Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-04-2015, 09:10   #931
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 8,997
Re: Help / FAQ

Thanks Pavel. Trying to help. Will look at two dif opencpn.ini then try to find the commit, then git bisect. Never done that.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________

__________________
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2015, 09:16   #932
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 3,903
Re: Help / FAQ

The .ini corruption issue has been in the 4.1 branch for weeks. I could not find which commit caused it but it happened well over 2 months ago I believe. I think it will get sorted when the developers get closer to releasing 4.1 to beta.
__________________

__________________
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2015, 18:56   #933
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto,SE Florida, East Med
Boat: Dehler, Cruising 41 - BEBECA
Posts: 47
Send a message via Skype™ to deltasig
Re: Help / FAQ

I compile opencpn from git and run it on RPiB+. Everything I tried works great including BU-353-S4 with gpsd and AIS through RTL2832U using CM93 (Jan 2011). My on-board system requires a NMEA low voltage serial stream and I thought if I connect it to the GPIO serial pins, OPENCPN could re-output the stream it gets from gpsd to the ttyAMA0.
So in the OPENCPN set up I added a serial connection to output NMEA to /dev/ttyAMA0. The NMEA monitor shows the accepted gpsd sentences (green) and the ouput to the ttyAMA0 (blue) but without the <x0D><x0A> at the end.
cat-ing the output of ttyAMA0 I don't see a thing; can it be that the sentences are not delimited properly (crlf)?
stty -a < /dev/ttyAMA0 looks OK and I have disabled the login on it.
Is there a way to check that the output gets to the /dev/ttyAMA0 without actually connecting hardware to it (still cold for the boat).
__________________
deltasig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2015, 08:05   #934
Registered User
 
boat_alexandra's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Masachusetts
Boat: bristol 27
Posts: 2,788
Re: Help / FAQ

maybe you can jumper the output to the input.

It's a bit pointless without nothing connected so maybe you can wait until you do.
__________________
boat_alexandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2015, 09:14   #935
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: PA, sail Chesapeake
Boat: Lots of boats.
Posts: 371
Re: Help / FAQ

A couple of short questions. How do I change the depth colors? The "gray" is a little too dark for my safe waters depth. The depth numbers are very hard to see except at just the right magnification. Wish it was a lot lighter in color. Even "white" for deep waters (channels) does not seem all that white to me. Seems like a very light blue. Colors in Polar View are easier to read. Other than that, I much prefer OPENCPN.

The other question, also related to depth is, do they have a depth alarm (plugin) that uses the depth shown on the charts (no transducer input)? I have a flaky depth meter and this would provide a nice backup to that.

Thanks!
Bob
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	opencpn01.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	422.1 KB
ID:	101106   Click image for larger version

Name:	poloarview01.jpg
Views:	112
Size:	439.4 KB
ID:	101107  

__________________
hsi88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2015, 12:01   #936
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Boat: Irwin 37 CC
Posts: 660
Re: Help / FAQ

You can change the display of depths a bit by going to Options>Charts>Vector Charts

Toward the bottom of the pafe are Shallow Depth, Safety Depth, and Deep Depth.

Depths less than Safety Depth are presented in bold numbers.

That said, I agree that other depths are difficult to read.

Here is a discussion of the subject:

Sounding size adjustment on Vector Charts
__________________
David Kester
Pegasus IV
wdkester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2015, 14:04   #937
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Boat: Irwin 37 CC
Posts: 660
Re: Help / FAQ

Try this
Originally Posted by HappySeagull
Have you tried to set your Safety depth to 500 metres! They're all black now for me!in BC
you can leave Shallow and Deep wherever you like but keep 4 colours
__________________
David Kester
Pegasus IV
wdkester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2015, 15:07   #938
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: PA, sail Chesapeake
Boat: Lots of boats.
Posts: 371
Re: Help / FAQ

Appreciate the guidance. That helped and taught me a few things about how this all works. I found info on the vector pallet and it seems that some of the background colors could be changed there very easily (XML). But I'm not sure what all the acronyms are. For example DEPDW would seem to be DEPth Deep Water. But when I changed it and restarted OpenCPN, nothing happened. Is this better documented somewhere?
__________________
hsi88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2015, 16:01   #939
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Boat: Irwin 37 CC
Posts: 660
Re: Help / FAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by hsi88 View Post
Appreciate the guidance. That helped and taught me a few things about how this all works. I found info on the vector pallet and it seems that some of the background colors could be changed there very easily (XML). But I'm not sure what all the acronyms are. For example DEPDW would seem to be DEPth Deep Water. But when I changed it and restarted OpenCPN, nothing happened. Is this better documented somewhere?
I don't think so. The only internal file that I have messed with is the .ini file.
__________________
David Kester
Pegasus IV
wdkester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2015, 16:38   #940
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: PA, sail Chesapeake
Boat: Lots of boats.
Posts: 371
Re: Help / FAQ

