Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2016, 07:47   #1096
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Singapore
Posts: 9
Re: Help / FAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by nohal View Post
Martin...
There are more than 100000 installations of OpenCPN 4.2.0 at this moment, believe me, we would know the installer is "not good" by now...
We are not using Sourceforge for downloads anymore.

Pavel
Pavel - you are correct, it's a problem with the download. I have tried multiple downloads from different internet connections (work, home, 4G) on 2 different computers but it's extremely slow and the connection to the server is closed at some stage. So I only get a partial download (see attached picture) and that's why the installer does not work.
I will try again in a few days but at least I now know what my problem is.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	downloads.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	336.3 KB
ID:	123627  
__________________

__________________
martins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2016, 08:22   #1097
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Singapore
Posts: 9
Re: Help / FAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by transmitterdan View Post
Sometimes a local virus will try to "attach" itself to a downloaded .exe file as a way of tricking the user into giving it a higher privilege level accorded to installers. Have you run a good virus and malware checker lately?

I just downloaded the file from here:

http://opencpn.navnux.org/4.2.0/opencpn_4.2.0_setup.exe

It worked perfectly on Windows 10 so the problem is not the installer file. It is something local to you I suspect.
Thank you.

That link and download worked fine for me. My problem is solved,
__________________

__________________
martins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2016, 15:53   #1098
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Townsville, Australia
Boat: Beneteau 430
Posts: 5
Re: Help / FAQ

Can you please advise is it possible to edit a track? My GPS drops out from time to time leaving a wild line that is part of the current track, I would like to be able to edit out this line before backing up the track.
__________________
marathon lady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2016, 14:49   #1099
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,230
Re: Help / FAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by marathon lady View Post
Can you please advise is it possible to edit a track? My GPS drops out from time to time leaving a wild line that is part of the current track, I would like to be able to edit out this line before backing up the track.
Yes you can! I have the same problem from time to time.
You have to save your tracks by "exporting" them from the "properties"-dialog or route-manager->track tab. The .gpx file you create, is the one to edit.
It consists of "points" that look like this

Quote:
<trkpt lat="18.316233333" lon="-64.961133333">
<time>2015-12-29T12:39:40Z</time>
</trkpt>
Find which to pont(s) to delete by their, "wild", out of sequence lat/long, or it may be a few of the points in the beginning. Just delete the concerned points (backups are good), delete the old track and load the edited track to check your work.

/Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2016, 23:30   #1100
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 3
Re: Help / FAQ

Please help. I have downloaded open cpn but cannot get the detailed tool bar and cannot get sufficient detail on the charts.
Any suggestions?
Mike
__________________
Michael Hein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2016, 01:56   #1101
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 3,963
Re: Help / FAQ

Michael...
Did you actually install some charts?

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2016, 06:15   #1102
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Monastir, Tunisia
Boat: Westerly Pentland
Posts: 1,734
Re: Help / FAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Hein View Post
Please help. I have downloaded open cpn but cannot get the detailed tool bar and cannot get sufficient detail on the charts.
Any suggestions?
Mike
What about reading the manual? Sometimes it helps...

Gerhard
__________________
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2016, 05:39   #1103
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Boat: Irwin 37 CC
Posts: 660
Re: Help / FAQ

also, post a screen shot
__________________
David Kester
Pegasus IV
wdkester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2016, 10:03   #1104
Registered User
 
svcattales's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Apollo Beach, Fl
Boat: Privilege 37
Posts: 533
Images: 10
Re: Help / FAQ

I have an issue with my OCPN that I haven't seen elsewhere so I suspect it's with my setup. At times I have slow response or no response when zooming in or out on a raster chart. This occurs when clicking plus or minus icon on toolbar or using the scrolling wheel on Bluetooth mouse. Other functions on toolbar seem to work fine. (W 8.1, Ver 4.2 with OpenGl selected)

There seems to be some relationship to data connections for GPS, Autopilot, GRadar, and AIS. When I zoom with no data connections, zooming is fast and no delays. It seems that increasing connections decreases zooming speed; e.g. GPS only zooming is responsive, but adding autopilot, GRadar and AIS slows it down. I have looked at NMEA debug window and there are lots of sentences going back and forth, but no errors or anything unusual. I have limited inbound sentences from autopilot to heading only. I have not restricted any other NMEA sentences. All other functions and plugins are working fine.

Any ideas on how to isolate this issue?
__________________
Greg, SV Cat Tales
svcattales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2016, 12:07   #1105
Registered User
 
Ivanm's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 117
Re: Help / FAQ

Is there a way to delete a waypoint in a layer

Sent from my SM-G920F using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________
Ivanm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2016, 05:31   #1106
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Boat: Irwin 37 CC
Posts: 660
Re: Help / FAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivanm View Post
Is there a way to delete a waypoint in a layer

Sent from my SM-G920F using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
Import as a GPX file, delete the WP, export.
__________________
David Kester
Pegasus IV
wdkester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2016, 12:47   #1107
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Piewiet 1000, 10 m
Posts: 28
Re: Help / FAQ

When I want to choose a different icon for a mark in Waypoint Properties the list is bigger then my screen so the lowest icons are not visible.
What can I do about it?

Paul
__________________
Paul Munnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2016, 12:58   #1108
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Monastir, Tunisia
Boat: Westerly Pentland
Posts: 1,734
Re: Help / FAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Munnik View Post
When I want to choose a different icon for a mark in Waypoint Properties the list is bigger then my screen so the lowest icons are not visible.
What can I do about it?

Paul
Usually I use "Scrolling" the list. But I use the latest OpenCPN version and together with a known operating system. You might tell us which OpenCPN version you use and which operating system. So the chance to give you an advice will be higher...

Gerhard
__________________
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2016, 03:06   #1109
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Piewiet 1000, 10 m
Posts: 28
Re: Help / FAQ

Hello Gerhard,
I use Ocpn V4,2 and W7. I use a laptop.
I scroll the 'side bar' down but still the lowest icons that I can choose from are out of sight. The window with the icons is bigger than my sreen. The lowest visible is the triangle.

Paul
__________________
Paul Munnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2016, 04:05   #1110
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Monastir, Tunisia
Boat: Westerly Pentland
Posts: 1,734
Re: Help / FAQ

Paul,

I have started a virtual machine with Windows7 and installed OpenCPN 4.2.0 and I must admit the icons choose window is ugly. Even when the fonts are smaller the problem is still there.
So I have no other advise then to use another machine or to claim for this bug the programmers. I don't have this problem with Mac OSX.

Gerhard
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IconsWin7.png
Views:	70
Size:	167.0 KB
ID:	125878   Click image for larger version

Name:	IconsWin7small.png
Views:	72
Size:	121.7 KB
ID:	125879  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IconsMac.png
Views:	64
Size:	76.5 KB
ID:	125880  
__________________

__________________
CarCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:11.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.