Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-02-2011, 10:05   #376
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 619
AllezCat...

I understand you are trying a serial connection with Prolific serial->USB converter, but if your Device Manager cannot see the port added, OpenCPN will not see it either...
With GPS72H you can use the direct USB connection, without Prolific converter. For me it works much better, but then you need the Garmin USB drivers installed: get them as USBDrivers_23.exe from the Garmin software download page (Additional Software/Drivers). Use the USB cable delivered with your GPS72H or a camera cable w/mini USB plug on one end. Then look for GARMIN in Device Manager...

Success,

Piotr
__________________

__________________
PjotrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 12:56   #377
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 617
Piotr,
thanks for the info.
Have downloaded the drivers.
Interesting, the GPS did not come with any drivers disk or cables. But I have one.
Can set the GPS to
Serial Data Format:
GARMIN
USB(GARMIN Data Format)
Connected
(If I unplug the USB it shows - Not Connected)
But openCPN doesn't do anything

Tried the other settings:
Serial Data Format:
NMEA
baud
4800

adjusted settings in openCPN (again and again and reboots,etc)
but - nothing...
__________________

__________________
AllezCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 14:49   #378
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllezCat View Post
Can set the GPS to
Serial Data Format:
GARMIN
USB(GARMIN Data Format)
Connected
(If I unplug the USB it shows - Not Connected)
But openCPN doesn't do anything
Serial data format setting in Garmin GPS does not affect USB. Any is OK.

Before starting OpenCPN ensure that GARMIN exists as a device in Device Manager. Plug it in and power up.

In OpenCPN just select GARMIN as NMEA Data source in Toolbox/GPS. You need not set the Baud rate.

Does other software work with this USB port/GPS device - try e.g. EasyGPS or GPS Utility...

P.
__________________
PjotrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 16:23   #379
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 617
Quote:
Originally Posted by PjotrC View Post
Serial data format setting in Garmin GPS does not affect USB. Any is OK.
check
Before starting OpenCPN ensure that GARMIN exists as a device in Device Manager. Plug it in and power up.
check
In OpenCPN just select GARMIN as NMEA Data source in Toolbox/GPS. You need not set the Baud rate.
check
Does other software work with this USB port/GPS device - try e.g. EasyGPS or GPS Utility...

P.
tried EasyGPS definitely can download waypoints from Garmin...
Reinstalled openCPN.
Set Chart directory again - perfect.
Can't see gps...
hmmmm....
__________________
AllezCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 22:45   #380
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 279
GPs

Does your gps have a clear view of the sky, make sure your GPS is not set to the simulator mode. OpenCPN needs gps nmea sentences which include fix confirmation before position is displayed on a chart

regards

Richard Fairman JP BA Author SeaClear Unleashed
__________________
r.fairman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 01:39   #381
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by r.fairman View Post
OpenCPN needs gps nmea sentences which include fix confirmation before position is displayed on a chart
Richard,

OpenCPN is happy with simulated input from Garmin as well:

$GPRMC,084404,V,5212.0964,N,02102.1947,E,0.0,0.0,2 40111,4.1,E,S*15
$GPRMB,V,,,,,,,,,,,,V,S*19
$GPGGA,084404,5212.0964,N,02102.1947,E,8,12,0.9,48 .4,M,35.6,M,,*70
$GPGSA,A,3,03,06,07,08,14,15,16,18,19,21,22,26,3.9 ,0.9,3.0*38
$GPGSV,3,1,12,03,73,240,00,06,74,188,00,07,02,300, 00,08,08,330,00*7B
$GPGLL,5212.0964,N,02102.1947,E,084404,V,S*4B
$GPBOD,,T,,M,,*47
$GPVTG,0.0,T,355.9,M,0.0,N,0.0,K*44
$PGRME,3.0,M,45.0,M,3.0,M*1F
$PGRMZ,159,f,3*16

In RMC above it just flagged by S in the last NMEA field. Works fine here.

AllezCat, I'm sure you already tried the Position Console with GPSUtility...

P.
__________________
PjotrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 02:06   #382
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 617
Quote:
Originally Posted by PjotrC View Post
Richard,

OpenCPN is happy with simulated input from Garmin as well:
AllezCat, I'm sure you already tried the Position Console with GPSUtility...

P.
EasyGPS downloaded the waypoints from my GPS72H. I searched the program to display real time position. Doesn't seem to??
Created new Waypoint in GPS72H (MOB). Clicked "receive data". And the new waypoint (current position) was downloaded to EasyGPS.
Installed GPSUtility.
It does not have my model, and wants com ports, bauds etc. pointless wasting time with this (GPSUtility).

Could the real time data be the issue.
__________________
AllezCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 02:17   #383
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllezCat View Post
Installed GPSUtility.
It does not have my model, and wants com ports, bauds etc. pointless wasting time with this (GPSUtility).

Could the real time data be the issue.
GPSUtility: GPS->Setup->GPS Make/Interface mode: Garmin(USB) is enough.

I have GPS 72H and it works very well here. Maybe yours is broken?

