Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-09-2010, 10:01   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 297
How to Connect All These Instruments ?

Hello,

My boat is equipped with:
  • Furuno GP31 GPS (com 7)
  • Clipper GPS repeater (com 4)
  • Simrad IS15-wind instrument (com 7)
  • Simrad IS15 multi display (roblink)
  • Simrad IS15 depth + temperature instrument (roblink)
  • Simrad IS15 log instrument (roblink)
  • Simrad tiller pilot TP32 (com 7)
  • AIS receiver (com 1)
This is all connected together. http://www.uisge-beatha.eu/uploads/i...ingsschema.jpg


Using a commercial Dutch navigation program, I'm able to have all the instruments 'talking' to the program, using the tiller to steer a certain wind direction, to a waypoint, and just holding course.

In OpenCPN I managed to get the gps connected, and I think the AIS, although there were no boats around transmitting an AIS-signal, so I'm not sure about the test.

Does anyone on the forum has a suggestion or clue what setup I need to do?

Thanks in advance for your help!
G
__________________

__________________
George64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 18:28   #2
Registered User
 
Viking Sailor's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Francisco Bay
Boat: Fantasia 35 - s/v Feeling Good
Posts: 1,074
Try this.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	beatha.JPG
Views:	385
Size:	67.9 KB
ID:	19029  
__________________

__________________
Viking Sailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 02:18   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 297
Wow, thanks Viking! I'll be at the boat this weekend and see how to change wires.

Just one question, can you give me your thoughts behind the modification?

G
__________________
George64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 01:17   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 297
I gave Viking's modifications a try, I did work out partly. There is no wind info shown in the program. Before trying it with OpenCPN, I watched the nmea-data on each communication port. I used to different programs to test:
- Polarcom
- Nmeastudio
Both programs show the gps data, the ais-data, however no wind data.

While looking at my other program, I noticed that one of the communication ports can set to act as a nmea 183 -port with repeater options. Feature request for OpenCPN???
Maybe a multiplexer would help too, hwoever I don't have one available to test with.
__________________
George64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 02:03   #5
Registered User
 
richardhula's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Boat: S M Hudson 60' narrowboat
Posts: 347
Send a message via Skype™ to richardhula
Viking Sailors most important change is routing your GPS signal direct to instruments/AP & not via laptop, which should never be the case.

I know you have a switchable alternate GPS, but neither should route through the laptop only to it.

If you could label the COM ports & show what baud rate, plus show AIS feed it would make diagram easier to understand.

See below my setup.

__________________
Richard

If in doubt RTFM
richardhula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 04:03   #6
Registered User
 
Viking Sailor's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Francisco Bay
Boat: Fantasia 35 - s/v Feeling Good
Posts: 1,074
Updated to provide wind and depth to laptop.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	beatha.JPG
Views:	324
Size:	67.3 KB
ID:	19097  
__________________
Viking Sailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 04:27   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 297
Thanks quys for the help and work you did on changing the scheme. I'll update my scheme first.

Just to be sure, taking Viking's scheme, does that still allow me to have the AP steer to wind or to steer to a route (besides it already holds course )?

@richardhula: would pls explain why it is better to have the gps signal directly go to the instruments?

Thanks!
__________________
George64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 04:34   #8
Registered User
 
richardhula's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Boat: S M Hudson 60' narrowboat
Posts: 347
Send a message via Skype™ to richardhula
Quote:
Originally Posted by George64 View Post
@richardhula: would pls explain why it is better to have the gps signal directly go to the instruments?

Thanks!
If you loose or disconnect laptop, you loose GPS feed to everything else.

I know you have redundancy here but its still not good practice.

GPS receiver output can feed several devices so anything that requires position data can be connected directly to it. KISS principle.
__________________
Richard

If in doubt RTFM
richardhula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 04:58   #9
Registered User
 
Viking Sailor's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Francisco Bay
Boat: Fantasia 35 - s/v Feeling Good
Posts: 1,074
This update adds wind steering to the Geonav path. The IS15 wind instrument and multi-display are now single points of failure.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	beatha.JPG
Views:	175
Size:	67.9 KB
ID:	19098  
__________________
Viking Sailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 05:06   #10
Registered User
 
Viking Sailor's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Francisco Bay
Boat: Fantasia 35 - s/v Feeling Good
Posts: 1,074
Richard,

The Geonav 4C has a built-in GPS receiver.

Paul
__________________
Viking Sailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 05:33   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 297
Maybe to clarify, I either use the laptop or the geonav to connect to all other instruments (next to charts...). The laptop is inside and the geonav is outside. If the laptop is working, I usually have the geonav outside because it is a very handy chart plotter and ocasionaly connect it to the other instruments. So to say, for electronic navication I mostly use my laptop and sometimes the geonav.

G
__________________
George64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2010, 03:37   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 297
I updated the diagram to show more detail. Also gave Viking's drawing a go, no luck to get it up and running. Information to steer using wind or route info is lost. Have to have a closer look into the wiring while aboard.
Would a multiplexer solve the question?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Bedradingsschema.jpg
Views:	474
Size:	84.8 KB
ID:	19191  
__________________

__________________
George64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mahe 36: Instruments jean1146 Fountaine Pajot 123 05-04-2017 23:47
How to Connect a Hertz Gauge to a Generator ? luso Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 2 23-04-2010 23:24
Connect Solar Panels in Series or Parallel? gandalf Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 2 27-01-2010 20:04
Wind Instruments coloradoblue Marine Electronics 7 02-03-2009 01:09



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:36.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.