Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-01-2011, 01:45   #361
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks for your prompt reply

Here i paste more log from hyperterminal
00,A,A*6B
$GPVTG,317.79,T,,M,0.02,N,0.04,K,A*30
$GPZDA,094025.00,23,01,2011,00,00*6E
$GPRMC,094025.00,A,0123.04020,N,10357.98483,E,0.02 ,317.79,230111,,,A*55
VTG,127.34,T,,M,0.04,N,0.07,K,A*3D
$GPZDA,094037.00,23,01,2011,00,00*6D
$GPRMC,094037.00,A,0123.04019,N,10357.98482,E,0.04 ,127.34,230111,,,A*53
00,A,A*63
$GPVTG,14.25,T,,M,0.01,N,0.01,K,A*0F
$GPZDA,094041.00,23,01,2011,00,00*6C
$GPRMC,094041.00,A,0123.04018,N,10357.98482,E,0.01 ,14.25,230111,,,A*67
VTG,205.38,T,,M,0.02,N,0.04,K,A*37
$GPZDA,094045.00,23,01,2011,00,00*68
$GPRMC,094045.00,A,0123.04017,N,10357.98482,E,0.02 ,205.38,230111,,,A*51
) VTG,174.13,T,,M,0.02,N,0.03,K,A*3C
$GPZDA,094054.00,23,01,2011,00,00*68
$GPRMC,094054.00,A,0123.04013,N,10357.98481,E,0.02 ,174.13,230111,,,A*5A
VTG,160.37,T,,M,0.01,N,0.01,K,A*3E
$GPZDA,094055.00,23,01,2011,00,00*69
$GPRMC,094055.00,A,0123.04013,N,10357.98481,E,0.01 ,160.37,230111,,,A*5B
`0,A,A*6D
$GPVTG,228.48,T,,M,0.02,N,0.04,K,A*3F
$GPZDA,094056.00,23,01,2011,00,00*6A
$GPRMC,094056.00,A,0123.04013,N,10357.98481,E,0.02 ,228.48,230111,,,A*5C
`0,A,A*6D
$GPVTG,267.54,T,,M,0.05,N,0.09,K,A*33
$GPZDA,094057.00,23,01,2011,00,00*6B
$GPRMC,094057.00,A,0123.04013,N,10357.98480,E,0.05 ,267.54,230111,,,A*5D
VTG,287.36,T,,M,0.04,N,0.08,K,A*39
$GPZDA,094101.00,23,01,2011,00,00*69
$GPRMC,094101.00,A,0123.04012,N,10357.98480,E,0.04 ,287.36,230111,,,A*55

what i see from there all sentence should be enough for opencpn get the position and etc.
__________________

__________________
dwiprasada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2011, 01:46   #362
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,204
Not only data missing.......
This line from the log caught my eye..
Quote:
2:17:25 PM: AIS Data Source is....None
You have to set Toolbox->GPS->NMEA Data Source to the correct com port.
Have you read this: Setting Up GPS | Official OpenCPN Homepage?

Thomas
__________________

__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2011, 02:07   #363
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Thomas,

I'm not connect the AIS with it, I'm Connected my GPS on com 1
Check the log again
2:17:25 PM: NMEA Data Source is....Serial:COM1
__________________
dwiprasada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2011, 03:12   #364
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,204

My bad!

Another thing, I'm learning a bit of NMEA, and it seems to me that there is something wrong with the GPRMC sentences.
Code:
$GPRMC,094055.00,A,0123.04013,N,10357.98481,E,0.01 ,160.37,230111,,,A*5B
The checksum is "5B" but ought to be "7B" if my calculation is correct.
Also, the "A" before the "*" should not be there as the previous fields are empty, and is wrong anyway, as an "E" or "W" are the only options.

I suppose that this points back to your GPS!

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2011, 03:29   #365
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 619
Thomas, dwiprasada...

The checksum is wrong because of the unexpected blank inside the RMC line. Effectively the sentence reads

$GPRMC,094055.00,A,0123.04013,N,10357.98481,E,0.01

However, after extracting all RMC sentences and removing the offending blanks OCPN still does not like this input. PolarCOM displays position OK. So, there is something to investigate, but, please, let's have first a correct input stream...

Piotr
__________________
PjotrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2011, 06:23   #366
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lelystad, The Netherlands
Boat: vd Stadt 44, Ben the Boat
Posts: 186
I believe PolarCom (I know for sure NavMonPC) is not checking the checksum. Better to have (not completely) correct data then no data at all!?!? Up for discussion. Could become a checkbox.

Bart
__________________
champ8242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2011, 12:36   #367
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 619
dwiprasada's GPS input problems

After removing the erroneous blanks the checksums are OK, so it is something else...

The problem is in the file format, I think, or the method of feeding the data into OCPN, not the NMEA contents. I attach the file rectified by hand, with obviously wrong syntax removed and all correct lines kept verbatim. OpenCPN displays this correctly.