Yikes, this is a little more fragile than I expected. I just changed the one color value in the XML and all of my buoys and depths disappeared. I even restored the original XML file and they are still gone. Even though Show Depth Units, Depth Soundings and Chart Information Objects are all checked. Even recycled OpenCPN and those objects are not there any more. I guess I need to reinstall at this point. Editing the XML, even when restored does something internally to lose the objects. Oh well.
__________________
hsi88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015, 14:20   #941
Registered User
 
BluegillBoy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicago
Boat: Endeavour TrawlerCat 36 - My Bluegill Heaven
Posts: 154
Help / FAQ - display river miles

i'm headed out tomorrow for the first time in 6 months. : (

i fired up OCPN and loaded charts, but can't get the mile number to appear beside each mile marker on the chart. the marker appears inpink every mile, but not the mile number which has always appeared about an inch to the right of the marker. (the "mile" marker reads okm, instead of omi which is already on the list to fix, but that's another subject.)

i had this happen once before and remember there's something really simple like clicking a button, but must be getting old and can't remember or find it in the help file.

using USACE river charts for the tennessee and tombigbee system
using OpenGL
Mariners Standard with the only thing unchecked is Lights, all else is checked
yup, the enc text button is clicked on the tool bar to turn on text

help. and thanks for reminding me of whatever simple thing i'm forgetting.
__________________
BluegillBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015, 17:02   #942
Registered User
 
BluegillBoy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicago
Boat: Endeavour TrawlerCat 36 - My Bluegill Heaven
Posts: 154
Re: Help / FAQ solved - sorta

Uogreded to v4 and everything worked properly. Was on 3.2.2. Kept all the same settings, so I still don't know what the problem was but I'm good to go.
__________________
BluegillBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015, 17:13   #943
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,394
Re: Help / FAQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by hsi88 View Post
A couple of short questions. How do I change the depth colors? The "gray" is a little too dark for my safe waters depth. The depth numbers are very hard to see except at just the right magnification. Wish it was a lot lighter in color. Even "white" for deep waters (channels) does not seem all that white to me. Seems like a very light blue. Colors in Polar View are easier to read. Other than that, I much prefer OPENCPN.

The other question, also related to depth is, do they have a depth alarm (plugin) that uses the depth shown on the charts (no transducer input)? I have a flaky depth meter and this would provide a nice backup to that.

Thanks!
Bob
Bob, you might try here in the online manual

Vector Palette | Official OpenCPN Homepage
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2015, 02:29   #944
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 179
Re: Help / FAQ

I am having problems logging in on opencpn.org.

The system does seem to have problems storing my password.
If I reset my password I can login and change and save my password, but if I logout I cannot login again and have to reset my password again.
I have send a mail to webmaster@opencpn.org but got no reaction at all.

Does somebody know another way to get in contact with to get this fixed?

Thanks,
Peter
__________________
ptulp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2015, 07:32   #945
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Boat: Irwin 37 CC
Posts: 660
Re: Help / FAQ - display river miles

Quote:
Originally Posted by BluegillBoy View Post
i'm headed out tomorrow for the first time in 6 months. : (

i fired up OCPN and loaded charts, but can't get the mile number to appear beside each mile marker on the chart. the marker appears inpink every mile, but not the mile number which has always appeared about an inch to the right of the marker. (the "mile" marker reads okm, instead of omi which is already on the list to fix, but that's another subject.)

i had this happen once before and remember there's something really simple like clicking a button, but must be getting old and can't remember or find it in the help file.

using USACE river charts for the tennessee and tombigbee system
using OpenGL
Mariners Standard with the only thing unchecked is Lights, all else is checked
yup, the enc text button is clicked on the tool bar to turn on text

help. and thanks for reminding me of whatever simple thing i'm forgetting.
It's working for me on the ICWW. On the ICWW the distance mark (DISMAR) object is in text and no attempt is made to change it to your units setting. For the ICWW it is Statute Miles. There is a orphan "km" that seems to be appended to the message.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1km.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	224.0 KB
ID:	101666  
__________________

__________________
David Kester
Pegasus IV
wdkester is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:33.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.