Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-02-2010, 13:09   #151
Senior Cruiser
 
idpnd's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Almerķa, ES
Boat: Chiquita 46 - Libertalia
Posts: 1,549
It actually only lets you select installed locale environments now, so that can't be the cause. Perhaps you could look into your opencpn log file, it's located at ~/opencpn.log (in your home dir). Following a language change, it requests restarting, then the log file does this:

Quote:
09:06:30 PM: -------Starting opencpn-------
09:06:30 PM: Version 1.3.6
09:06:30 PM: SData_Locn is /usr/share/opencpn/
09:06:30 PM: Using existing Config_File: /home/XXXXXX/.opencpn/opencpn.conf
09:06:30 PM: Setting Viewpoint Lat/Lon 29.2278, -13.5087
09:06:30 PM: Setting Ownship Lat/Lon 28.7778, -13.6546
09:06:31 PM: System default Language: en_US
21:06:31: Opencpn language set to: de_DE
It actually changes the timestamp format in the log, you gotta love linux Would you post your log file following a switch to french via the menu?
__________________

__________________
sv Libertalia
idpnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 15:39   #152
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 183
Idpnd,

Yes I have looked to the log before but it doesn't help me !

16:26:48: 2010-02-08
16:26:48: -------Starting opencpn-------
16:26:48: Version 1.3.6
16:26:48: SData_Locn is /usr/share/opencpn/
16:26:48: Using existing Config_File: /home/jp/.opencpn/opencpn.conf
16:26:48: Setting Viewpoint Lat/Lon 21.889, -82.8011
16:26:48: Setting Ownship Lat/Lon 16.3535, -86.4446
16:26:49: System default Language: fr_FR
16:26:49: Opencpn language set to: fr_FR

I saw it was switched to French, but perhaps it is "franglais" as we say .
In fact all is still in english.
__________________

__________________
jpiebrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 03:33   #153
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Salish Sea
Boat: Tayana 37
Posts: 243
creating waypoints

Thanks for your help so far guys.

Sorry if this has been dealt with before, but my searches with various keywords were fruitless.

Is there a way to create routes in openCPN from waypoints in text format? I have some series of waypoints/routes written in a notebook that I would like to convert to GPX routes for use in OCPN.

Do I have to do it manually with the route tool? Is there a utility that takes care of this?

I suppose I could create the route in Maxsea and convert, but that seems so yesterday
__________________
jimbim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 04:01   #154
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbim View Post
Is there a way to create routes in openCPN from waypoints in text format?
AFAIK no (but do not know anything about the new Route Manager yet).
You have to import valid (XML) GPX files, but ...

Quote:
I have some series of waypoints/routes written in a notebook that I would like to convert to GPX routes for use in OCPN.
... that should be easily done (by a "automated" process/script on your PC).

Quote:
Do I have to do it manually with the route tool? Is there a utility that takes care of this?

I suppose I could create the route in Maxsea and convert, but that seems so yesterday
I still don't know how your actual file(s) look(s) like?
Does it only contains Lat/Lon values? Or also names for each WP?

And you have to decide if you want to create/ use waypoints or a route.

BTW: Do you have a local webserver (e.g. Apache) installed on your PC/ Notebook, so that you can process PHP (offline)?

Gunther
__________________
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 04:53   #155
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Salish Sea
Boat: Tayana 37
Posts: 243
Gunther, sorry I might have confused matters by asking two similar questions so close together. Yesterday I was asking about converting WPT routes to GPX files. Today I asked about creating GPX routes from text waypoints.

For instance, if into the route creation tool of the version of Maxsea that I have I input the following waypoints:

1. 10.07.78N, 119.14.49E
2. 10.07.68N, 119.14.24E
3. 10.07.49N, 119.13.94E
4. 10.07.41N, 119.13.85E
5. 10.07.91N, 119.13.71E

it will spit out an inactive route that I can follow. I don't think that OCPN has this capability. I hoped that someone might know of a third-party route planning tool that I could use to input such text to create GPX routes that OCPN could read.