P.
__________________
PjotrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 02:35   #384
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 617
I just installed a maptech chartbook, with included Offshore Navigator Lite.
Instantly recognized Garmin GPS unit was attached, but required latest drivers.
Downloaded drivers from maptech.
Instantly shows real time position on chart...

Maybe something with openCPN and Windows 7, or latest Garmin USB drivers?????
thanks
__________________
AllezCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 09:39   #385
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,394
Is it possible to double-click a Raster chart and have it Open?

A general Windows question...Why can't Windows open my old "kap" files if I double-click them?I have set up OpenCPN as "always open with" but no go.

But it's not just OpenCPN.I don't have anything(except hex/text editor) that will.Not important,but curious if anyone can open a chart file and see it by double-clicking in Explorer.
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 13:29   #386
Obsfucator, Second Class
 
dacust's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southeast USA.
Boat: 1982 Sea Ray SRV360
Posts: 1,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by HappySeagull View Post
A general Windows question...Why can't Windows open my old "kap" files if I double-click them?I have set up OpenCPN as "always open with" but no go.

But it's not just OpenCPN.I don't have anything(except hex/text editor) that will.Not important,but curious if anyone can open a chart file and see it by double-clicking in Explorer.
You have to go into OpenCPN and load the charts in the toolbox to be able to see them. It will not open a chart passed to it at run time.

As to other programs, there are very few programs that can read .kap files at all except for chart plotter software. And I'd be very surprised if any of them will open it that way.

Someone in here may know of a simple chart viewer that could do it. Could be nice to have to be able to quickly preview a chart while browsing through my directories.

FYI: Double-clicking a file name and having an application run with it works like this:
  • There has to be the association (from your post I can see you already know this).
  • To run OpenCPN from the command line, you would just type opencpn and press enter.
  • When double clicking on a file named chart.kap, Windows looks at the association, and basically just runs the program as if you typed opencpn chart.kap on the command line. If the program is not coded to work that way, it does nothing with the chart when it runs. Or it might even make the program crash. It just depends on how the program was written. (It's actually a little more complicated as you can customize the association to format the command line arguments. But you can't force the program to accept input it wasn't written to accept.)
-dan
dacust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 14:42   #387
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2010
Boat: 2001 Beneteau 411
Posts: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllezCat View Post
Hello,
have recently installed openCPN, and downloaded a few charts.
Looks great.
However I cannot connect the GPS.
Followed the instructions:

"Download the latest driver from Prolific - http://www.prolific.com.tw/Eng/downloads.asp?ID=31"

But, it has no results - doesn't show in ports(in fact there were no ports in device manager)
Using Windows 7 laptop, Garmin handheld GPS72H.
Any pointers?
thanks
I downloaded and installed the driver at:
Garmin: USB Drivers Updates & Downloads

I set OpenCPN to Garmin/38400 and it worked with Windows 7
Pete
__________________
prroots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 17:01   #388
Registered User
 
HappySeagull's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: B.C.,Canada
Boat: 29'
Posts: 2,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by dacust View Post
You have to go into OpenCPN and load the charts in the toolbox to be able to see them. It will not open a chart passed to it at run time.

As to other programs, there are very few programs that can read .kap files at all except for chart plotter software. And I'd be very surprised if any of them will open it that way.

Someone in here may know of a simple chart viewer that could do it. Could be nice to have to be able to quickly preview a chart while browsing through my directories.

FYI: Double-clicking a file name and having an application run with it works like this:
  • There has to be the association (from your post I can see you already know this).
  • To run OpenCPN from the command line, you would just type opencpn and press enter.
  • When double clicking on a file named chart.kap, Windows looks at the association, and basically just runs the program as if you typed opencpn chart.kap on the command line. If the program is not coded to work that way, it does nothing with the chart when it runs. Or it might even make the program crash. It just depends on how the program was written. (It's actually a little more complicated as you can customize the association to format the command line arguments. But you can't force the program to accept input it wasn't written to accept.)
-dan
Ah,good approach.If I knew how,I could just write it in FileTypes,Advanced as an action.I'll try that -I haven't had a BlueScreen in months and I miss it...Only reason I want it is it's getting to be a pain browsing when I just want to check a created chart before tossing it into OpenCPN's Chart Table.I do appreciate the difficulty as you described it-really a Nav program SHOULD look about and see if everythings in place to navigate not just as an eclectic picture viewer!
__________________
HappySeagull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 00:54   #389
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 279
Opening a kap file from windows

I use photoshop with the BSB import plug in Double clicking in a kap file opens the image part of the kap file. I also use the batch process in Photoshop to create contact sheets of a directory full of kap files.

regards

Richard
__________________
r.fairman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 02:24   #390
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 617
Quote:
Originally Posted by prroots View Post
I downloaded and installed the driver at:
Garmin: USB Drivers Updates & Downloads

I set OpenCPN to Garmin/38400 and it worked with Windows 7
Pete
thanks
but i tried it several times - no result.
works with other charting products though....
__________________

__________________
AllezCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:35.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.