Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-01-2010, 17:40   #121
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Boat: Peterson 44
Posts: 13
Okay Thomas, I added chart one to the file and I've now got charts in my window. Why? Don't know.
__________________

__________________
a_hoffner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2010, 06:12   #122
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Angers - France
Boat: Beneteau First 29 Ptizef
Posts: 736
Hi , everybody
Does somebody use the COMAR AIS-2-USB device with OpenCpn ?
Is it compatible ?
Many thanks for your contribution
Jean Pierre
__________________

__________________
Ptizef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2010, 10:15   #123
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Marina Del Rey
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 387
Jean Pierre
I have been using the COMAR AIS-2-USB with OpenCPN for about 6 weeks.
It works fine.
Chuck
__________________
ChuckSK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2010, 11:34   #124
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Angers - France
Boat: Beneteau First 29 Ptizef
Posts: 736
Chuck
Thanks for your answer . You relieve me , I've ordered one
Just one more question : how did you set AIS data port , as there is no com port n ?
Jean Pierre
__________________
Ptizef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2010, 11:54   #125
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Marina Del Rey
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 387
Jean Pierre
The USB driver creates a virtual com port that causes the USB device to look like a standard com device. The virtual com port appears in the AIS port selection menu.
Chuck
__________________
ChuckSK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2010, 12:13   #126
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Angers - France
Boat: Beneteau First 29 Ptizef
Posts: 736
Chuck
OK , it's clear for me
Thanks again
Jean Pierre
__________________
Ptizef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2010, 12:57   #127
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Arzon le Crouesty Britany France
Boat: kelt 39 DI
Posts: 4
hello,
I use the latest version.
I compared the reception of AIS target with 2 programs: opencpn and seaclear.
Opencpn not find the "fixed target" such as semaphores to earth, while seaclear yes!

why?
__________________
louzou56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2010, 13:30   #128
Registered User
 
jonasaberg's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kristiansand, Norway
Boat: Wasa 410
Posts: 304
Hi louzou56,
Do you mean lighthouse? (un phare?)

This is interesting.
So in addition to which NMEA sentences sent and received we need to list which AIS targets are handled. (All eventually I hope...)

/J
__________________
jonasaberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2010, 13:50   #129
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Arzon le Crouesty Britany France
Boat: kelt 39 DI
Posts: 4
I'm testing with semaphores Navy (base station).
I had two targets and nothing appears with opencpn!
__________________
louzou56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2010, 13:58   #130
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Arzon le Crouesty Britany France
Boat: kelt 39 DI
Posts: 4
I'm testing with semaphores Navy (base station).
I had two targets and nothing appears with opencpn!
__________________
louzou56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2010, 12:32   #131
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Berkshire
Boat: Looking for a live aboard
Posts: 20
Hello, I dont know where else to go, I hope this is the right forum for advice. Ive a pretty basic and cheap set up.

Ive one of these:
DigiBOAT
With Windows7.

Im using OpenCPN and have loaded up my CM93 charts. The dongle has its own diagnostic tool, it shows GPS output being logged and gives me an accurate position.
The dongle is NMEA 0183 capable.
The OpenCPN is configured on the same com port as the dongle and the NMEA stream shows a regular feed in, but only the timestamp is inteilligable, the rest of that GPS data stream is similar to a garbled stream of Ascii characters.

The upper right window where the chart name is, is coloured pale red, showing that the GPS is not quite configured correctly.

If I click on the auto follow, it doesnt locate my yacht.

Any ideas what I need to do ?

Many thanks,
Mark
__________________
sausage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2010, 13:24   #132
Registered User
 
jonasaberg's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kristiansand, Norway
Boat: Wasa 410
Posts: 304
Which operating system are you using?
win xp/vista/win7 ??

Best is if you can open a terminal session and check the incoming data. Use hyperterminal or download something like e.g.
tera term (Tera Term - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia)

Point it at the com port, set it for 4800bdr and observe the NMEA strings. If they are garbled there is some problem with the com port settings or the device. If everything looks fine and you still cant get a fix in OpenCPN post the output of the terminal window here.

/Jonas
__________________
jonasaberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2010, 15:15   #133
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Berkshire
Boat: Looking for a live aboard
Posts: 20
Hello Jonas,
TTermpro - that brings back memories :-)

Ill keep looking, but in the meantime I am on Windows7 and here is a sample of the output from the com port.

WNa+tZ#Sie"eJFFKB\b‚!Ma+T5‰"eJFKB \b[JaMŠa+BT%„5‰""MBRgŠ5LBca

‚˜CB
&Bb[JaMŠa+B&D"„'""mJBF†K
\b!M.WŠa+T%„5‰""MBRgŠ5b„‚Ja4Zʣi# "mŠBRgFc5b[JaMŠa+BT%„u‰""mBFK£\baM7Ša+BT%„5‰""m ŠBFK£\΁Z
J>‚N‚!ZBb[JaM7Ša+BT%„5‰""MBZgŠ5b[DeJBMWa+J4J#a.M‚FF
Lb[DeŠBM†WNa+ZʣSi"mJBF†K£\b[DeŠBMWa+JtZJ#ie

Ive then tried reducing the buffer sizes and also switching of the FIFO buffer altogether.
The manual for the dongle states that it works at 38400 baud. Which I have treid and also 4800 as per your guidance with TTerm. Both resulted in highly similar outputs.