I don't have a webserver on my netbook. I am barely computer literate and am sitting in the cockpit of my little boat anchored off Palawan in the southern Philippines, very close to the above waypoints
__________________
jimbim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 05:30   #156
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Hi jimbim!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbim View Post
Gunther, sorry I might have confused matters by asking two similar questions so close together. Yesterday I was asking about converting WPT routes to GPX files. Today I asked about creating GPX routes from text waypoints.
No problem.
You did not confuse me. My question yesterday was how the data from the MaxSea output looks like because I don't have MaxSea.

Quote:
For instance, if into the route creation tool of the version of Maxsea that I have I input the following waypoints:

1. 10.07.78N, 119.14.49E
2. 10.07.68N, 119.14.24E
3. 10.07.49N, 119.13.94E
4. 10.07.41N, 119.13.85E
5. 10.07.91N, 119.13.71E
Am I right, that this is degrees and Decimal minutes?
For GPX files you'll need Decimal degrees.

Quote:
it will spit out an inactive route that I can follow. I don't think that OCPN has this capability. I hoped that someone might know of a third-party route planning tool that I could use to input such text to create GPX routes that OCPN could read.
Unfortunately I'm not a programmer, so I couldn't write you an application for doing this (maybe someone else here can do it). But I could write a script (in PHP) that will do the job. So you could upload your text file with all the waypoints and get a GPX file for download.

Quote:
I don't have a webserver on my netbook. I am barely computer literate and am sitting in the cockpit of my little boat anchored off Palawan in the southern Philippines, very close to the above waypoints
It's a pity. Otherwise you could do this offline.


Gunther
__________________
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 05:58   #157
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 183
Hi,

May be it will be helpfull if any french guy who is using Ubuntu can tell me if he has succeed to turn the language to french.
Me not and I don't understand why !

Jean-Pierre
__________________
jpiebrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 06:02   #158
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Salish Sea
Boat: Tayana 37
Posts: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Netsurfer View Post
What kind of format is this?
For GPX files you'll need Decimal degrees.
Sorry, that's the way I write it until there is a degree key. It should be

1. 10°07.78'N, 119°14.49'E
2. 10°07.68'N, 119°14.24'E
3. 10°07.49'N, 119°13.94'E
4. 10°07.41'N, 119°13.85'E
5. 10°07.01'N, 119°13.71'E
__________________
jimbim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 06:20   #159
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
@jimbim

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbim View Post
For instance, if into the route creation tool of the version of Maxsea that I have I input the following waypoints:

1. 10.07.78N, 119.14.49E
2. 10.07.68N, 119.14.24E
3. 10.07.49N, 119.13.94E
4. 10.07.41N, 119.13.85E
5. 10.07.91N, 119.13.71E
Are you sure these coordinates are correct?
On my chart only the routes first WP is on the water - all the rest on land.

Never the less, here is like a GPX file should look for your given coordinates:
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<gpx version="1.1" creator="OpenCPN" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" xmlns="http://www.topografix.com/GPX/1/1" xsi:schemaLocation="http://www.topografix.com/GPX/1/1 http://www.topografix.com/GPX/1/1/gpx.xsd" xmlns:opencpn="http://www.opencpn.org">
    <rte>
        <name>JimBim - Demo-Route</name>
        <number>1</number>
        <rtept lat="10.129667" lon="119.2415">
            <name>001</name>
            <sym>diamond</sym>
            <type>WPT</type>
            <extensions>
                <opencpn:prop>A,1,1,0,1</opencpn:prop>
            </extensions>
        </rtept>
        <rtept lat="10.128" lon="119.237334">
            <name>002</name>
            <sym>diamond</sym>
            <type>WPT</type>
            <extensions>
                <opencpn:prop>A,1,1,0,1</opencpn:prop>
            </extensions>
        </rtept>
        <rtept lat="10.124833" lon="119.232333">
            <name>003</name>
            <sym>diamond</sym>
            <type>WPT</type>
            <extensions>
                <opencpn:prop>A,1,1,0,1</opencpn:prop>
            </extensions>
        </rtept>
        <rtept lat="10.1235" lon="119.230833">
            <name>004</name>
            <sym>diamond</sym>
            <type>WPT</type>
            <extensions>
                <opencpn:prop>A,1,1,0,1</opencpn:prop>
            </extensions>
        </rtept>
        <rtept lat="10.131833" lon="119.2285">
            <name>005</name>
            <sym>diamond</sym>
            <type>WPT</type>
            <extensions>
                <opencpn:prop>A,1,1,0,1</opencpn:prop>
            </extensions>
        </rtept>
    </rte>
</gpx>
I have also attached the file (remove the .doc at the end).
This you can easily import (via the GPX IN icon) into OCPN.

