: Sail & Power for over 35 years, experience cruising the Eastern Caribbean, Western Med, and more
Posts: 59
Re: How to get a build in GPS signal in to a win.10 Tablet?

I just did this recently with my Lenovo YogaBook, and the simple answer is just turning on the GPS doesn't seem to work with Windows 10 (or previously with Windows 8 too it seems).

If I understand correctly from reading the various information this is because Windows outputs Location/Sensor API data, but OpenCPN needs an NMEA data stream.

I think the 2 more relevant parts from the manual are:

https://opencpn.org/wiki/dokuwiki/do...rted:gps_setup

https://opencpn.org/wiki/dokuwiki/do...n8_gnss_sensor

Fortunately there seems to be a quick and easy fix. From the second link simply download, install, and follow the very simple instructions for the small app that a user made called GeoLocationTCP.

This small app will serve the data stream as NMEA on a server port (which you then add to OpenCPN, see the GeoLocationTCP instructions):

https://bitbucket.org/petrsimon/geol...ntcp/wiki/Home

NOTE! The latest version of this app actually seems to be r9 (not r6 referred to on the home page). It can be downloaded here: https://bitbucket.org/petrsimon/geol...tcp/downloads/

And, magically, everything worked for me after that.

Here is the thread for the app: How to use OpenCPN on a tablet windows 8
jmh2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2018, 02:59   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Currently Run Aground Ashore...
Boat: Sail & Power for over 35 years, experience cruising the Eastern Caribbean, Western Med, and more
Posts: 59
Re: How to get a build in GPS signal in to a win.10 Tablet?

NB: In Windows 10, make SURE to:

- Turn ON Windows Location Service
(Settings > Location Privacy Settings)

- Turn ON the GPS device
(Settings > Turn Wireless Devices On or Off)

Note: be aware that Windows can and will use other location services such as WiFi and Cellular if for some reason the GPS is not available.

This may lead to navigation errors.
jmh2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2018, 04:32   #6
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 11,391
Re: How to get a build in GPS signal in to a win.10 Tablet?

Have made some changes to Wiki GPS Section and below here please review and advise. Thanks
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2018, 05:26   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Currently Run Aground Ashore...
Boat: Sail & Power for over 35 years, experience cruising the Eastern Caribbean, Western Med, and more
Posts: 59
Re: How to get a build in GPS signal in to a win.10 Tablet?

THANKS for making the updates

The only thing that I can add is that all references to here: https://bitbucket.org/petrsimon/geol...ntcp/wiki/Home

should also have a note in brackets to download the latest version (r9) from here:
https://bitbucket.org/petrsimon/geol...tcp/downloads/ because it is not clear and the app hasnt been supported for a couple of years so the home page isnt updated.

And, probably this page: https://opencpn.org/wiki/dokuwiki/do...n8_gnss_sensor

also needs all the same updated info that you added to the GPS Setup page please, and that it is valid for Windows 10 too.

Thanks again
jmh2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2018, 07:29   #8
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 11,391
Re: How to get a build in GPS signal in to a win.10 Tablet?

Win8 GNSS Sensor rewritten.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2018, 07:36   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Currently Run Aground Ashore...
Boat: Sail & Power for over 35 years, experience cruising the Eastern Caribbean, Western Med, and more
Posts: 59
Re: How to get a build in GPS signal in to a win.10 Tablet?

Thank you kindly, much appreciated
jmh2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2018, 09:12   #10
registered user
 
HankOnthewater's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: West Australia
Boat: plastic production yacht, suitable for deep blue water ;)
Posts: 446
Re: How to get a build in GPS signal in to a win.10 Tablet?

Thank you guys, I had the same problem with my new Yoga notebook (with windows 10), but with above information it all worked! Well, that is: reception of position is, as was said, irregular.
__________________
Wishing you all sunny skies above, clear water below, gentle winds behind and a safe port ahead,
and when coming this way check http://www.cruiserswiki.org/wiki/Albany,_Australia
HankOnthewater is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2018, 10:48   #11
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,593
Re: How to get a build in GPS signal in to a win.10 Tablet?

When you get done, test your installation for gps accuracy. Esp. moving slow check if the course is stable.



I have found many internal gps chips not up to the task. Takes a lot of smoothing on the side of the software in use.


On our mobile devices (both have gps built-in) I switch the gps off and use Garmin gps data over wifi. Much more stable.


I think quality tablets and phones do not show this limitation.


Cheers,
b.
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2018, 12:54   #12
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 11,391
Re: How to get a build in GPS signal in to a win.10 Tablet?

Thanks b.

Added testing to both places.
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 10:39   #13
Registered User

Join Date: May 2006
Boat: Garcia Passoa 47
Posts: 17
Re: How to get a build in GPS signal in to a win.10 Tablet?

We followed the info here and below to get GPD sensor in a new (2018) Microsoft Surface working.
All went well with our GPS position showing accurately. THANKS TO THOSE WHO CONTRIBUTED

However, in the Options/Connections window, when I activate "Show NMEA debug window" we see no data. When I do same on my PC with an external GPS on USB, I see the GPS data stream.
Any comments????
nmccubbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 18:18   #14
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 11,391
Re: How to get a build in GPS signal in to a win.10 Tablet?

Quote:
GPD sensor in a new (2018) Microsoft Surface working.

Quote:
Only if your Win 10/8 tablet or notebook has a GNSS Sensor ...



I have MS Surface Pro3 and use a USB Globalstar BU-353-s4 Puck and it works fine.
__________________

rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gps

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need oCPN binary dependancies for Win 7 / vs2010 / wxLib 3.0.3 / oCPN 4.6.1 build... evendine OpenCPN 5 04-03-2018 05:05
crashes on win 10 now that I have gps puck jbinbi OpenCPN 1 27-06-2016 06:46
Win 8.1 Surface Pro3 GPS rgleason OpenCPN 22 12-08-2015 17:45
new android tablet! Nexus s 7 in tablet boatsail Marine Electronics 16 01-10-2013 09:53
7" HD GPS 128M AV-IN Bluetooth TOUCH New Map 4GB WIN CE sallyforth Navigation 7 24-10-2011 09:51



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:47.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.