Sp then I set the TTerm and the dongle to work at 38400 then I get a sensible stream into TTerm. This looks like the stream that the diagnostic tool (which came with the dongle) shows.

For example...
$GPRMC,232311.000,A,5047.9054,N,00107.2311,W,0.0,1 98.7,260110,,,A*76
$GPGGA,232311.000,5047.9054,N,00107.2311,W,1,09,0. 9,-15.7,M,57.6,M,,0000*5D
$GPVTG,198.7,T,,M,0.0,N,0.0,K,A*0A
$GPGLL,5047.9054,N,00107.2311,W,232311.00,A,A*72
$GPGSA,A,3,09,12,15,17,18,22,26,27,28,,,,1.7,0.9,1 .5*33
$GPRMC,232312.000,A,5047.9054,N,00107.2311,W,0.0,1 98.7,260110,,,A*75
$GPGGA,232312.000,5047.9054,N,00107.2311,W,1,09,0. 9,-15.7,M,57.6,M,,0000*5E
$GPVTG,198.7,T,,M,0.0,N,0.0,K,A*0A
$GPGLL,5047.9054,N,00107.2311,W,232312.00,A,A*71
$GPGSA,A,3,09,12,15,17,18,22,26,27,28,,,,1.7,0.9,1 .5*33
$GPRMC,232313.000,A,5047.9054,N,00107.2311,W,0.0,1 98.7,260110,,,A*74
$GPGGA,232313.000,5047.9054,N,00107.2311,W,1,09,0. 9,-15.7,M,57.6,M,,0000*5F
$GPVTG,198.7,T,,M,0.0,N,0.0,K,A*0A
$GPGLL,5047.9054,N,00107.2311,W,232313.00,A,A*70
$GPGSA,A,3,09,12,15,17,18,22,26,27,28,,,,1.7,0.9,1 .5*33
$GPRMC,232314.000,A,5047.9054,N,00107.2311,W,0.0,1 98.7,260110,,,A*73
$GPGGA,232314.000,5047.9054,N,00107.2311,W,1,09,0. 9,-15.7,M,57.6,M,,0000*58
$GPVTG,198.7,T,,M,0.0,N,0.0,K,A*0A
$GPGLL,5047.9054,N,00107.2311,W,232314.00,A,A*77
$GPGSA,A,3,09,12,15,17,18,22,26,27,28,,,,1.7,0.9,1 .5*33
$GPRMC,232315.000,A,5047.9054,N,00107.2311,W,0.0,1 98.7,260110,,,A*72
$GPGGA,232315.000,5047.9054,N,00107.2311,W,1,09,0. 9,-15.7,M,57.6,M,,0000*59

So, does this mean, that OpenCPN cannot work at 38400 baud?

I also tried setting the dongle to work at 4800 baud with OpenCPN, the datastream is still garbled.

Regards and many thanks for getting involved.
Mark
__________________
sausage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2010, 15:35   #134
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Berkshire
Boat: Looking for a live aboard
Posts: 20
Jonas - update.
It seems that whatever I set the dongle to work at makes no change.
However, if I set Tterm to work at 38400 then I can see the output.

Examples:
Dongle set at 4800, Terror Term 4800
001"MJkFZʣbJo­Feo*B"MʯkFZʣb Jo­JaBZXD"MʯiFZʣbZDeo#rZX­D "mJ%Bᆣb[Deo#DBBZ2C
"m
BF,|%PzȡBLb[Doc25
BZRCu"MʯK
Zʣb[Deoc25
BZrCu"m


Dongle set at 4800, Terror Term 34800

$GPGSA,A,3,09,12,15,17,18,22,26,27,28,,,,1.7,0.9,1 .5*33
$GPRMC,233435.000,A,5047.9139,N,00107.2255,W,0.0,0 .0,260110,,,A*7A
$GPGGA,233435.000,5047.9139,N,00107.2255,W,1,09,0. 9,-24.3,M,57.6,M,,0000*50
$GPVTG,0.0,T,,M,0.0,N,0.0,K,A*0D
$GPGLL,5047.9139,N,00107.2255,W,233435.00,A,A*79
Hope this helps.
__________________
sausage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2010, 11:41   #135
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Berkshire
Boat: Looking for a live aboard
Posts: 20
Excellent news.

After receiving first class support from the manurfacturers of the dongle in the USA I got a patch for thier dignostic utility which enabled me to set the baud rate of the dongle to 4800.

OpenCPN located my yacht immediately and I have a sensible stream of GPS data as well.

Jonas, thanks for your help!

Very very happy about it.

Mark
__________________

__________________
sausage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:03.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.