Gunther
Attached Files
File Type: doc JimBim_Demo.gpx.doc (1.7 KB, 38 views)
__________________
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 07:18   #160
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Salish Sea
Boat: Tayana 37
Posts: 243
Many thanks, Gunther.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Netsurfer View Post
Are you sure these coordinates are correct?
On my chart only the routes first WP is on the water - all the rest on land.
Well, you might notice I changed the last waypoint in my second posting when I realised I had mistyped the latitude -- a 9, instead of a 0.

But that is why routes are so important in this part of the world if you use cmap. It's not unusual for the charts to be from .5 to one NM off, sometimes much more when going up rivers, etc.

I have five charts in openCPN that cover that particular route and I am sure when I import the file it will be much different on each one. And a 1:500,000 raster chart will be the most accurate

I will study the file and see if I can understand the formatting. How should I save the file if I change my typo?

Thanks again,
Jim
__________________
jimbim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 07:47   #161
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Salish Sea
Boat: Tayana 37
Posts: 243
Gunther,

That is so cool. Works like a charm, though yes, I did make a mistake with the last waypoint.

Now I see what you mean by GPX needing decimal degrees. I see how you got that, dividing everything by 60. And your coding is so good, the appearance is much better than what I was able to get from GPS Utility or other software.

I just have to figure out a way to do it without a calculator!
__________________
jimbim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 08:16   #162
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Hi Jim!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbim View Post
Now I see what you mean by GPX needing decimal degrees. I see how you got that, dividing everything by 60. And your coding is so good, the appearance is much better than what I was able to get from GPS Utility or other software.

I just have to figure out a way to do it without a calculator!
You simply can use OCPN for that.

  1. Delete all existing routes at first by right clicking on a line between 2 waypoints of a route and then click 'Delete All Routes ...'
  2. Activate the 'Create Route' function by clicking on the icon in the Tool Bar (at the top)
  3. Now click on the chart at the approximate point (see status bar for coordinates) for every waypoint.
  4. To finish make a again a right click and click then on 'End Route'
  5. Now you can do the fine-tuning to each of your waypoints by right-clicking on every waypoint and choosing 'Mark/WP Properties'. In the properties window you can easily adjust the lat/lon values of the wp.
  6. If you have finished just click on the 'GPX OUT' icon in the Tool Bar and save your route with a recognizable name.
That's it - now you have a GPX file for every route which you can easily import when it is desired/ needed.

If you have several routes/ waypoints/ tracks on the map OCPN will export them all together in one file (at the moment). So I'd prefer to make each route separately. But that's up to your mind.

Once again I'll offer you to set up an online tool for to just uploading your existing files and download the ready-to-use GPX file.

But therefore I need at least a small example file (of each type of files that you have).

Gunther
__________________
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 09:32   #163
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Salish Sea
Boat: Tayana 37
Posts: 243
Who knows, this actually might work

Gunther, hope I haven't done this wrong. If you need more files, just ask.
Attached Files
File Type: doc verdeIsle.wpt.doc (672 Bytes, 42 views)
File Type: doc PPrincesa.wpt.doc (672 Bytes, 33 views)
__________________
jimbim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2010, 20:02   #164
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Boat: Rosborough 246
Posts: 2
opencpn chart will not move up/down

I have used opencpn off and on for several years. I am starting to use it again because of its ability to export routes in the gpx mode.

I am currently experiencing a problem in manipulating charts. I can move them from side to side, but I can't move them up and down. I know there must be an easy fix, but I can't seem to find the right switch. This only seems to happen with the most detailed charts.

Any thoughts?

Thanks,

wd0d
__________________
wd0d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2010, 20:56   #165
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 54
Status Bar Font

I'm trying to use a small Toughbook to run OpenCPN but the status bar font is unreadably small - the screen is only an 8.4" 800x600 and OpenCPN uses a VERY small font for the status bar with that screen size. Is there any way to increase the font size here? The only font choices in 'settings' don't seem to affect the status bar.

Thanks......
__________________

__________________
kiwiradical is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 23:55.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.