In my test the problem was (not a new one) with the CR/LF vs. CR/CR/LF sequence at every line end. This can happen when recording and replaying input from COM1, but the same stream should be OK when read directly from COM1 - if it is reasonably correct NMEA, of course.

As to whether allow or disallow skipping checksums - most nav software I know does indeed have a check-box for waiving the checksum. It would obviously help with testing and debugging new features. But for underway I think the checksums should be there. All equipment I use does produce correct checksums. Otherwise it is hard to draw the line, when to reject input - in dwiprasada's example "intelligent" software might in principle do it all - remove extra blanks, insert missing $GP in front of line, guess the position from scraps of syntax, etc... Nothing I ever see is 100% NMEA compliant, but the checksum seems a reasonable limit. So, I would prefer a DebugNMEAChecksum=1000 in the init file over a checkbox.

Piotr
Attached Files
File Type: doc dwiprasada_OK.txt.doc (1.1 KB, 38 views)
__________________
PjotrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2011, 16:37   #368
Obsfucator, Second Class
 
dacust's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southeast USA.
Boat: 1982 Sea Ray SRV360
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by PjotrC View Post
...
As to whether allow or disallow skipping checksums - most nav software I know does indeed have a check-box for waiving the checksum. It would obviously help with testing and debugging new features. But for underway I think the checksums should be there. All equipment I use does produce correct checksums. Otherwise it is hard to draw the line, when to reject input - in dwiprasada's example "intelligent" software might in principle do it all - remove extra blanks, insert missing $GP in front of line, guess the position from scraps of syntax, etc... Nothing I ever see is 100% NMEA compliant, but the checksum seems a reasonable limit. So, I would prefer a DebugNMEAChecksum=1000 in the init file over a checkbox.

Piotr
I agree.

As for me, I would rather hunt down a GPS that provides the correct information and leave the checksum on. But providing a way to get around that may be unavoidable for some users. Your idea of a conf tag is, in my mind, better than an easy checkbox.

-dan
dacust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2011, 10:20   #369
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,204
Quote:
Also, the "A" before the "*" should not be there as the previous fields are empty, and is wrong anyway, as an "E" or "W" are the only options.
This s what I wrote............and it is wrong. Not knowing, I used slightly outdated info from the net.
Later I found out that

Quote:
NMEA version 2.3.added a mode indicator to many sentences to indicate what
kind of fix the receiver has. The value can be one of
A=autonomous
D=differential
E=Estimated
N=not valid,
S=Simulator.
Sometimes there can even be a null value as well.
The A and D are the only vales that will indicate an Active and reliable Sentence.
This mode character has been added to the end of RMC, RMB, VTG, and GLL sentences.
Optionally, to some others as well, including the BWC and XTE sentences.
I have now added this to the wiki.

dwiprasada
What kind of GPS do you have?

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2011, 18:11   #370
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bergen, Norway
Boat: Gib'Sea 472
Posts: 47
How to install plugin in OpenCPN?

I wan't to install the celestial navigation plugin in OpenCPN. But can't find any info on how. Can Anyone help?
__________________
amadeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2011, 08:42   #371
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,204
The old celestial plugin was never updated to the new plugin interface.
This is unfortunate as a celestial plugin for OpenCPN is a brilliant idea.
So,... at this time there is no Celestial plugin available. Hopefully this will change.

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2011, 21:12   #372
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Archived versions??

I'd like to try opencpn on my old Win98 laptop (Celeron 600) (yes, I know.... no lectures please). It does fine with non-inflated software.

Can someone tell me if the last version that supported 98 (ver. 2.1.0) is available for download anywhere? I've looked all over.

Thanks
__________________
tiorico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2011, 02:55   #373
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WNA
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,204
Quote:
Originally Posted by tiorico View Post
I'd like to try opencpn on my old Win98 laptop (Celeron 600) (yes, I know.... no lectures please). It does fine with non-inflated software.

Can someone tell me if the last version that supported 98 (ver. 2.1.0) is available for download anywhere? I've looked all over.

Thanks
Source Forge has every version of OpenCPN ever published:OpenCPN - Browse /opencpn at SourceForge.net

Thomas
__________________
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2011, 21:49   #374
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by cagney View Post
Source Forge has every version of OpenCPN ever published:OpenCPN - Browse /opencpn at SourceForge.net

Thomas
thanks, I found it.
Problem was, in case someone else is looking.... here's what happened:
Sourceforge tripped up Firefox 2.20 ( final W98 supported version) on the "Files" page. Using IE 8, I finally got the download, after only a couple sputters.

Thanks for all the good work you all do
-Rico
__________________
tiorico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 05:50   #375
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 617
Hello,
have recently installed openCPN, and downloaded a few charts.
Looks great.
However I cannot connect the GPS.
Followed the instructions:

"Download the latest driver from Prolific - http://www.prolific.com.tw/Eng/downloads.asp?ID=31"

But, it has no results - doesn't show in ports(in fact there were no ports in device manager)
Using Windows 7 laptop, Garmin handheld GPS72H.
Any pointers?
thanks
__________________

__________________
AllezCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 17:45.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.