Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-09-2015, 07:07   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 5
How can I connect AIS to my Laptop?

Hello all

i am on board now and i have a problem.
i looked all forums checked all docs. about this but i cant solve problem. First of all i have this equipments;

-sperry marine R4 ais and pilot plug 5pins



-serial port data cable



-rs232 to usb adapter



-notebook (windows10)

-opencpn 3.3.1606

Allready i loaded rs232 driver and system see with com3.

Ais try to connect
-ais pin 1 to rs232 pin 2
-Ais pin 4 to rs232 pin 5
Because all forums write this ways. But i didnt see any nmea on my laptop after i try all combinations unfortunatly doesnt work.

What is the wrong .?

Pls help thnks for all
__________________

__________________
Mehmet_can1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2015, 07:10   #2
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 571
re: How can I connect AIS to my Laptop?

First of all, if you have internet connection onboars, upgrade opencpn to version 4, your version of opencpn is outdated and a lot of bug has been solved,,,, then start to troubleshhot you conections
__________________

__________________
petter5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2015, 07:43   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 5
re: How can I connect AIS to my Laptop?

I uploaded 4.0 but stiill doesnt work




I connect this

/
__________________
Mehmet_can1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2015, 07:46   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 5
re: How can I connect AIS to my Laptop?

__________________
Mehmet_can1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2015, 08:50   #5
Registered User
 
jstevens's Avatar

Join Date: May 2006
Location: On board Sarah, currently lying in Jacksonville, FL
Boat: Pearson, 424, 42', Sarah
Posts: 582
Images: 4
re: How can I connect AIS to my Laptop?

Mehmet,
I assume you have successfully installed the R4 as a stand alone AIS transponder and are receiving AIS target data on the R4 display.

I have no experience with this unit, and it is likely only a commercial ship's officer or pilot would have any direct experience.

I did a quick scan of the installation manual and the only suggestion I can make is to connect the common ground (pin 9 on the pilot plug) to the signal ground (pin 5) on the DB9 connector, instead of or in conjunction with the transmit b (pin 4 on the pilot plug).

Before that make sure you are consistent with the pin assignments on the adapters you are using.

Good luck,
John
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	R42015-09-23_9-42-26.png
Views:	1826
Size:	108.5 KB
ID:	109700   Click image for larger version

Name:	R42015-09-23_9-45-23.png
Views:	935
Size:	50.5 KB
ID:	109701  

__________________
jstevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2015, 10:14   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 5
re: How can I connect AIS to my Laptop?

Thnks john

Yes R4 working good and there are to much targets on the display unit

And i have installation manuel and i know this diagram i tryed your combiantion but didnt work.

Maybe needs different device. But it must work this way. I dont understand i will search true way. If i find will write here thnks

Discharge cargo time

By
__________________
Mehmet_can1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2015, 10:48   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orust Sweden
Boat: Najad 34
Posts: 1,967
re: How can I connect AIS to my Laptop?

From your pin out description, Transmit A/Transmit B, it's seems to be a RS422/485 connection. The signal is then between A and B. RS232 gadgets can sometimes read RS422 but it depends on how the port's electronic are performed. If you happens to have access to a RS442-RS232 or a RS422-USB -converter it would be good test.
Håkan
__________________
Hakan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2015, 14:52   #8
Registered User
 
jstevens's Avatar

Join Date: May 2006
Location: On board Sarah, currently lying in Jacksonville, FL
Boat: Pearson, 424, 42', Sarah
Posts: 582
Images: 4
re: How can I connect AIS to my Laptop?

If all else fails you could bite the bullet and buy a Pilot Plug-USB cable to make the connection. Pricey, but it should get you what you want.

AIS Pilot Plug USB Cable 3 Meters | eBay

John
__________________
jstevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2015, 14:56   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Monastir, Tunisia
Boat: Amel Sharki
Posts: 1,777
re: How can I connect AIS to my Laptop?

Standard NMEA0183 is RS422 with data lines A and B. To use it as PC input via RS232 you need line A and ground but not line B.

Gerhard
__________________
CarCode is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2015, 15:16   #10
Registered User
 
jstevens's Avatar

Join Date: May 2006
Location: On board Sarah, currently lying in Jacksonville, FL
Boat: Pearson, 424, 42', Sarah
Posts: 582
Images: 4
Re: How can I connect AIS to my Laptop?

One last suggestion is to make sure the pins on the Pilot Plug are active by checking the voltage between the A & B and the A & C pins. At 38400 B I'm not sure that a normal voltmeter will detect the voltage changes associated with the data signals, but if you lower the baud rate to 4800 you should see the voltage swings from+ to -. At least that would tell you the R4 is actually transmitting something even if you can't display the data.

John
__________________
jstevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2015, 01:46   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Halmatic 30
Posts: 403
Re: How can I connect AIS to my Laptop?

Some chipsets in the serial/usb adapter are no longer supported from Windows 8. Perhaps the problem is the serial/usb adapter.

I have here a GPS USB mouse working with Win7 and no longer in Win8. Problem is the serial/usb chip. Chipset is the Prolific PL2303. Some versions of these chips work and others not. Not working here is the chipset PL2303HX. It is a Windows problem. Working without problems in Linux.

Bram
__________________
verkerkbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2015, 07:49   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 8
Re: How can I connect AIS to my Laptop?

I do not recognize the USB adapter in your photo so if I get tell you something that yo already know please excuse me.

First-You need a Serial to USB converter such as a Keyspan or an Edgeport--to connect any serioal port to a USB port.

Second--NMEA OUT goes to NMEA IN (Blue to Brown) And NMEA IN goes to NMEA OUT Brown to Blue

Third---Make certain that the com port you select is not being held captive by some other device-----external USB--GPS units are real culprits here.


You need to set Open CPN to 38,400 Baud which is also called NMEA HI Speed. If you do not set this properly it wont work.

Finally----Even if you have all of this correct try a different USB port---this is also a problem. Once you get this going do not ever change the actual USB soclet you plug into. A USB port is NOT a Com Port. USB is the socket on your computer---a COM port is Virtual. This is the most common problem with all of this.

You can find some really nice diagrams of this on the Good Old Boat Web sight.
Hope this helps
Ed
__________________
Drummer Buoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2015, 09:32   #13
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,392
Re: How can I connect AIS to my Laptop?

By the way, if you have used USB a lot, with different devices, you may want to carefully clear out all the historic settings of usb in windows. There are several usb tools which will allow you to inspect this list and remove individual entries. Doing this ( avoiding hd etc). Helped my usb behavior. Label all usb cables and ports so you use the same connections after that.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2015, 19:54   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 5
Re: How can I connect AIS to my Laptop?

Thnks for all answers. I tryed ;
-change usb port
-format laptop. back to win 7
-again load converter driver
-other combinations for ais to rs232
Problem NOT SOLVED

Finaly we've ordered it

AIS Pilot Plug WiFi (AW2016M) 32 Clients Accessed Builtin GPS [AW2016M] - $239.00 : PilotsTECH, AIS TO WIFI,NMEA TO WIFI,AIS PILOT PLUG WIFI

Problem will be solve next week. Thnks again
__________________
Mehmet_can1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2015, 21:01   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,699
Re: How can I connect AIS to my Laptop?

the pilot port on the screen needs to be connected to the R4 juntion box with it's own cable. many are not, as most people do not use this port. it will have a few cables on the back of the display. for power, data, and pilot port.


I would check that first. try plugging the laptop direct to the nmea183 connections at the juntion box, not at the pilot port. the juntion will have a few nmea 183 inputs / outputs along with the pilot port connections


or try hooking up your laptop to a gps or other source to confirm the serial adapter and cable are working.


I've connected many R4 ais units to computers but never using the pilot port. always hard wired to the juntion box.
__________________

__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais, laptop

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AIS Live Shipping Map - Has Anyone Found a Way To Connect This To Opencpn? charliehows OpenCPN 0 04-09-2012 16:03
How to connect AIS with Ethernet in Opencpn rakhesh Navigation 9 28-06-2012 11:02
VSPE to Connect AIS and NMEA Bus to One Serial PC Port Helmsmatt OpenCPN 12 15-08-2011 12:24
No GPS/AIS Connect with Betas ktcanuck OpenCPN 4 26-05-2011 03:52
Can You Get Radar & AIS Overlay on Laptop ? AIS Transceiver Recommendations ? lunasea.ds Marine Electronics 22 27-12-2010 14:06



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:06.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.